Monday Quick Sniffs, part 3

Without any further introductions I’ll head straight to my latest perfume impressions.

“Sandalwood written in capital letters, full scale and life sized!” says a promotional card I’ve got with my sample of Santal Majuscule, a new perfume from Serge Lutens released this year at the beginning of July. Right after spraying I was unimpressed by a citrus reminding, dull opening. I quickly changed my mind to “ooh” when the phase disappeared revealing pure sandalwood. Santal Majuscule is kind of smooth but it has a twist. Other sandalwood perfume from Serge Lutens, Santal Blanc is more like a right in your face scent and I expected Santal Majuscule to be similar. But it’s not. Woody tones of Santal Majuscule go from low volume to high volume. From smooth it turns into something dry, totally woody and full of splinters. When I smell it, some woody pencil shavings also come to my mind. Before Santal Majuscule transforms into the mighty sandalwood perfume I got a feeling of smelling a pot filled with stewed fruit, with noticeable raspberry on the front but that was probably just my olfactory imagination. Santal Majuscule, a good perfume for wood lovers.

Spicebomb is a perfume introduced in 2012 by the designer duo Viktor&Rolf. It was made by Olivier Polge. From the start Spicebomb smells of spices, with carefully pronounced cinnamon and pink pepper. But they’re more warm and sweet than real spicy. Cinnamon should pinch your nose but it doesn’t do this. What else you can find in Spicebomb is tobacco, saffron, paprika, leather, elemi, vetiver, bergamot and grapefruit. I couldn’t find good signs of their presence inside the bottle. They might be there or they might not be there. I just wish I could smell them one by one. Most of them smell together and argue who is the most important. And I must mention that I can’t escape from the feeling that Viktor&Rolf Spicebomb smells to me like vanilla ice cream with sugared cinnamon and pepper topping. I can totally live without it, sorry Viktor&Rolf.

Also released in 2012 here comes Sonoma Scent Studio with their newest fragrance called Forest Walk. This perfume is a forest in the bottle. The opening is created to be woody. It’s made from essences of cedar, oak and fir. It smells light-woody, leafy and kind of dirty. Then we’ve got jasmine, violet to let some light into the forest and benzoin for density. Something adds a tiny bit of unpleasant, stomach shaking sensation – it’s probably hemlock that caused that feeling inside me. Forest Walk contains also moss, amber and a little bit of sandalwood. I also think there’s some vetiver inside it. Smelling this Sonoma Scent Studio makes me feel like everything from the forest was taken to make Forest Walk. Leaves, branches, bark, greens, wildflowers, moss, cones, even soil with insects (yes, I really have the buggy feeling after few hours of wearing it.) Forest Walk is a great perfume. It’s just not for me. I don’t see myself wearing it regularly. I recommend it to realistic nature smelling perfume lovers.

Tagged , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Monday Quick Sniffs, part 3

  1. kelly says:

    Santal Majuscule sounds like something I must try. Once again Lucas, I really love these quick sniff reviews. Bravo!!!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! When academic year will begin next monday they will be more often, they’re so muc heasier to write thank a review of a single scents.
      I just got new samples to try so there will be more for quick sniffs in future.
      Definitely try Santal Majuscule, it’s good

  2. Gwenyth says:

    Your quick sniff reviews are fantastic! Sometimes it is enough to read a short review with impressions. I adore long and involved reviews, but sometimes a ‘snack’ is just as fulfilling as a ‘meal’.
    Thanks for the blog!

    • lucasai says:

      I like quick sniffs too. After I go back to university soon I might have no time to write a full scale review but should have enough for quick sniffs. It’s much faster to write them.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Great revews! I have to try the SL Majuscule the next time I visit Barneys. I liked Spicebomb well enough to spring for a FB. I have 2.5 mLs of Forest Walk which is all I really “need” as a little bit goes a long way.

    I like your review conclusions where you don’t dismiss a perfume just because YOU don’t like it and you suggest [fill in the blank with a scent note]-lovers may enjoy it. I think I am a vanilla junkie and it’s right up there with my love affair with iris — I haven’t yet met one I didn’t like!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! I got my sample of Santal Majuscule from SL newsletter. They were offering it to the subscribers. I think that Spicebomb was not bad, just something I don’t necessary need.
      I agree that a tiny bit of SSS goes a long way. I love Jour Ensoleille much, much better.
      I try to be honest to myself and readers. Why dismiss a scent I don’t like. One of you might find it as a great love. I’m an iris junkie then, but as you can see I can dismiss some irises too.

  4. smellythoughts says:

    Yep we interpreted that one pretty differently 🙂
    Will look into Forest Walk – although there are lots of great fragrances already in this category – your write up doesn’t tempt me too much though so it’ll probably be a miss haha

    • lucasai says:

      I told ya it smelled different to my nose.
      Forest Walk in good if you’re into very realistic nature fragrances but if you miss to samples this one, you’re still gonna live “happily ever after”

  5. poodle says:

    I want to try the Serge one. I have a sample of spicebomb and it’s okay. I was expecting more spice but it’s nice enough. It’s hardly a spice bomb though. Forest walk doesn’t interest me. It’s probably nice enough but it doesn’t sound like anything I’d want to wear.

    • lucasai says:

      Santal Majuscule is a think that deserves to be tried really. Spicebomb is OK, but it definitely isn’t a “bomb” – it’s bomb only in the name.
      After sampling I don’t want more Forest Walk at all.

  6. Undina says:

    I look forward to trying Santal Majuscule: from everything I read about it, I’ll like it.

    I liked Spicebomb on my vSO but unfortunately it was one of the rare cases when I liked something on him and he didn’t. I do not want to wear it myself (and, again, he doesn’t like it) so I’ll have to skip this one.

    As to the Forest Walk, I agree that it’s a great scent but I do not want to wear it as a perfume. Though, I tried dilluting it with perfume alcohol and, in my opinion, it smelled better as a cologne than it does as a perfume.

    • lucasai says:

      I’m sure you’ll enjoy this SL. It’s hard when you like a perfume on someone else and that person doesn’t like the scent. You’ll find something you’ll both like and enjoy.

      Diluting Forest Walk sounds interesting, I wonder how it smells in lowered concentration.

  7. Natalie says:

    I’ve said this many times, but I am looking forward to trying this Serge. I really do think it’s going to be something I’ll like a lot. So we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

