Monday Quick Sniffs, part 5

Wow! I returned to my university routine so fast and smooth that I didn’t notice the time passing so fast right behind my back. It seems like the opening ceremony for 2012/2013 academic year was just yesterday, but actually it’s been almost a month of studying already. My chemistry books kept me so busy I didn’t realize that Monday Quick Sniffs went on a few weeks-long break. But they’re back today, hoping to draw your attention, standing in their bright spotlight, I hope.

Sample of Idole de Lubin landed at my place accidentally. I obtained it as a complimentary gift with a purchase of Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme. It was waiting for over a month before I chose to wear it. The fragrance was inspired by jungle and Africa. Olivia Giacobetti is a perfumer behind Idole de Lubin. Idole opens with warm and rich rum, which has the smallest hint of sweet vibe. Seconds later it’s joined by saffron – creating a spicy aroma and leather – adding more sensual, animalic and bold character. Later it turns woody because of ebony and red sandalwood used to craft Lubin Idole. In the drydown light citrus tones are detectable and some pleasant sweetness of sugar cane chimes in from time to time. Idole de Lubin really is a wild, free-spirit fragrance. Version I reviewed was an EdT, but Idole is also available in EdP.

By Kilian Amber Oud was one of those fragrances I wanted to try for a while. It’s a part of Arabian Nights collection of fragrances. Right after applying the first thing that blooms on your skin is amber. It’s warm, quite dry and posessing a little bit of alcoholic vibe. The alcoholic smell reminded me of an absinthe with a hint of wheat or hay, can’t really tell which one I smelled. Within 30 minutes amber from the opening evolves into smooth, creamy and mildly sweet combination with vanilla. Benzoin from Laos appears only few minutes later and makes fumes of Amber Oud dense, almost possible to touch and feel them. Cedar or bay leaf are practically impossible to detect under that dense quilt of amber, vanilla and benzoin. By Kilian Amber Oud, to my surprise, doesn’t contain oud. That’s bit unexpected, isn’t it? It’s projection is rather low and it stays close to your skin. Longevity is very nice. Good scent for colder days.

Musc from Les Nombres d’Or collection from Mona di Orio (so sad she passed away so quickly) is an interesting, natural smelling perfume. Right at the beginning a lot of clean, slightly animalic muscs float from your skin surface. About 10 minutes later Musc becomes more powdery and floral with heliotrope. Tonka bean adds some sweetness and very light spicyness. As it evolves some citrus-floral aspects from neroli are becoming easier to notice, as well as velvety rose. Important ingredient of Les Nombres d’Or Musc by Mona di Orio is angelica that wraps everything together into one complex scent. Angelica brings kind of balmy, spicy and slightly rooty aromas. It smells great as a whole creation. It’s complex style is not overwhelming, all elements interlace with each other. Musc is really worth attention. Les Nombres d’Or Musc is available as 100 ml bottle of EdT.

Tagged , ,

22 thoughts on “Monday Quick Sniffs, part 5

  1. Lucas, I adore Idole, but Amber Oud just didn’t work for me at all. Looks like I need to check out Musc, it sounds interesting. Steve

    • lucasai says:

      I seem to adore it too! I keep asking myself how could I let it rest unsniffed in my drawer for over 1 month.
      Sorry to hear about Amber Oud. I liked it, but feel no need to have a decant or a bottle. I’ll have a sample of Rose Oud from the same By Kilian collection tomorrow to work on. Heard it’s better than Amber Oud.
      Hope you’ll like Musc when you try it. It’s nice.

  2. Undina says:

    Idole is a very pleasant perfume but I’m boycotting Lubin (for being rude towards Birgit).

    I liked Amber Oud when I tested it. I think Fragrantica doesn’t list all the notes, I believe agarwood is there just not a prominent note (which is good – I do not like agarwood much).

  3. hajusuuri says:

    These all sound so good, Lucas. I’m getting close to purchasing the Ann Gerard trio and may just request these for the “free” samples. I am excited for you re: your new perfume!

    • hajusuuri says:

      Eeek, I actually already have a sample of the BK Amber Oud! Will try it soon. I have to organize my samples. I bought the ammo boxes suggested by Undina and will need to catalogue and put them away. Knowing me, I’ll probably lose interest after doing the first 25…maybe I can persuade my nephew to do it for me but he is such a scent phobe that he’ll probably refuse even if I offer to pay him!

      • lucasai says:

        See, treasures hide within our samples collection. I’ve been craving to try Tauer Reverie au Jardin and found it, by accident, in my samples drawer!
        Ammo boxes sound interesting. I use glass tubes stands from laboratory.

        Can’t believe someone could be a scent phobe!

    • lucasai says:

      If you purchase it, please let us all know about your thoughts. Cuir de Nacree sounds lovely.

      I’m excited about it too!

  4. I love all of these. Great mini-reviews!

  5. bloodyfrida says:

    Hello Lucas! Just wanted to pop in and check on your blog – first time post here.

    I love Inedite by Lubin – though I wasn’t aware of the Birgit/Lubin conversation until today. How did I miss that? I think I live in my own little bubble sometimes.

    • lucasai says:

      Welcome! Hope to see you more around since now.
      Didn’t try Inedite yet. I miss a lot at Lubin’s counter. I wasn’t aware of it either. Wouldn’t know about it if undina didn’t post it here.

Leave a Reply

