Secret Garden, Tauer No. 04 Reverie au Jardin

Few months ago I had no idea who Andy Tauer is and what are Tauer Perfumes. Many things changed since then. Once in a while I came across a sample from the line. Each fragrance had different character and my impressions were pretty various, sometimes extreme. They say that all good things come to an end – but sometimes good things come last. And leave us speachless.

Reverie au Jardin was created by Andy Tauer (house founder) in 2007 as 4th scent in the house line. The scent was inspired by France and is supposed to evoke a dream of green lands and twinkling stars.” First aroma that opens Reverie au Jardin is warm and herbal lavender. Its fresh and slightly green aroma is very natural, taking you right to lavender harvests in late summer Provence. Shortly lavender is supported by orris root. Orris in Reverie au Jardin is unusual. It’s rooty, with light hints of powdery tones. Surprisingly it’s not dirty or earthy as some would expect. Fir balm keeps lavender and orris together, creating a lot of wide open space. It smells nice and foresty with tinge of bergamot. It smells very special and enchanting.

After some time Reverie au Jardin take us deeper into the heart of the forest. Fragrance turns more balmy and woody. Light touch of vetiver with sandalwood make this scent a little bit more dirty. On the other hand tonka and vanilla combined with resins create scented blanket that is sweet, warm, inviting and cozy, giving you a feeling of safe place. Frankincense and galbanum give some nice transparent incensy twist to it. I’m not sure of it but I also have a feeling that Reverie au Jardin hides some velvety rose within. There’s also a chypre element in this Tauer perfume – it’s oakmoss, almost nonexistent one, accompanied by those little tinges of bergamot. Cedar and olibanum are nice background for Reverie au Jardin. The scent is quite evolving on your skin, like chameleon.

04 Reverie au Jardin of Tauer Perfumes is, in my honest opinion, the most interesting and the most wearable scent from the entire range of scents crafted by Andy Tauer. It’s complex, somehow unpredictable. There’s something alluring in it. Since my lavender venue began I wanted to sample it because I got a feeling that Reverie au Jardin sounds promising. One day I’ve been browsing through my vials drawer and magically found it! I didn’t know I had it in there. I was really surprised and grabbed it without thinking. I was in love with it from the first moment. It offers exactly what I’ve been looking for! Lavender (with orris, yay!) in the best possible way I could’ve dreamt of.

Call me crazy but I think Andy Tauer 04 Reverie au Jardin is a fragrance for dreamers, for those who are not afraid to dream. It’s kind of fragrance that I associate with visit in a secret garden, a place only you know, only you have the key to open the gate. It really smells magical to my nose. It easily captures all my senses. Reverie au Jardin brings a little bit of fairy dust to reality. If you haven’t tried it yet then you should acquire a sample – I think you’d understand what I mean in this review after you try this Tauer. It’s an excellent scent and I think it would give you a lot of happiness in spring and summer, but warm autumn day will also release some magic from the bottle. 04 Reverie au Jardin is available as 50 ml EdP in Tauer’s signature deep blue bottle. For me it’s a must have!

Tagged , ,

22 thoughts on “Secret Garden, Tauer No. 04 Reverie au Jardin

  1. poodle says:

    I have always overlooked this one for some reason but now I think I must take a closer look at it. I like lavender and Tauer so I can’t figure out why I never got a sample of this. Great review.

    • lucasai says:

      People seem to forget about Reverie au Jardin as they get more satisfaction from other Tauers, like L’Air du Desert Marocain for example.
      Tauer did 04 a lovely lavender. Sample it when you can.
      Happy you liked the review.

  2. smellythoughts says:

    Thrilled you finally found a Tauer for you Lucas πŸ™‚ Reverie is lovely – and as you said, a real shapeshifter of a fragrance. It does get overlooked as poodle said, and get a lot of stick in the community – but it’s a lovely lavender πŸ™‚ that stands out along with Gris Clair in my opinion. If you ever get chance – try and smell Kiki by Vero Profumo for a brilliant, playful lavender.

    • lucasai says:

      I’m thrilled too. There were few I liked, but not as much as I like Reverie au Jardin. Love the way it smells and evolves.
      I agree about it being overlook. I didn’t see big duscussions about it. For me it’s better than Gris Clair (as GC turns citric on me quickly).
      Speaking of Vero.Profumo. I got sample sets of EdT and extraits on their way to my house.

      • smellythoughts says:

        Fab!!!! To be honest, I’m not too sure whether many of them will be to your taste :S But if they are then brill, you’ve got some of the most amazing fragrances I’ve smelt on the way to you. Rubj is without a doubt the best orange blossom fragrance, Onda one of the best vetiver’s, and Mito one of the best releases of last year. I wish I could smell them all again for the first time! πŸ˜€

        • lucasai says:

          Won’t try Onda – this one is not included in what I’m getting. I hope to like Rubj and Kiki, might not like Onda since me and vetiver don’t like each other much

          • smellythoughts says:

            To be honest – it’s hardly a vetiver. The Onda extrait is a rich honey and bitter leather with vetiver in the base – the EDP is intense lemon, urinous honey… they are both absolute works of art. But yes, Rubj is outstanding also – Onda EDP and Rubj EDP are my favourites. Up in my top 10 πŸ™‚

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Nice review, Lucas! I tried my sample of 04 Tauer Reverie au Jardin once this week and will be exploring it further. I got the lovely powdery facet as well as the unpredictable flower garden scents. As it stands right now, Zeta is still tops on my Tauer list but I am definitely giving this one a few more tries when the weather turns warmer. Of course, not too long ago, I was looking forward for the days to get colder and now that colder is here…I want to try the perfumes that work better in spring/summer πŸ™‚

    • lucasai says:

      Happy you liked it. So we can compare our thoughts, yay! Powdery aspect is very subtle but noticeable in this Tauer.
      I’m no surprised, Zeta is lovely. I think if I were to chose one to buy I would go for Reverie au Jardin first. I think it would smell great on nice spring day. Got to wait for a warm day or until spring to check if I’m right.
      Perfumistas have those problems you know ;P

  4. Thanks for the lovely review Lucas. After my encounter with Orange Star I have been a bit wary of heading back to the line. I like the way you make this sound so “enchanting”. It’s going on my must try list. Steve

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks for reading my friend. What were your thoughts on Orange Star? To me it smelled like a bathroom cleaner so no surprise you didn’t feel like exploring Tauer more.
      It really is a magical scent, like a visit to a secret garden, somewhere at the edge of reality and wonderland.

      • I found Orange Star to be like laundry detergent…very similar to your bathroom cleaner. It was not something I would even consider wearing.

        • lucasai says:

          I see we agree here! It’s the most synthetic one I think. But it’s worth returning to the line and try Reverie au Jardin, Lonestar Memories and L’Air du Desert Marocain.
          These are my favourite three Tauers, the rest gave me some mixed feelings. Two incense fragrances didn’t work for me because I don’t like incense; Pentachords weren’t as good as expected.

  5. Undina says:

    Reverie au Jardin is one of three Tauer’s perfumes that I haven’t still tried. Not for any particular reason – just didn’t come across them yet. But since I like lavender as a perfume note I should definitely seek this one out and try. Thank you for the inspiration πŸ™‚

  6. Kafkaesque says:

    A lovely review, Lucas! Alas, I’m not a fan of powdery notes (I think that is where we differ a bit) and I’m also not keen on lavender. But I know many who are, so I’ll keep this in mind if anyone ever wants suggestions for a lavender perfume.

    • lucasai says:

      Good. Are you going to give it a try or will you pass?

      • Kafkaesque says:

        I will probably pass unless I come across the bottle somewhere in a store or unless someone passes me a sample. I’m afraid I really am not a fan of lavender, especially if tinged with powder. I want to like it but, for reasons going back to childhood, I really have never been keen on it. Since there are so many perfumes out there that I do want to try, I doubt I will spend money on buying a sample of this one. I’m sorry. 😦

Leave a Reply

