Histoires de Parfums L’Olympia Music Hall, new perfume

Gerald Ghislain, founder and perfumer of niche Histoires de Parfums brand will launch new perfume this year. This perfume will follow a concept of dedicating a fragrance to famous places of Paris. After 1889 Moulin Rouge from 2010 now this line will also carry a perfume reminder of other equally well-known place, L’Olympia Music Hall. The brightest starts of all times such Josephine Baker, Edith Piaf, Dalida, Gilbert Becaud, Johnny Hallyday and Yves Montand performed in this place and now create it’s hall of fame.

It’s not easy to capture the character and mood, atmosphere of the place, though I’m sure Gerald Ghislain managed to render it in the best possible way. Histoires de Parfums was first niche brand I discovered and all perfume from this house will always have a special place in my head (and in my nose too!) L’Olympia Music Hall Le Parfum will focus on smoky, woody, leathery and floral accents. Top notes include mandarin, orange, bergamot & lemon. In the heart essences of black pepper, rose berries, rose, saffron, peony, freesia and lilac will beat while the background will be built on woody notes, frankincense, patchouli, storace, vanilla, licorice, chocolate, white musk and something called daim agreement (?)

L’Olympia Music Hall will be available in eau de parfum concentration. It will be presented at Pitti 10 Fragrance Exhibition in September. For international purchases we’ll have to wait until October this year. Don’t know how about you but I’ll definitely try to do something to obtain a sample of this perfume. Histoires de Parfums didn’t let me down so far and this sounds excellent!

note: news via fragrantica.net

Tagged

6 thoughts on “Histoires de Parfums L’Olympia Music Hall, new perfume

  1. smellythoughts says:

    Interesting concept, unusual noteslist – can’t say I find it particularly compelling, although the drydown notes sound nice.

  2. Undina says:

    I like the way this perfume sounds but I’m not sure I like the name. It won’t prevent me from testing or even owning a bottle if I like this perfume but I’m just saying: I don’t like the name.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    I definitely need to try this – the notes sound very interesting. As to the name, truth be told, when I initially saw the word Olympia, I thought it was going to be associated with the Olympia Theatre in Dublin and got excited because I have never heard of Ireland having anything to do with perfumes. All became clear when I saw the “L'” and I knew it had to be French.

    • lucasai says:

      Interesting indeed! This name is a little misleading and it sounds a little weird name for perfume but name is just a name, it can smell fabulous.
      I emailed Mr. Ghislains wife regarding this fragrance (wanted to know if it will be available to order a sample from HdP website) but no responce yet.

Leave a Reply

