Introduction. The very beginning…

The idea of me writing a perfume blog started few years ago. Back then I was visiting many perfume related blogs, websites and forums. What caught my attention was that those online places were always colorful and nice for the eyes. The amazing thing about them was how easily they grabbed my attention. I could sit in front of laptop for hours, reading articles one after another, scrolling down through the whole archive. I didn’t expect that reading someone’s personal thoughts about fragrance can be so interesting and educating.

Before I created this place, Chemist in the Bottle, the idea was slowly growing inside me. The seed fell on the rich soil of my mind and slowly started sprouting, unrolling it’s tiny green leaves. I had many concerns and doubts about starting this blog. I was afraid that I won’t have time to write regularly because of my studies. But after some time I realized this one important thing. This is my blog and it’s alright to write in in my own, special way. Who says that I have to write daily? I can write once in a few days, or on a weekly basis so that writing here will give me happiness. I want you to feel that there’s passion in this place, not only raw, unmaterial words.

That sprout is growing into sapling now and soon it will become a magnificent, mighty tree. There’s no turning back, the decision has been made. I hope that some of you will find this place at least a little interesting. I’ll do my best trying to give you the closest, most accurate words while writing perfume reviews. There will be also plenty of fragrance related articles so I think everyone will find something they’ll like. There’s nothing else to say in this introduction but… Welcome to Chemist in the Bottle! Make yourself at home.

18 thoughts on “Introduction. The very beginning…

  1. Larimar says:

    Congratulations, Lucas on your starting your own blog! I like the layout (it’s not too fancy) and I also second your mission statement of not having to post every day just for the sake of it. In the end, it’s quality (and facts) that matter. There’s plenty enough perfumed chit-chat blogging out there, so I do look forward to your input! Cheers!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Larimar for visiting. I wanted to keep it minimalistic, just the way I like it.
      I’ll probably write every few days, or when I have a mood or a special need for it.
      Hope that you’ll find my writing interesting!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Congratulations, Lucas on your new blog! I look forward to reading all your posts.

    Sylvia (Kiliwia)

  3. Joy says:

    Blogging is one of the best forms of mental exercise and career enhancement. Your perspective on the whole of life will grow along with your experiences.
    I’ve come to recognize from my blog (related to ecological landscaping) that daily posts are not necessary, and that a well-worded headline is more important than tags in order to turn up in online searches. Enjoy the ride, Lucas!
    — β€œQuarry” Joy

  4. Jon Rodgers says:

    Wishing you every success, Lucas. Looking forward to seeing the blog go from strength to strength.

    Jon.

  5. Knit at Nite says:

    Congratulations on your new blog, and more importantly, your new degree. Way to go, Lucas!
    In the perfume fan community a lot is made over the idea of the “artistry in the bottle”. It is true that artistry is essential for an inspired scent, but I also acknowledge that the science- the chemistry plays a key role. Without the ingredients, one cannot make the scent, n’est-ce-pas? I like the idea that you are studying the science that goes into the bottle and sharing that with us, the non-scientists. (I actually got my only D grade ever in Chemistry- LOL)

    • lucasai says:

      Double “thank you” Knit! Well, it is artistry in the bottle, but to become an artist someone has to perform the magic of chemistry to turn raw materials into right essences used in perfumery.
      The blog will feature reviews like those you’ve seen on basenotes, but I’ll try to discuss some chemical aspects from time to time, too.

  6. Mimi Gardenia says:

    Congratulations and I love it ! I wish you the very best with your lovely new blog Lucasai !

    i was without power till 8 pm last night in the end. Most irritating as even my iPod battery and the wifi battery went dead by 5 .

  7. flittersniffer says:

    Congratulations on your degree success and the blog! It is great to have a new “voice” in the perfume blogosphere, and you will bring a uniquely different perspective. : – )

  8. flittersniffer says:

    Congratulations on your degree success and the new writing venture. A fresh voice is always welcome in the perfume blogosphere, and it will be interesting to have a Polish perspective.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! I hope you’ll find my writing interesting. Did you get here through Basenotes?
      I don’t know if my articles will have a Polish perspective, but I’ll try to write so that they will πŸ˜‰

  9. Jiiile says:

    Hi, Lucas! I was trying to find your blog and eventually typed in “Lucas perfume” and here you are. So glad, and wanted to wish you every success.

    • lucasai says:

      Well, you’ve found your way right sweetie! Next time you can take a shortcut by clicking on my nickname in any of my comments at NST, it’s a direct link πŸ™‚
      Thanks for a good luck wish

Leave a Reply

