Scent of return

Things will change drastically soon, again. In one week new academic year begins and all students all over Poland will be returning to their universities. Another 10 months I will spend working hard, having ups and downs, experiencing new things and trying to keep up with busy perfume world. For me it’s a return. I will be continuing my cosmetics chemistry studies for two more years to get a master title. What will happen next? No one knows that.

This return will be much different than in prevous years. My department moved to the new location, into the brand new building. After spending 3 years in it’s original location I’m gonna miss those old corridors filled with a specific, chemical aroma. 2nd degree at university brings some changes. Few people changed their plans and I won’t meet them on 1st October, I’ll see familar faces mostly but also some newcomers will appear. I don’t lie when I say that I like my university. I like it because I like what I do. If I had no dreams and didn’t feel alright studying chemistry I would give up long ago.

3 months of summer vacation are ending. This year holidays were really awful to me. None of my plans worked out and the only positive thing that happened during that time was making Chemist in the Bottle come to life. I promised myself that I won’t let that happen again and that summer in 2013 will be one of the best summers of my life. Now I think I’m starting to miss my lab coat and goggles. Returning to university will keep my hands and mind busy and when I’m busy I’m more happy. I just hate doing nothing.

Vision of university return coming shortly made me think about perfume too! I started thinking about perfume I should wear on a first day of this new academic year. At some point it’s a new start for me because new people will appear. They don’t know me and I want them to like me, or at least I want them not to hate me. What perfume will be the best choice. Should I go for something safe and quiet like L’Artisan Parfumeur Iris Pallida? Or maybe it will be better to spray a fragrance that my fellow chemists associate with me – Prada Amber Pour Homme which they recognize as Lucas’s perfume. Maybe it’s all about deciding on something big. Maybe I need a bomb and use something unexpected that draws attention. My inner perfumista says that using a perfume which I love and which is new can also be a nice option. Yes, why not to wear Rose Anonyme on my first day?

I still have a full week to make this decision. It’s not that it’s more important than other things happening right now but I really would like to make a nice impression and maybe get one compliment to get me started. On other days fragrances won’t be this important to me. I hate those words I said in previous sentence but believe me, chemicals that I work with kill the strongest perfume ever created. What choice would you make if you were in my place? Feel free to tell me what perfume might work, every suggestion is appreciated!

Tagged ,

14 thoughts on “Scent of return

  1. hajusuuri says:

    Nice post, Lucas! It is a good feeling to have something to look forward to, specially that which is on your path to fulfill your dreams. I think you should be bold and daring and different from your usual. It sounds like Rose Anonyme might be a great candidate. By the way, I lemminged you on Rose Anonyme albeit in the form of a 10mL decant and not my usual “just go for the FB unsniiffed”.

    • lucasai says:

      I will wait and see what others will suggest but I think that being bold and daring in Rose Anonyme might worl perfectly for my first day at university.
      Oh, I’m so happy you will have your own decant of Rose Anonyme. If you like it more you can always spring for 200ml bottle like I did or satisfy yourself with 30ml which is also lovely.

      By the way, aren’t you joining my giveaway?

      • hajusuuri says:

        Of course, I’m joiining 🙂

        I have a rather long commute today (2.5 hours door-to-door which is double the usual) and I am using the time to catch up on my blog reading on my little android.

        • lucasai says:

          Then jump in with the comment on Celebratory Giveaway post and you’ll be in 🙂
          I know what it means to commute, I commuted entire last academic year and probably will commute this year too.

  2. rosiegreen62 says:

    Rose Anonyme is the best choice to start your new academic year with a new beloved perfume. Good Luck on your second degree program. You should always do the things that you love.

  3. TF says:

    Hi Lucas! I don’t know what kind of labs you work in, but when I did practice this summer (organic chemistry) and lab classes at school, I found that Dior perfumes lasted the longest and were noticable through the chemically smells, but not so strong that people didn’t like them. I also received many compliments from my collegues/classmates when I was wearing them, so I do recommend Diors for a chemist :). (although I’m a girl, so I can’t say whether it is the same with the Dior masculines…still worth a try, though)

    • lucasai says:

      Depending on the day I might work in an inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry or chemistry & technology lab. Not to mention much time in cosmetics chemistry laboratory. Thanks for suggesting Dior as something that might last. Will give a try.

  4. poodle says:

    Well, if you’re nervous on the first day then go with the Prada. It’s familiar and comforting I’m sure. If you’re feeling confident and ready to face the world then go for the roses. Whatever you choose I’m sure you’ll be the best smelling guy there.

    • lucasai says:

      Aww… thank you! I will see how I feel the day before but I should be OK. First day is just the new academic year opening ceremony, classes start the next day.

  5. Amarie says:

    Wear the fragrance of kindness, that will take you far on your first day! I second the Rose if you are feeling confident that AM, but a comforting scent if you are nervous… Blessings on your first day, Lucas!

  6. Undina says:

    I have a suggestion. Take out all your choices, put them together. The morning of your first day back sniff them out of the bottle and yoy’ll know which one seems right.

Leave a Reply

