Friday poll – most expensive perfume fantasies

Good morning all! It is time for the first poll in 2013, are you excited? I hope you are because I am. Theme for today’s poll is your most expensive perfume fantasies. Please think for a while and feel encouraged to share what is the most expensive perfume you would like to have in your collection. Don’t forget to tell what you like about it and wether are you going to buy a bottle, decant or will you pass because the price is too high. If possible – name the most expensive perfume brand you know.

My answers – some time ago I dreamt about my own bottle of Amouage Lyric Man but I don’t want it anymore since I discovered few better rose fragrances. Now I have a lemming for some Opus II, also by Amouage. I just fell for the way it combines notes of lavender, spices, incense and everything else. Such a great, complex scent. Also Le Labo Iris 39 is a scent I wish I had a bottle of. Few months ago a friend sent me a decanted sample and it made me swoon. Most expensive perfume house I know? Hmmm… Probably Xerjoff, but I’m sure there are many more expensive.

 

Tagged ,

90 thoughts on “Friday poll – most expensive perfume fantasies

  1. Jordan River says:

    It all comes down to a bottle or a JAR.

  2. sweetgrass79 says:

    Ooh I have a few.. There are a couple of MDCI perfumes that I’ve really loved.. Chypre Palatin and Enlevement au Serail, so far all I’ve tried from this line. I’m afraid if I try the rest I’ll just want all of them. I don’t even want the bottle with the silly bust thing on it, just the regular one, which I think is still like $250 or something.

    I’ve only tried one Amouage so far, and that is Jubilation 25. If I were made of money I would probably own a bottle. There are more I want to try, so I imagine more very expensive lemmings will be born.

    And then there is JAR… I’ve only tried a tiny sample of Ferme Tes Yeux, and it is.. weird. Not quite the super-animalic filth-fest I had expected from descriptions of it, but more like a decaying undead tuberose that wanted to eat my brain. That said, it was kind of intriguing. Don’t know that I want to own it. I do want to try Bolt of Lightning, though. But considering that a bottle would set me back a whole lot of money (I’ve heard $600 or 700/ounce, but I don’t know for sure), plus the cost of getting myself to NYC and going to Bergdorf, I’ll probably never own any of these unless something major (and awesome) happens to my finances. For the others I mentioned, I will probably opt for decants.

    • lucasai says:

      Hello Sweetgrass! Yes, MDCI is pricey too. Saying that I received a sample of Chypre Palatin last week too! It’s still waiting for sampling.
      We all know the luxury of Amouage but comparing to all those JAR it’s quite moderately-priced.
      Good luck on getting your decants then!

  3. Kevin says:

    I think Clive Christian is the most expensive I can think of (never tried any of his stuff). I actually just got 4 free samples from Xerjoff. I’ve tested one (Gao, I think it was called) which was fine but I wasn’t wowed; and I tested another last night (Zafar) which was the worst thing I’ve ever tried – and apparently costs almost 400USD for 50ml.

    The most expensive bottles in my collection on a $/ML basis are probably my bottles from the Tom Ford Private Blend collection. I wouldn’t mind owning something(s) from Amouage, but I need to try more to see what really strikes me as being worth the money.

    • lucasai says:

      I’ve got samples of “V’ for women and for men, I prefer the feminine on me though.
      I’ve got a whole lot of Xerjoff samples and I’m glad neither of them was exciting for me.
      Talking about Tom Ford Private Blend – I have no access to them, so I don’t know what I’m missing.

      • Kevin says:

        I think TF’s Private Blend stuff is sort of controversial in the perfume world in the sense that it has a lot of people who feel the scents don’t justify the price. I think the prices are quite high, but the value of perfume is really in the eye of the beholder – I personally HATED Zafar (by Zerjoff) and Ambre Sultan (by Serge Lutens), but they command a big price and many seem to love them. I love D&G’s The One, and I only paid about 45USD for a 100ml bottle.

        I love the TF stuff I bought and think they are worth what I paid – though I bought my bottles on eBay and saved quite a lot. They were still expensive (average of 150USD per 50ml bottle), but slightly more tolerable! Also, the bottle design is one I love, so that helps justify the cost on a very superficial level. Haha!

        • lucasai says:

          The most important thing here is that if you’re fine with your fragrances then it’s the best possible situation. Now I recall testing Neroli Portofino and it was gorgeous.

  4. bloodyfrida says:

    I’m so tired of perfume prices going up and up and up. And very few of the super-expensive stuff, to my nose, are worth that price. So I will pass.

    • lucasai says:

      That’s a super money-conscious decision.
      Talking about prices going up, I’ve just heard Chanel is rising prices for Les Exclusifs.

      • Kevin says:

        Chanel rose their prices for Exclusifs by $20 per bottle (for both sizes). It’s a fairly steep increase (in my estimation), but I think they are still among the best value for the money scents out there – particularly for the large bottles, especially if someone is looking for something that is extremely high quality and luxurious, but not so ubiquitous that you’ll smell like everyone else on the street. But I’m a huge fan of Chanel’s stuff, by and large, and in particular of their Exclusifs.

        • lucasai says:

          I fancy those Les Exclusifs too Kevin! I don’t own any single one because they’re not being sold in Poland (would have to go to London to buy one) but I could have a few of them.
          Now I want to try new 1932 scent. Hope someone will get me a sample!

      • Kevin says:

        I hope you’re able to get one someday! Are there any in particular that you like? Sycomore, Coromandel, and Cuir de Russie are my favorites of the ones I’ve tried. I also really liked Bois des Iles, but need to try it a few more times before I can be 100% sure of my opinion on it.

      • Kevin says:

        What is your opinion on Bois des Iles for a man. To me, it seemed a bit more stereotypically feminine than the others I have, but it seemed like it could work well for either, even if it does lean feminine. I’ve heard mixed reviews of Jersey, but I’d like to try it. It sounds like it’s subtle, but lovely.

        • lucasai says:

          Bois des Iles is probably the most feminine of Les Exclusifs but it doesn’t mean a man can’t wear it. I personally like the way it smells on my skin.
          Kevin, if you’re interested you can read my review of Chanel Jersey, you’ll find it in reviews section.

    • Kevin says:

      Can’t wait to read it! I just read your review of Gardenia. I wouldn’t have considered really even trying it before, but your review makes me want to give it a test. It sounds lovely, even if it is quite feminine.

      • lucasai says:

        I’m happy you’re enjoying them. If there’s something you’d like to add to them you can always comment. I get notifications about comments for all posts.

  5. shellyw says:

    I would love to have a bottle of Ormande Jayne Woman parfum (50 ml 184 pounds) and Bois de Isle parum, the lower concentration fades too quickly (1/2 oz. $175.00). Definitely not the most expensive out there but beyond me. I have ordered the tiniest decant of Bois de Isle and Ormande and they was great. It would have been easier if they were not, then I would not be dreaming of them…

  6. Cornlily says:

    I imagine having vintage Tabac Blond. Sigh.

  7. shellyw says:

    Vintage! now I could seriously drop money on those. I had a tiny sample of vintage apres l’ondee and would give up a fair amount of groceries for the month for a bottle of that. I have heard great things about tobac blond too.

  8. tammy says:

    At this point in time, my fantasy is a replacement bottle of The Party in Manhattan. It was a huge indulgence at the time ( $295 for 50mls) but it has doubled in price! My other favorite fragrance, Nuit de Noel, has also more than doubled. I really don’t understand it, but it’s heartbreaking. Just grateful I can still afford food.

  9. I would love to own a bottle of Chypre Palatin my MDCI (of course with the pretty bust on top), but at $375 for 60ml…I just can’t get myself to do it. I know that you can get it without the bust for $250…but still that’s a pretty hefty price!

  10. EchoCharlie says:

    I would very much like a bottle of Ormonde Jayne Woman parfum with my initials engraved on the lid which would set me back about $350. That is super pricey..but I have a “big” birthday coming up this year so I am considering splurging on it.

  11. The big bottle of Amouage Tribute attar. Not the dinky 12ml one, but the $650 30ml. Followed up by a full bottle of Mona di Orio Oud ($525). And chased by a platter of Pacific oysters (Mkt) and 1989 Sauternes ($450).

    Quite a modest fantasy, really :-)

  12. Jordan River says:

    @BaconBiscuit212 – De Bortoli Noble One from Australia – Nectar!

  13. poodle says:

    So many perfumes, so little money…
    Thankfully I haven’t fallen for too many super pricey perfumes. I try to avoid sampling some of them just because I’m afraid I might want to have a full bottle. I do want a bottle of Trayee one of these days which isn’t super expensive but it is a lot more than I’m used to spending on a bottle. I’m sure one of these days I’ll sample something that’s going to make me want to win the lottery.

    • lucasai says:

      Avoiding sampling those expensive brand is a solution that keeps you away from falling in love.
      I understand how much you like Trayee. It’s gorgeous.
      Good luck on the lottery one day :)

  14. Dionne says:

    I’m like Poodle, in that my coveted bottle of Bombay Bling is nowhere near the upper end of perfume prices but it’s still steep for me.

    And on a slightly different note for a perfume fantasy: the chance to fly to New York and attend a Sniffa event…… sigh. That would be a thing.

  15. hajusuuri says:

    Oooh, I love polls. I’ll cheat a little and say that my most expensive perfume fantasy is to have a Bespoke Perfume which of course can range from be a potentially affordable Mandy Aftelier at $1,600 to a Guerlain at 30,000 Euros. My ultimate fantasy is a Hermes Bespoke Perfume, created by none other than Jean-Claude Ellena, presented to me inside a Black with Silver trim Constance bag. Lottery win, anyone?

  16. Kafkaesque says:

    I think my main yearnings would be for vintage stuff. A GIANT bottle of vintage, specifically 1970s, Opium in parfum form would make me weak in the knees. 1970s Opium….. just typing out those words made me shiver a little with delight. Some vintage Carons or vintage L’Heure Bleu wouldn’t be bad either. Out of the modern stuff, probably an Amouage. Jubiliation, perhaps? And, thus far, it seems I want every single Ormonde Jayne scent they make. Every.single.one. In the biggest bottle possible. LOL The prices for the basic bottles aren’t crazy like many of the brands mentioned here, but they’re the only new, niche brand that I’ve tried thus far that I’ve fallen for HARD and across the board.

    • lucasai says:

      Another vintage lover, huh? A bottle o vintage L’Heure Bleue would be amazing. I’ve got a sample of it’s vintage EdT concentration, lovely.
      I must say that I still have to sample things from OJ.

  17. Undina says:

    I do not have fantasies about perfumes, I have long term plans ;) Ok, maybe just one: to buy a genuine Lancome Climat (there are some on eBay ~$400/14 ml but there is no guarantee it’s not a fake :( )

    • lucasai says:

      Well said dear, long distance plance. I’m with you here. With my student budget I plan half year forward what I’ll buy. Of course sometimes those distance plans change when a new perfume appears which I can’t stop thinking about. Then I buy it ;)

  18. Jordan River says:

    Jubilation XXX. Can’t wait. Out of several decent options, XXV has the highest rotation. @undina – clearly a case of denial! I know that you can smell the fantasy accord. I hope your fantasies become real in your long term plans. They have so far, haven’t they?

  19. rosiegreen62 says:

    Perfume fantasies- too many to list. A few I am dreaming of today … Vintage Jicky in extrait. Unlimited bottles of Parfum Sacre edp vintage. Ormonde Jayne Woman and Tolu in parfum and I have always wanted to try the MDCI scents, they have a good reputation and I love the bust bottles.

  20. Natalie says:

    Great question! Another vote for an MDCI bust bottle. I really just don’t want the bottle without the bust. Also, Vol de Nuit parfum. And I’d be curious what rose perfumes you have found that you prefer to Lyric Man?

  21. reneetamara says:

    The top two on my most expensive list have been Amouage Lyric Woman and the now discontinued Iris Ganache. Even when I discovered it was discontinued, I couldn’t bring myself to spend $250 for a bottle, knowing that I could fly roundtrip to New Orleans for that amount! I do have a small decant that I am savoring and that will have to do for now.
    Let me add Cuir Beluga and some Frederic Malle to the list, like Carnal Flower at $300 plus a bottle and Lipstick Rose which is too whimsical and fun to be that pricey, imho.

    As far as the Chanel Exclusifs convo, I have no. 22 and Bois des Iles with no regrets. Of course I have the smaller bottles, but still. No. 22 has become a steady go to scent for my wardrobe.

    Oh, and lucasai, have you considered the 15ml bottle of Iris 39? Or going the body massage oil route?

    • lucasai says:

      Amouage is pricey and Iris Ganache is beautiful. I got a small decanted sample from a friend. She got a bottle for Christmas. Malles are pretty expensive too, a little bit too expensive IMO.
      I think Chanel’s Exclusifs are quite acceptable.
      Thanks for asking about Iris 39. Yes, I considered that but still shipping to Poland would double my costs, yikes.

  22. Jackie b says:

    Sometimes it is waaaay better to let fantasy remain as such. I sampled and liked Iriss ss? recently and was horrified to find out the price of a FB. It will remain in the shop.
    Those ridiculous Agonist crystal bottles, what is that about? Perfume? Really? Stay in the shop.
    Les Exclusifs however, Cuir De Russie and Jersey are on my list, one day.
    Jubilation is my most expensive bottle so far.

  23. franayr says:

    If I win the lotto, I’ll buy a bottle of Frederic Malle En Passant, and Portrait of a Lady. We were able to sample them during our trip to Hong Kong last year, and they’re divine. I kept the paper blotters inside my journal, and until now, my journal still smells lovely.
    Alas, a bottle is too pricey, so we did not bought any. :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 938 other followers

