Glory is ours, Parfum d’Empire Eau de Gloire

In case you didn’t know or you’ve just forgotten about it in this big perfume ocean just a quick reminder what is the main idea for Parfum d’Empire scents. Every fragrance from this line is dedicated to a historical empire of the past times. Pretty good concept, huh? Eau de Gloire is “a tribute to the Corsicans who left their village to conquer the world.” This fragrance is also dedicated to Napoleon Bonaparte, most famous countryman of Corsica. He’s the one who guided his followers.

Eau de Gloire, which is a French phrase standing for “glorious water” in English opens with an elegant, herbal lavender which is almost medicinal in its style. It’s more subtle than powerful, yet noticeable right after application. Marc-Antoine Corticchiato paired this little herbal flower with a scent of star anise. It adds just enough spicyness which projects right next to lavender instead of overwhelming it and making it disappear. Both aromas co-exist in good harmony, improving each others values. Then Eau de Gloire takes a turn and tobacco molecules are revealed. It smells very true, rich & realistic, like someone nearby was putting a good quality tobacco in their old, wooden pipe. Leather adds some nuance, interlacing with the tobacco vibe. Eau de Gloire is now warm, enchanting and it has a strong character, like Napoleon Bonaparte.

Parfum d’Empire Eau de Gloire wouldn’t be a Parfum d’Empire scent if it didn’t have it’s signature sign which is a chypre base. This base is good as always, created on this dry and slightly dirty oakmoss combined with bergamot aroma. You smell it and you just know it’s Parfum d’Empire – their chypre element is one of the best (if not the best) in contemporary perfumery. Eau de Gloire lovers can also experience an incense vibe coming from olibanum, but it’s light and additionally sweetened by some licorice. Theres also citrus aspect (a standard for most Parfum d’Empire creations) and a quick green flash brought by tea. Also labdanum, neroli and tangerine can twinkle somewhere in the background.

Fragrances under Parfum d’Empire logo don’t tend to be very strong. They really don’t have to. Their lasting power is very good and their sillage is strong enough to make those scents noticeable in your close surroundings. Eau de Gloire is an interesting scent. As it goes from lavender and anise opening through tobacco & leather to it’s chypre base it changes quite drastically what can be surprising. But that’s good. Perfume that surprise the wearer cannot be boring and Parfum d’Empire Eau de Gloire definitely isn’t boring. It’s intriguing, there’s a twist to it. What can I say – it just smells awesome.

Parfum d’Empire website claims it’s unisex fragrance but to me it tends to gear towards masculine side. Probably because of it’s fougere opening and tobacco-leathery continuation. Though I’m not going to stem women but rather encourage to try it. Eau de Gloire is the only Parfum d’Empire that comes in eau de toilette instead of eau de parfum. It’s available in two sizes: 50 ml and 100 ml. Bottle is a tall and sleek column hidden in a tube-like outer packaging. Definitely worth exploring and for me it’s worth having. That’s the way I would like to smell in autumn.

Tagged

15 thoughts on “Glory is ours, Parfum d’Empire Eau de Gloire

  1. B says:

    Nice review. My favourite from this line is Cuir Ottoman.

    pozdrawiam 😉

  2. Christos says:

    I admit I bought this just because I found a good bargain but the more I wear it the more I appreciate it. It starts deceptively light and airy and develops a more substantial character. It is really difficult to classify. The closest I can get to classifying this is a classic Eau de Cologne stripped of its citrus (if this is possible) but that’s the kind of vibe it has. I was surprised to read that some people report a prominent rose note but after pointing my nose to this direction I could smell a nice rose there too.

  3. RobWales says:

    I had a bottle of this a few years ago, and thought it ok but it didn’t make a lasting impression. Fortunately I went on to buy, and like, Ambre Russe, Cuir Ottoman, Fougere Bengale and recently Azemour. It’s a good line of fragrances. Now I should go back and sample Eau de Gloire again, after your interesting review.

    • lucasai says:

      I literally like the entire Parfum d’Empire line. Their fragrances are really good and their made from the ingredients made from the top quality attars produced in France. I also like Cuir Ottoman, Azemour. Fougere Bengale is the one I didn’t try yet.

  4. poodle says:

    I love the smell of pipe tobacco. My uncle smoked a pipe and I remember when he would fill it I would stick my nose in the bag of tobacco and get a good whiff. I was never a smoker, I just liked the smell of a pipe. This sounds like a nice fall/winter scent. Great review.

    • lucasai says:

      My uncle also smokes a pipe (he used to smoke cigarettes but changed his habit) so I’m familiar with the scent too.
      Eau de Gloire will definitely suit a gray autumny weather.

  5. hajusuuri says:

    Great review! I’ll have to hunt down a sample!

  6. laniersmith says:

    What a great review! This line sounds romantic and very interesting.

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks! The entire line is very interesting. They’re very diverse, suitable for different occasions. One think connects them all – they’re absolutely amazing.

  7. At first I wasn’t quite sure if I liked this or not. Now I love it. Great review.

  8. […] reading: Olfactoria’s Travels and Chemist In A Bottle Parfum d’Empire has €120/100ml Libertine Parfumerie has $199/100ml and FREE AUSTRALIAN […]

Leave a Reply

