Sway me, L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant

Saffron is the most expensive spice in the world. To obtain just 1 gram of it you need to grow around 200 flowers, pick their stigmas manually at a certain time and dry them quickly upon extraction. Prices for the best quality saffron can reach 11$ per gram so it’s not as expensive as 24K gold. But don’t worry, no one says you can’t afford some saffron because you can and it really is a good one.

When I tried Safran Troublant from L’Artisan Parfumeur for the first time its smell reminded me of wild rose and cherry jam my Mum uses as a layer when she bakes a gingerbread cake. It smelled rich,vivid and delicious just like the jam. The whole kitchen smelled of it when Mum spent Saturday afternoon preparing the most delicious gingerbread I know. The opening of Safran Troublant is an opulent saffron used in perfect amount. It’s vibrant, light spicy character reacts with all my senses, nose, eyes, ears are all excited about it. Addition of vanilla in the opening combine perfectly with saffron creating a new lightly sweet and creamy dimension. But for me the best part is yet to come.

The initial phase of Safran Troublant never disappears but when it dissipates and its volume goes down, there comes the right time for rose to appear. It smells elegant, sophisticated and actually not too floral. It’s more suedy, velvety in style giving the sensation of holding the rose petals between your fingers. To me rose petals create the feeling like I was touching high quality and really expensive canvas. As a sandalwood amateur I can say that sandalwood in Safran Troublant doesn’t smell of sandalwood known from its classics. It’s not much woody on my skin but rather spicy, I like it the way it is as I often find perfume with sandalwood being too dry or harsh.

Passion flower (and probably sandalwood at some level too) provide a powdery quality that goes well with sweet aroma that is left on the skin after few hours of wearing the fragrance. Hey, there’s some sugar inside of it, how cool this sounds. Notes list of L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant mentions ginger as one of the essences used. I’m not sure if I recognized it but I think that it might have spiced up the rose a little bit or it took part in the bright opening of the scent. Honestly I wouldn’t care what ginger did or did not for Safran Troublant because it smells fabulous anyway.

Bertrand Duchaufour created Safran Troublant for L’Artisan Parfumeur in 2002. It’s an extremely well done gourmant with an oriental and spicy theme. In my opinion it’s alluring and really addictive. I was hooked the first time I tried it and since then I want more and more. At the moment I just got a decant of it in a swap to keep me going for a while but I think I’m in need for more of it. It’s so enjoyable, somehow provoking and entertaining. It can be had in heptagonal column bottles that carry 50ml or 100ml of liquid, eau de toilette concentration.

Tagged

20 thoughts on “Sway me, L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant

  1. You make this sound incredibly delicious!

    • lucasai says:

      Believe me it’s so very delicious that it’s almost hard to resist not to lick your own wrist.
      Seriously that 5ml decant I got in a swap is too little, need more.

  2. hajusuuri says:

    Egads. This is my first blog post reading this morning and I am already feeling lemmingish. I will need to investigate. Great review, Lucas!

    • lucasai says:

      I’m proud I’m first for you today.
      And another lemming from me?
      Definitely do investigate, sample can be found easily and the scent has great quality and it’s price is also great.

  3. shellyw says:

    I have smelled the l’artisan, now I wish I had your mother’s cake recipe to go with it.

  4. Undina says:

    I tried Safran Troublant only once and thought it was very pleasant. I still have a sample and plan to test it more but, as it happens with EdTs a lot, it’s staying power while dabbed isn’t great.

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, it’s very pleasant for the nose. Hope you’ll enjoy the sample. I know what you mean, most dabbed things don’t last as long as sprays on my skin.

  5. Mel says:

    This sounds amazing! I will have to try it. Lol @ your comment about licking your wrist – i can understand, I overindulge frequently on honey & saffron macaroons 🙂

  6. Ari says:

    Isn’t it wonderful!! Safran Troublant is the closest thing I have to a signature scent. Thank you for the review, Lucas! Your mother’s jam sounds out of this world.

    • lucasai says:

      It is very special. It smells so unique, inviting. Glad you liked the review. Well, let me correct that, it wasn’t my Mum’s jam (the jam was from the shop) but a gingerbread cake that is out of this world.

  7. Lise says:

    Lovely review! I got this for christmas from my husband. As you said, it is really addictive.

  8. birdboy48 says:

    I’m a guy, and this stuff is really the very first fragrance I truly fell in love with. It’s just so comforting, and wonderful just before bedtime. Not long lasting, as others have mentioned , but if person likes it enough, they won’t feel bad about can drenching themselves with more. Hard to imagine it’s discontinued, but L’Artisan has a way of doing that with their things here in the States. Now Tea for Two is back again after being discontinued for a while, and I suspect it will be the same with ST as well.

    • lucasai says:

      Hi birdboy! Glad you like Safran Troublant, it’s a great perfume. As you said – comforting, cozy, also a little bit sexy.
      It’s possible that L’Artisan will re-issue it at some point in the future

Leave a Reply

