Behind red curtain, Histoires de Parfums L’Olympia Music-Hall Le Parfum

I rented this shiny black limousine for us! Jump in because I’m taking you for a journey. Where are we going? Boulevard des Capucines No. 28 in Paris, where since 1888 stands the building of Olympia Music Hall, one of the most known places in France. Fame meets spotlight there! Take your coat, our chauffeur is ready. We’ll experience the best play of our lifetime and we have seats in the front row. You will remember this day for a very long time, surrounded by the fumes of Histoires de Parfums newest fragrance created by Gerald Ghislain, perfumer and also the house founder.

First act of L’Olympia Music-Hall Le Parfum is a prelude in which citruses are the opening actors. Quartet of mandarin, lemon, bergamot and orange welcomes you with warm and dry smell. Bergamot is in the lead here, harmonizing the opening. My nose perceives it to be quite astringent but I like it that way. I also had a feeling of smelling some pear between the citrus quartet but it was probably a nice illusion. Few minutes later the opening loses it’s power and becomes lighter, now it’s time for the main act. Here appears beautiful, crisp rose paired with small amount of lilac that amplifies the smell of rose. L’Olympia Music-Hall Le Parfum sweetened thanks to flowery notes but it also became more spicy. Saffron layers beautifully with rose petals, it’s like a poem to my nose, like well written song or patiently crafted origami.

30 minutes after I applied a single spray of this Histoires de Parfums scent I noticed that saffron and rose now smell together with warm and sensual suede. At this point everything is also surrounded by a light fume of incense. I also noticed a sweet aroma of berries. L’Olympia Music-Hall Le Parfum became more edible in the perfect meaning of this word. Musk combined with touch of white floral (peony) is also noticeable after some greater amount of time. Vanilla and licorice undertones add a little volume to the sweetness, but it’s absolutely not a sweet bomb. It’s sweet in the light, glamour way. Woody aspect was hard to notice for me, but I noticed some chocolate which was not that prominent like in 1969 by Histoires de Parfums.

Other notes hidden in L’Olympia Music Hall Le Parfum include pepper, freesia and patchouli. Experiencing a new fragrance from Histoires de Parfums was an honour to me. All fragrances from this brand had a positive impact on my perfumista life and this new one is as good, or better than earlier Gerald Ghislain perfume. Character of this fragrance is mysterious, seductive and sexy. I believe it would smell outstanding in the evening or at night, worn to an elegant restaurant or for a play at Olympia Music Hall (but not only there). It smells this kind of way to be appreciated under a starry sky.

Histoires de Parfums introduced L’Olympia Music Hall Le Parfum at Pitti 10 Fragranze exhibition in Florence and it will be officially launched in October. 60 ml or 120 ml of eau de parfum will be held in Histoires de Parfums signature bottles. The longevity of the scent is good as always which is 9 hours or more and it projects in a nice way, surrounding a wearer in a transparent veil that effuses approximately half meter around you. This perfume is great with a big potential. It’s rose variation is like no other, exceptional. You need to sample it and experience it n your own.

Note: Big thank you to Histoires de Parfums crew for sending me a lovely sample. You’re the best!

Tagged

14 thoughts on “Behind red curtain, Histoires de Parfums L’Olympia Music-Hall Le Parfum

  1. malsnano86 says:

    Limousine party with Lucas!! I’m so there.

    I have had bad luck with all the HdP fragrances I’ve tried (not THAT many, but I think it was three or four… yes, four – Blanc Violette, 1873, 1804, and Vert Pivoine). Didn’t like any of them.

    However, this one might be different. I think I’ll put it on my wishlist at Surrender to Chance…

    • lucasai says:

      The idea of limousine introduction struck me out of no where so I HAD to use it here.
      I was lucky almost with every single HdP I tried.
      You should try 1876 (Mata Hari) or my favourite 1725 (Casanova).

      Definitely, add it to your wishlist, it’s worth it.

  2. What a fun review, Lucas, and I was also looking for a citrusy floral fragrance! This sounds like it’s worth a try.

  3. smellythoughts says:

    Not too sure if I’d like this, sounds a bit beentheredonethat kind of thing, still will give it a passing sniff if I see it.

  4. poodle says:

    A night out in a limo sounds great to me too. I hope it’s big enough for us all to fit. This sounds really nice. I’m not usually a fan of citrusy things but somehow this sounds like something I may want to try.

  5. hajusuuri says:

    ..and thus was a lemming born…

    This sounds like a versatile (office) day to evening perfume, with perhaps a little refresher spritz before heading out for the evening’s activities.

    I will have to seek this out when it becomes available in the U.S.

    Wonderful review, Lucas!

    • lucasai says:

      Seems like I was quite a source for your lemmings lately. I agree with you, it’s a day to night scent and yes, it would be good for office too.
      Definitely try it, I think Surrender to Chance has/will have it available soon.

      Glad you liked it!

  6. Natalie says:

    Thanks for taking us on this journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

