Well-fitted tee, Chanel Jersey

Jersey was a favourite fabric of mademoiselle Coco Chanel. She favoured this among many other materials for it’s versatility in creating clothes. At chanel.com you can read: mademoiselle’s fondness for this elegant and fluid fabric now inspired a masterful, lavender-infused scent. [1] The author of Chanel Jersey is Jacques Polge,an in-house perfumer of Chanel. It was intrudeced in 2011 and is built on notes of lavender, musk, vanilla, tonka bean, wildflowers, jasmine and rose.

The opening of Jersey is made of warm lavender. The lavender note is treated really well here creating a very elegant and comforting aroma that embraces the wearer. A lavender like this is not common in modern perfumery. Early after application the smell of vanilla appears. It adds a nice dose of sweetness while also making the Jersey composition even more mild than it is. At some point the duet of lavender and vanilla smells quite gourmand, making me think of a yummy pudding. The last main ingredient used for creating Jersey is musk. It perfectly blends with vanilla and the aroma of lavender, adding a little depth to the whole concept of this perfume. Tonka bean, having a vanilla-like aroma is not noticeable. I really can’t also notice the presence of wildflowers or rose. I’m sure they are here, but the dominant note of vanilla covers it all.

Chanel Jersey is a very light fragrance which prefers to stay close to the skin rather than leave traces of it few meters behind you. Yes, it lasts long as for a lavender-based perfume, few hours at least. Combination provided by Jersey makes it a wonderful comforting scent or a perfume that might be worn to bed. It’s aroma is absolutely soothing and relaxing. It makes you want to grab your favourite blanket and watch one of those all-time-favourite love stories on the sofa, drinking a nice cup of tea. Jersey is absolutely non-offensive which makes it a safe choice to the office. It would suit a person wearing black and white for work.

Jersey by Chanel is a perfume that can be compared to a well-fitted tee. It works so well on your body that you might actually forget that you’re wearing it. Although I think Jersey can be treated as a unisex fragrance it tends to lean a little bit toward feminine. It undoubtedly has a sweet quality which might not suit every man but I think that many can easily pull it off and wear it with joy. It’s a happy perfume. Smelling your wrist should make you feel like having a stroll around a lavender field somewhere in Provence or at least cast a smile on your face.

Chanel Jersey is a part of Les Exclusifs de Chanel collection and as for now it’s the latest perfume in this family. Perfume from Les Exclusifs are available in Chanel boutiques and I’m not sure if they can be found someplace else. There are two sizes available: 75 ml and 200 ml. Les Exclusifs de Chanel perfume bottles are made of transparent glass and they’re tower-shaped having a square basis. Each bottle has a white label with Chanel logo and a perfume name and they have a nice black-lacquered cap.

Tagged , ,

16 thoughts on “Well-fitted tee, Chanel Jersey

  1. Not a lavender lover, but this sounds very interesting. Lovely review!

  2. RobWales says:

    Seems a very expensive purchase if it’s so weak as to be worth wearing only in bed!
    Nice review, Lucas, but I think I’ll give “Jersey” a miss.

    • lucasai says:

      It’s also good for office as I mentioned but certainly it’s too expensive if one finds it nice only either for work or bed.
      You can at least give it a sniff if you get the chance!

  3. Amy (PerfumedLady) says:

    Wonderful review, you make Jersey sound lovely! Not all scents need be challenging; sometimes pretty comfort is enough, if it’s done well. Have to admit, I do like wearing perfumes just to go to bed! Still looking for my perfect lavender that can do double duty. I need it soothing and relaxing for bedtime but want it to be a complete composition that will make me happy for daytime, too. Maybe Jersey will be the one!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! I’m sure you’ll like it. It’s simple but it does the trick pretty well. As promised the sample of it will go to you and I’ll also add few drops of Pour un Homme de Caron for you to try.

      Did you try Eau de Gloire by Parfum d’Empire? It’s a lovely perfume. Lavender note in it shares the same warmth as in Jersey although it’s stronger and it works wonderfully with anise adding it an elegant, mild spiciness.

  4. Amy (PerfumedLady) says:

    Haven’t tried Eau de Gloire yet, Lucas. As you know, I’ve been working on sampling the Pd’E line, will be sure to seek it out. You’re making that one sound darned good, too!

  5. Amy (PerfumedLady) says:

    Oh, no Lucas! If you love it enough to put on your wishlist, you should hang on to every drop! Besides, you are are helping me enough; I’ve been eager to try Jersey since before it was even released!

    And entirely off topic, I don’t mind paying for some more Pd’E samples anyway. I’ve been lucky to have sampled a few of them for free and have been very impressed so far. I think Azemour les Orangers is one of the best recent releases out there. Iskander is great, too!

    • lucasai says:

      I think it is quite unique and it suits me well. I also thought Jersey would be nice when I first read about it. I also know that it has some lovers but there are also a big group that doesn’t like it.
      Amy, you just mentioned those that I’d like to buy one day: Iskander, Azemour and Eau de Glore. Still have to make up my mind if I could use some Equistrius or not.

  6. poodle says:

    Jersey sounds nice. I like vanilla and lavender together. I’d have to sample it though because some Chanel’s work for me and the ones that don’t really don’t. I love how cozy you make this one sound though.

    • lucasai says:

      It smells nice too! You shouldn’t be disappointed since you like vanilla & lavender together. Definitely try it when you get the chance. I’m same here, not all Chanel’s work for me either.
      It really is a cozy perfume 😀

  7. Annina says:

    Finally, a positive review of Jersey! I share your sentiments. I have been testing this and love it, so I’ve been scoping reviews for curiosity’s sake. Jersey is not well-received, it seems.

    I love the herbal lavender -very fresh and real. I love the soft musky vanilla as well. It’s hot here, and Jersey is fresh and soft, close to the skin, and seems cooling and comfortable.

  8. nice! two of my favorite notes! I will have to try to get my nose on this and Boy!

Leave a Reply

