Monday Quick Sniffs, part 6

Previous week was a busy but also well scented one. After a longer weekend I had a pile of tests and lab work to cope with, but I made it through. During last 10 days I tried few new things and I want to share my impressions with you. Time for another Monday Quick Sniffs session! Hooray!

Last week I received one black envelope from Jo Loves Showroom in London. It was Jo Malone who sent me a sample of her newest fragrance in JO LOVES… line. This newly launched perfume is called Pink Vetiver and it smells really interesting. The opening contains a lot of juniper berries that smell quite cold, herbal, even herbaceous. Berries are slightly spicy thanks to coriander and pink peppercorn. There’s also kind of light metallic vibe in the opening. Heart of Pink Vetiver is a little bit more dusty/spicy with nutmeg and angelica. Ginger gives a refreshing touch while cumin (very transparent) warms everything up. Base of Pink Vetiver is made of woody vetiver with just a tiny hint of rooty/earthy tone plus some translucent amber. It’s available in 30 ml and 100 ml bottles, still exclusive to UK only.

On All Saints’ Day (Nov 1) I wanted to wear something comforting and contemplative and decided to go with Chanel Cuir de Russie. It was a perfect choice for that day. In early stage it smelled uplifting and mediterranean with bergamot from Calabria, mandarin from Sicilia and a lovely dose of orange blossom. After some time it turned oriental with spices, rose, ylang-ylang. I also smelled jasmine – not a heady option but light and pleasant, cosy. In the end Cuir de Russie was mostly about leather and woody notes provided by birch. It was rather light-hearted for all the time but it lasted all day on my skin, no longevity issues here. I felt very comfortable wearing Cuir de Russie the other day. It’s beautiful, worth exploring especially if you’re not a leather fan as you actually might like it a lot. Cuir de Russie – part of Les Exclusifs de Chanel collection. Available in 75, 200 ml bottles of EdT and in EdP concentration.

Last week I finally remembered to wear this sample I ordered few weeks ago. What We do in Paris is Secret is one of three four fragrances from an American niche perfume brand A Lab on Fire. Its opening is very powdery with highly concentrated heliotrope note supported by white honey intensifying the powdery feeling. Within few first minutes vanilla is revealed turning …Secret into sweet and creamy scent. I guess tonka and amber also participated in this sweet effect. Tolu Balsam make it sensual. Litchi and rose add light fruity and floral nuances while sandalwood is just a lovely base for What We do in Paris is Secret. Too bad it’s so well hidden. There’s also a bergamot in this perfume. But where was it? Not sure, somewhere with powdery maybe? This perfume was launched this year and it appears in one size of 60 ml.

Tagged , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Monday Quick Sniffs, part 6

  1. reneetamara says:

    Uh oh. I adore Cuir de Russie and now you’ve given me two more scents to add to need to try list! Is What we do in Paris one you would wear?

    • lucasai says:

      I like giving people perfume lemmings! The other two are lovely.
      Personaly I wouldn’t wear What We Do In Paris Is Secret. I really like powdery scents but this one was a little bit too much for me, and it’s more feminine in style.

  2. hajusuuri says:

    Marvelous Monday Quick Sniffs, Lucas!

    Oh my, the Jo Loves Pink Vetiver sounds wonderful…will get my opportunity to get it next year.

    Chanel Cuir de Russie – I tried…and I tried…and as much as I wanted to love/like it, it is just NOT me.

    What We Do in Paris Is Secret is in my rotation and will get more love as the weather turns cooler/colder.

    Wish me luck tomorrow – it will be my first time back in NYC since the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy.

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks hajusuuri! I’m glad you liked today’s session. Do try Pink Vetiver (and all Jo Loves) when you’ll be in London next year. Don’t forget to make an appointment (but I hope they’ll have a boutique by the time)
      I understand about Cuir de Russie. It’s alright not to like it. There are many more light leathers.
      I liked WWDIPIS (lol!) but it’s not for me, to much powder, too feminile.

      Good luck tomorrow. Wear something that would give you more courage!!

  3. shellyw says:

    Cuir de Russie is my all time favorite. I wish I could afford the more concentrated one, the edt fades too quickly for me.

    • lucasai says:

      I’ve heard that some people have longevity issues with EdT of Les Exclusifs de Chanel. Few of those were really light on me but Cuir de Russie somehow lasted long.
      I believe EdP is few times more expensive, not to mention its small size…

  4. poodle says:

    I really want to try What We Do in Paris even though it’s probably not my cup of tea. It sounds too sweet but I like powdery so I keep thinking I might like it.

  5. Another great series of Quick Sniffs! Love Cuir de Russie and WWDIPIS. Interesting to read about the new Jo Malone. Just curious: how was the longevity?

  6. “perfume lemmings” quel bon mot!
    (I’m jujy54 on basenotes)

Leave a Reply

