Saturday poll – cheerful perfume

I’m introducing you to another poll today. Looks like it may become a regular weekend thread.

Let’s talk today about perfume that we like to wear on a cloudy, windy and cold days like those that often happen during autumn. Something bright, lively and uplifting, something that lifts the spirit and gives you positive energy for a gray day. If you don’t have a perfume that can be a cheerful treatment you are welcome to share what drink or activity is good for you when the day is sad or uninviting.

For me such a perfume is Azemour les Orangers or Iskander both from Parfum d’Empire. I always associate citrus smells with summer time, sun and something happy. Serge Lutens Fleurs de Citronnier also does great in terms of cheering me – I love it’s soapy neroli and lemony vibe. Cup of a good cinnamon or  lavender tea is also great to make a dark day a little brighter. How about you?

Tagged ,

14 thoughts on “Saturday poll – cheerful perfume

  1. hajusuuri says:

    I love polls ! For damp fall days, I tend towards Jo Malone Blackberry & Bay as its crispy tartness cuts through the gloom for me. For a really cold wintry day, Prada Candy makes me happy. The benzoin, which to me is a like a sophisticated vanilla-caramel, is a comfort scent.

    P.S. Soon, I’ll have my PdE Azemour les Orangers so I can spritz away, too 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Glad you love polls Hajusuuri 🙂 Now that you mentioned Blackberry & Bay you’ve reminded me that I got a sample of it, tried once briefly so far.
      Yes, yes, Prada Candy is a good dose of elegant sugar.

      Can’t wait for you to join me in Azemour.

  2. Dionne says:

    I must admit that my cheerful perfumes, like Byredo’s Pulp, don’t get worn in the autumn. For some reason, if I try to wear my pretty florals or fun little things in the fall or the winter, it seems to backfire. Weird, huh? Winter is a very long time where I live, and I find myself gravitating to my comfort perfumes instead, the snuggly things that make me think of the upside of winter: hot chocolate, warm sweaters, snuggling in front of a fire, the briskness of a blue sky day when there’s hoarfrost on all the trees. So my ambers/orientals/spices are at the forefront, and my most comforting perfume of all is Ambre Fétiche.

    • lucasai says:

      I totally get what you mean. I don’t wear citrus in cold weather because it just does not smell well..
      Good that oyu have your comfort perfumes for cold weather! Stay warm!

  3. poodle says:

    Jour Ensoleille is a happy scent to me. In the fall I like my comfort scents too like Tea for Two, Field notes from Paris, and Like This. Those are scents that give me that warm fuzzy feeling. I don’t reach for bright, citrus scents this time of year. I want vanilla, spice, smoke, incense, and amber.

    • lucasai says:

      How could I not mention Jour Ensoleille!? It’s so gorgeous!
      See you also tend to reach for something more spicy when it’s autumn or winter. I don’t wear citrus at this time too.

      • hajusuuri says:

        Now I’m confused by your comment to Poodle and to Dionne above. I thought that since citrus reminds you of summer, you would wear it since it will lift your mood.

        I do tend to wear more citrus in the summer but would not exclude citrus from Fall / Winter wear.

        • lucasai says:

          Sorry for that!
          I meant to say that I have nothing against wearing citrus in fall/winter when I stay at home most of the day. When I go outside wearing it, it just doesn’t feel right. Citrus and chill seem to be a bad pairing for me.

  4. Sorry Buddy,
    It’s the brightness of amber, smoke and incense that rings my bells during autumn, though I don’t hate a hefty jasmine/tuberose/orange blossom with depth then too.
    Portia xx

  5. Natalie says:

    Lately I have been reaching for salty perfumes to cheer me up. I find them energizing but not annoyingly cheerful. 🙂 The original Eau de Merveilles and Sensuous Nude have been frequent.

  6. Undina says:

    I’d love to participate but I do not use perfumes to cheer me up: here, in California, I like dak rainy days.

Leave a Reply

