Shirt & tie, Prada Infusion d’Homme

Me being a pradaholic might cause this review to be much more subjective than it should, but wait, isn’t review a personal take on fragrance? Phew, my problem is solved, let’s go further! Back in 2007 I somehow missed the release of Prada Infusion d’Iris and the only thing I can say to defend myself is that it was the beginning of my fragrant journey and I didn’t pay much attention to female perfume releases (what a faux-pas). Infusion d’Iris quickly became a big success for Prada and one year later, in 2008 a male version, Prada Infusion d’Homme was introduced. d’Homme, as well as other Prada fragrances, was developed by perfumer Daniela Andrier of Givaudan.

Prada Infusion d’Homme opens with a nice touch of iris. Iris, rather than being transparent is more powdery, somehow rooty. Dose of vetiver that was used to create this fragrance is also noticeable, but it’s smoother and less dirty or earthy, probably thanks to the note of iris. As d’Homme dries down it loses a little bit of it’s powderness when olibanum joins the remainings of vetiver. Later on some neroli is also noticeable adding some crispyness. List of the notes also indicates a presence of some woods (cedar) and benzoin. The might be not that easy to notice, but without a doubt Infusion d’Homme get’s a little woody and vanillic after a longer time of sitting on one’s skin.

My personal opinion is that Prada makes a great job with their fragrances. Their descriptions of fragrances are very accurate and they’re made of top quality ingredients. When you smell it you just know that you’re holding a bottle of an excellent perfume blend in your hand. Prada truly infuses their fragrances with style and their philosophy. A lot of work is being put in every single scent they create, no surprise they don’t launch new things this often. Infusion d’Homme can be named a simple fragrance, but simple does not mean boring in this case.

I noticed that I like to reach for Prada Infusion d’Homme on a big occasion, when I need to suit up. It perfectly matches with a shirt & tie, giving a nice twist to this elegant style. I think this Infusion can be treated like a synonym of modern elegance. It also works great with a pair of jeans and a polo shirt, and it behaves really good in warm weather conditions. d’Homme is powdery, and it’s clean. It’s often compared to a smell of an expensive barbershop soap or to a feeling of just-taken shower. It really is a masterpiece that every classy men should have.

The packaging is sublime. The square bottle is made of transparent glass with a metal emblem with Prada logo on it. The cap is made of metalized plastic and is covered by a white/light beige textured paper. Prada Infusion d’Homme is available in a wide variety of sizes, including 50, 100, 200, 400, 750ml eau de toilette bottles. 400 and 750ml are being sold as sets with a 30ml glass flacon with a metal Prada emblem and a funnel for easy decanting. Gift sets with EdT, shower gels and aftershave balms can be also spotted in shops.

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “Shirt & tie, Prada Infusion d’Homme

  1. Amy (PerfumedLady) says:

    Great review! The best perfumes not only make us smell good; also the simple act of using them makes us feel good. Can tell through your writing that Infusion d’Homme is one of those kinds of scents for you. Here’s to finding many, many more!

    • lucasai says:

      I can’t not agree with you, Infusion d’Homme is one of those scents that rise my level of happiness on a cloudy and cold days. It also somehow adds a little bit of confidence.
      Yes, yes, yes, still a lot to find out, great!

  2. hajusuuri says:

    I got this to try from Sephora and it is quiite nice. That said, have you tried the Absolue? It just arrived at my Nordstroms and I had just fallen head over heels in love with it. I usually wait until there’s some kind of gift promotion before purchasing FBs (of any line) but I may just go ahead and buy it this weekend!

    • lucasai says:

      No I haven’t! I’m afraid that it won’t be released in the market in Poland! We missed some of the Prada releases like Infusion de Rose and Amber Pour Homme Intense.

      Hajusuuri, do you think you could get me a tiny wee sample of it? I’d be very grateful 🙂

  3. Eric B says:

    Excellent review! I bought myself a 50ml of this fragrance this past weekend as a birthday gift to myself, and I am very pleased with it. I too am a huge fan of Prada’s men’s fragrances, and you do a great job of breaking down such complex fragrances into more manageable pieces, and then distinguishing the individual notes. Bravo to you, and to Prada!

    • lucasai says:

      Welcome Eric B! Thank you! You gifted yourself with a very good perfume, well done! Glad you join the group of Pradaholics 🙂
      Happy to hear you liked the review.

  4. Me says:

    Who’s that guy on the photo?

Leave a Reply

