Instant kitchen beauty

Hello everyone! I’m fine and I hope you’re doing well too. Do you remember my article about parabens from early October? After posting it I continued my research of the topic and found few interesting things I didn’t know about. I found few Polish websites offering paraben free cosmetics to do on your own! Youย  had to pay for the product and what you got in mail were glass and plastic vials with measured ingredients, pipettes, empty bottle with pump and a recipe guiding you what to do, step by step. You just needed to combine all the substances, mix and shake them well. Look! You just made yourself a cream. I believe it’s a lot of fun to do that and you know exactly what’s inside.

My personal sense of discovering things sometimes leads me to experiments. As a cosmetics chemistry student I mainly focus on things that can be used as body, hair or face products. Today I decided to share with you my recipe for nurturing coffee peeling that is absolutely paraben free, easy to use and easy to make. Believe it or not but you’ve got all necessary products in your kitchen. Are you ready to start? Lets go and collect all the ingredients.

To make a coffee peeling you’ll need: 1 table-spoon of fine coffee powder, 1 table-spoon of honey, 1 tea-spoon of salt (can be replaced by sugar) and 2-3 drops of olive oil (you can replace it with jojoba oil, grapefruit seeds oil if you have one). Start by mixing coffee powder with honey until you get a brownish batter. Add salt or sugar (you can do your peeling without it too!), stir again and at the very end add 2-3 drops of olive oil. Once your mix is ready put it onto the fridge for 10 minutes to cool it down and make it thicker. 10 minutes later you’re ready to apply. Put the batter all over your face and with wet hands rub gently using circular motions. Don’t overdo it, 3 minutes is enough. Now rinse everything off with warm water and then with cold water in the end.

Is your skin feeling refreshed and tighter? You’ve just removed the stratum corneum of your face epidermis. Removing all those dead cells from the skin surface has great effects if you remember to do it regularly. By scrubbing you improve blood circulation in tiny capilars and that helps in maintaining higher levels of collagen for longer which means less wrinkles and slower skin aging in future. If you have an oily skin it’s recommended to replace olive oil with floral waters or rice water (you can make one by sinking few spoons of rice with some water and drain it off few minutes later). Those waters are lighter and help your skin to keep it’s balance. Rice water additionally regulates sebum secretion so it gives a matte finish. For dry skin use olive oil as written in the recipe. I also encourage you to use capsules with liquid A+E vitamin complex. I know they’re supposed to be eaten but they’re also skin friendly and help to moisture dry skin. Make a small hole with a needle and add few drops.

I hope you liked the idea of coffee peeling. I think it’s not innovative and I’m probably not the first one who came up with this idea but I like it anyway. If you decide to try it, have fun preparing and applying, and of course let me know how did it go and what you thought about the effects. Once you’ve gone through the routine apply your best face cream! Skin after peeling absorbs few times more of active ingredients than before the process. And don’t forget to apply a protective cream with SPF 15 or higher before you go out the next day as your skin migh feel a little nervous within 24 hours after using mechanical peeling on it. Beauty can be simple and fun! Good luck!

Tagged

12 thoughts on “Instant kitchen beauty

  1. rosiegreen says:

    Lucas, thanks for the recipe. I will try it later today after I finish my chores. Rosie

  2. poodle says:

    I love spa treatments you can make at home. I might give this a try this weekend. It’s amazing the things you can use as beauty treatments.
    I mailed that package today for you. Hope it gets there okay.

    • lucasai says:

      I also like those treatments you can make at home and have a good time. It’s unbelievable how many household products you can use as beauty treatments.

      Great! Thank you. I will let you know when it lands at my door.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    How interesting! I use a Keurig machine and I will save the coffee grounds from a used K-cup. Instead of olive oil, I will probably use a few drops from my Vitamin E oil bottle. Also, since the mask will not be close to the eyes, I may even use a drop of tea tree oil. This i really right up my alley as there is no heat/cooking involved ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lucasai says:

      I knew you’d like it. With your Keurig machine your coffee powder will be as fresh as possible. You have an Vit E oil? Great, I say go for it and use this one instead of olive oil. And tea tree oil will additionaly purify your skin.

      Please let me know if you liked it!

  4. Gwenyth says:

    I love the fact that you are a student of chemistry and that you love perfumes. I enjoy reading your experiences as a student and I enjoy your comments on the perfumes you encounter. Thank you for maintaining this blog and sharing your talents with your readers.

    I’m excited to try the recipe for the coffee treatment. I adore mixing up my own facial and skin care products. Thank you!

    • lucasai says:

      Aww… I’m blushing! I believe that it’s important to have a hobby at any stage of our lives.
      And if my passion can be helpful for you then it’s even more exciting for me.
      So do I, homemade beauty products are easy and fun. Hope to hear from you soon how did it work ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. TF says:

    Thanks Lucas, it’s such a good idea! I also love at-home spa treatments like this (I have such sensitive skin everything makes me break out, I have to use honey as a moisturizer!)

  6. Naheed says:

    What an easy to make hands on recipe! I always look for homemade products to be applied on the skin and salt/sugar, being natural exfoliate and easily available, is free of leaving harmful affects on the skin.

Leave a Reply

