Scent of Christmas Eve

Only two and a half more days part us from Christmas Eve. In my family excitement grows with every hour as the house fills with different aromas of gingerbread spices, oranges, fruits compote and meats. It’s one of the most important holidays all over the world, no surprise everyone anticipates it with sparkles in the eyes. I love Polish Christmas customs and the warm atmosphere everywhere.

When the first star appears in the night sky we all put our most elegant clothes on, sit around the table, share joy and food we made. Then it’s time to see what surprises are hiding under a Christmas tree. For us, perfume lovers, Christmas is a chance to find a beloved perfume in the festively wrapped box. It is also time of deciding what perfume (if any) should we wear for a Christmas Eve to feel special and not to overdo with sillage. I’ve selected few ideas for you.

Annick Goutal Nuit Etoilee seems like it was made to wear at Christmas time. Not only its name brings the idea of sparkling stars in the night sky of December 24 but its smell is very appropriate for the holiday season. Mint and citron in the opening make it inviting while pine and fir accords introduce festive quality of sitting around beautifully decorated Christmas tree and singing carols or telling some stories.

Noel au Balcon from Etat Libre d’Orange is an interesting and a little bit more edgy, but still acceptable perfume. I found honey note in this perfume highly reminiscent of candles, with it’s kind of waxy feeling. Cinnamon is like a spicy dust in Noel au Balcon while apricot is nicely pronounced. Chilli pepper and vanilla make interesting and funny combination, citrus sparkle is a final touch. More flirty recipe for holidays.

I say there’s nothing better like Christmas in smell of iris. It’s one of my favourite notes anyway so shouldn’t I have iris for every possible occasion? Yes, I should! L’Eau d’Hiver from Frederic Malle offers a brilliant concoction of powdery heliotrope and iris combined with white musk, angelica and lovely bergamot undertones. It’s the cherished memory of winter and fun in the snow.

Last but not least, probably my favourite idea for a Christmas Eve scent. Sonoma Scent Studio Sienna Musk is one super gorgeous perfume that evokes the spirit of Christmas in me. Harmonious musk in the opening combines very well with cedar woodiness. Juicy mandarine orange in it makes me happy but the best part of Sienna Musk is yet to come. I’ve never experienced such a lovely sweet cloves note. It smells like a hot Christmas cookies. Other notes are cypress, nutmeg, ginger, coriander and sandalwood.

Did you already chose your scent for Christmas Eve? How do you like my choices?

Tagged ,

24 thoughts on “Scent of Christmas Eve

  1. Your Christmas Eve sounds lovely. We have become just so casual in our lives. The fact that you dress for dinner and have a formal meal, etc. is wonderful. Doing that always makes things feel more special and festive. You are making me want to go out and get some Nuit Etoilee right now!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you my friend! For us, Poles holidays such Christmas or Easter have great value and most Poles are christians so you know.
      Christmas Eve meal is always with us dressed formal, with candles etc.

      Go get some Nuit Etoilee! Didn’t you try it yet?

  2. poodle says:

    I used to love going to Christmas eve dinner at either my brothers or his mother-in-law’s house but now that I got stuck having my in-laws over on Christmas day we are home on Christmas eve getting things ready. I can’t say I look forward to it. Your scent choices sound wonderful. I love a lot of the SSS perfumes so Sienna Musk is now on my must try list.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Me three with the Nuit Etoilee!

    These are nice choices and your description of a Polish Christmas sounds lovely. Besides Nuit Etoilee, I would consider a perfume with pronounced vanilla, caramel or benzoin – perhaps Atelier Vanilla Incensee or (yum) Prada Candy.

  4. jilliecat says:

    Happy Christmas, Lucas and Everyone! Yes, I like a good vanilla for Christmas and may wear Guerlain’s Samsara (vintage, when the sandalwood element was good) or a current favourite Juliet Stewart, which I can only get from the States – it is a lovely warm vanilla with some spices, woods and bright citrus at the beginning, just right for this special time.

    On Christmas Eve we will drink Polish vodka as a toast in your honour, Lucas!

  5. tammy says:

    We do a huge informal buffet. We’ll have about 50 extended family at one of my aunt’s homes. Lots of good old-fashioned Southern food, lots of kids, lots of noise and excitement. I couldn’t handle it on a regular basis, but my goodness there is nothing like it!

    Poodle, I feel your pain…I used tog o through that with my inlaws, too, and it did zap the fun out. My MIL was a good person and I loved her,, but my housekeeping never quite met her standards! ;)

    I am totally cliche with my perfume and always wear Nuit de Noel. On Christmas itself, I break out my 1 ml decant of Voeu de Noël, also by Caron. It is so beautiful it hurts, in the best way, and it suits my heart completely on Christmas…

    • lucasai says:

      Wow! I’ve never had Christmas with so many people. I believe it must be hard to cope with all the cooking and stuff on your own.
      Don’t say you’re cliche with perfume. Just wear what you enjoy.

      • tammy says:

        Lucas, it is a fair amount of work, but in the South, everyone brings a dish to share, so the host doesn’t have to do it all! (I think this is fairly common in any part of rural America)

        It’s the clean-up that I dread, but of course there are always plenty of people helping with that, too.

        By the way, my husband is half-Polish, and I would love to visit Poland some day!

        Merry Christmas!

        • lucasai says:

          everyone bringing a dish to share sounds great, this makes the meal rich in different flavours.
          I know cleaning is takes a lot of time and energy.
          Merry Christmas to you too!

  6. Undina says:

    Great choices (especially AG ;) )!

    I’m going to a quite a formal party, so I will be all dressed-up and will wear one of my most favorite perfumes – Ubar by Amouage.

    Merry Christmas to you, Lucas!

  7. Natalie says:

    I like all your choices. Both Nuit Etoilee and Noel au Balcon seem especially fitting (and I wouldn’t have thought of NaB otherwise!). I will probably wear my DSH holiday perfume on Christmas Eve. I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  8. Nuit Étoilée is a terrific pick for the holidays. I have actually just got invited to a last minute Christmas Eve get-together with friends. It might have to be an AG evening :-)

    • lucasai says:

      Isn’t it. It’s name and smell are very festive and glamorous. How nice you’ll have a Christmas Eve meeting with friends. I’ll be staying home with my family and then we’ll go to the Mass at midnight.
      Have a good time!

  9. Sigrun says:

    Hi Lukas, that is a great collection of Christmas scents. Evergreens, as in AGs Nuit Etoilee, smell great this time of year. Noel au Balcon I would have worn myself if I weren’t celebrating Christmas at my in-laws house. It’s a bit too sexy for me to feel confident about there ;) I LOVED your choice of Malles L’Eau d’Hiver, so light and lovely. When I saw the Malle bottle I thought it’d be Noir Espices which is a great scent but very predictable. SSS is another favourite company of mine and I was very happy to see it mentioned as well. I’m deeply in love with their Tabac Aurea.

    For Christmas, I wore Amouage Epic but, myself considered, I could really have worn anything as I have a mean cold going on and can’t feel much scent at all. Hopefully it’ll get better in a few days, though! Have a great Christmas holiday and New years :)

    • lucasai says:

      Nuit Etoilee is perfect for Christmas. I wore it yesterday at Christmas Eve dinner. I totally understand. Noel au Balcon is kind of a show-off, definitely a risky choice to wear when you celebrate with other family members. I’m happy you liked L’Eau d’Hiver idea. SSS Tabac Aurea is very nice. My favourite is Jour Ensoleille, Winter Woods and this Sienna Musk.

      Hope you get better soon, have a festive holiday season!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 938 other followers

