Twinkle twinkle, Annick Goutal Nuit Etoilee

Nuit Etoilee is the latest addition to the line of fine fragrances from the famous, French perfume house – Annick Goutal. Perfumer behind this perfume is Isabelle Doyen, who worked together, again, with Camille Goutal. I usually don’t fall for the fragrance press materials, but I admit that this time I was absolutely hooked up by the ad copy. When I first read about this realease I was like wow, I’ve got to test it as soon as possible. I was lucky that few weeks later my local niche perfume boutique had it sitting on the shelf. I asked for a sample to take home and give it a few full wearing before deciding of it’s fate.

Nuit Etoilee is a fragrance that belongs to the olfactory families of citrus, aromatic (fougere) and woody. Right after applying the wearer is welcomed by a nice, sharp note of citrus. On me the citrus opening is almost impossible to sense.For me,  the citric notes are rather twinkling (twinkle, twinkle citrus star, better show me where you are) in the background in this opening. What I get straight from the beginning is a wonderful note of mint. It’s very vibrant, fresh, a little bit green maybe. Minty stage is very refreshing and invigorating. After few minutes of mint being a lonely player here it is joined by a pine tree accord. How does it smell? Imagine taking mint leaves and pine cones with needles and crushing them together. It is absolutely aromatic! This stage lasts for around an hour or two.

As the fragrant molecules effuse Nuit Etoilee evolves into quite different perfume. It changes from the cool and refreshing angle to something more dense, warm. Minty notes slowly disappear and make place for fir and immortelle. These two ingredients are providing the warmer quality. Hints of angelica can be also noticed at this stage of development of this Annick Goutal creation. When you take a deep whiff maybe you’ll smell a little tingle of citron and orange – I personally can’t sense them there. I would compare this warm stage of Nuit Etoilee as something that reminds me the smell of a warm air nearby the campfire. It smells like the air that carries a smell of burnt tree branches, ash, burnt needles. There’s something slightly resinous in it too.It simply smells great!

Nuit Etoilee is said to take you to a majestic forest where waterfalls flow between the trees, where aromatic fragrances warm the skin, and pebbles form soft beds. Where the thrill of its sheer immensity consorts with absolute serenity, and where you stand and watch the stars as they illuminate the present moment. An enchanted forest, amid a starry night… It also allows to re-live the emotions of stepping on untouched ground for the first time. With this fragrance, distant and fond memories take you back to your roots and replenish your soul. [1]

Annick Goutal Nuit Etoilee is an unisex fragrance. It’s available in sizes of 50 and 100 ml in two bottle designs (shown above). This fragrance is eau de toilette concentrated. If you’re looking for a great summer fragrance this might be the one you should take into consideration. Nuit Etoilee works great in heat and has an excellent sillage and lasting power. I recommend it to everyone who’s searching for a fragrance that is rather unique than trivial. If it’s not worth a full bottle for you, give it a try at least! It’s worth it!

note: [1] quote via annickgoutal.com

Tagged , ,

22 thoughts on “Twinkle twinkle, Annick Goutal Nuit Etoilee

  1. Amy (PerfumedLady) says:

    Great review! This is one case where I, too can’t help but love the marketing and packaging. Everything about it looks so beautiful and well thought out. Will have to sample this soon.

    Meanwhile, a sample of Heure Exquise has turned up in my mailbox! Can’t wait to explore more Goutals!

    • lucasai says:

      The blue glass bottle really draws an attention. The look is great, the smell is great too.
      Yes, sure, sample it, and then share your thoughts.
      Have a good time sampling Heure Exquise.
      Seems like my Goutal promised samples won’t arrive, so I’m planning to make a small order, and buy one or two Goutals at the beginning. Will we also ordering the newest Amouage Interlude (can’t believe it already hit our niche market in Poland)

  2. Fantastic, Lucas! I have tried this one in the London Annick Goutal store and though it is not for me, it is a lovely fragrance. I do tend to like AG’s creations and have a few in my collection as well. If you ever want a sample of AG, let me know, as the store in London give free samples if they have what you want in store.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! I met some different opinions about Nuit Etoilee, some like it, some don’t. There’s no fragrance that would only gather positive opinions right?

      Oh! I’d love to use this opportunity if possible. The best option would be a sample of everything from Annick Goutal, but that would be probably too much, but I could use a sample of Duel, Ninfeo Mio, Heure Exquise, Eau du Sud or Hadrien Absolue. I was planning to order some next week (it was supposed to be Duel, Amouage Interlude and Azemour Les Orangers)
      But maybe I should postpone Goutals if you could get me a sample or two. Duel, as one specified for men is the one that I’m after right now.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    “…smell of a warm air nearby the campfire. It smells like the air that carries a smell of burnt tree branches, ash, burnt needles.” I agree and I’m thinking of the “hollow” or empty space inside a ring of campfire smoke…so it is not smokey but has the memories of smoke.

  4. Jillie says:

    Hi, Lucas! Late again …… so I hope you see this. I said somewhere else that Nuit Etoilee reminds me very much of AG’s Noel (her Christmas candle and home fragrance spray). Whereas Noel is sharply fresh and green, the Nuit does have that smell of hot conifer and although I like it, I find it just a little too dry for me (and of course you sadly can’t wear Noel!). I wondered if you have ever smelt Clinique Wrappings, which nowadays is only on sale at Christmas? It definitely smells of pine needles and is tremendously green – not really like Nuit, but related I think.

    • Jillie says:

      Where did all those iiiiiiiis come from!!??

      • lucasai says:

        Looks like a misspelling. But the other comment had “Jillie” written correctly. I’ll try to find If I can correct it.

        Few minutes later – found it! Corrected the mistake.

        • Jillie says:

          No, don’t Lucas!! It’s my typing! Really bad. So sorry (it was my bad joke).

          If you would like a sample of Wrappings, I would be very pleased to send you a decant. If you want to write to me with your address, I shall happily do that. I’ll give you my email details in that funny way we have to do it to stop spambots: jillieh at bt dot com dot UK.

    • lucasai says:

      No need to worry about being late. It’s always time to comment previous post and wordpress is so clever that it lets me know about every single comment. I remember you mentioning the Noel candle. I never smelled it but I’m counting that my niche perfume boutique will have them, they’re on good terms with AG. And no, never tried Clinique Wrappings, so I can’t compare.

  5. Is it really available in 50 ml? Where, where? I was told at an Annick Goutal boutique that it was only produced in 100ml. Maybe it’s just that that particular store didn’t stock it in smaller bottles. Fingers crossed!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, it is! The square bottle design is only in 100ml but the “female” ribed bottle is available in 50ml and 100ml. I don’t know where to find it abroad of Poland but both sizes are available in the niche perfume boutique I bought mine bottle.

      • CherylQuimby says:

        Thank you so much, Lucasai! I’ll bet wit you have found it in Poladn, it will turn up in other places, too. I suspect that b/c the Annick Goutal shop I went to was not a flagship, they carried limited options, and the SAs were not aware there was a 50ml elsewhere.

        • lucasai says:

          No problem! Glad I could help! Hope that you’ll find a 50ml for yourself soon. I’m sure it will appear sooner or later. Or you could visit them again and say that you’re certain there’s a 50ml bottle and if they could get it for you.
          In the boutique I buy if there’s something unavailable in store at the moment (no matter it it’s the size or a perfume, as some are not sold in this small shop) I can always order what I want and pick it up from their boutique within a few days. Maybe it would work at your place too!

    • hajusuuri says:

      Hi Cheryl, Where do you live? I’m in the U.S. and got my 50mL bottle at Saks. It was at their flagship store in New York City but I would imagine that you could also get it via mail order.

      • lucasai says:

        Good idea! Cheryl, you could contact with their flagship store and I’m sure they’ll be happy to get it for you and maybe even deliver it to your closest boutique.

Leave a Reply

