I tried to love you but we shouldn’t be together

For the last five months, since Chemist in the Bottle was created (wow, it’s almost 5 months already!), while reviewing perfumes I kind of avoided expressions saying that I don’t like any particular scent. I was writing about different fragrances no matter I liked them or not. I prefered to stay neutral and say that I appreciate the scent thought it’s not made for me and that it doesn’t suit my style. Today I decided to review few perfumes I thought I would love, but love didn’t happen.

Eau Noire was my first encounter with La Collection PrivΓ©e from Christian Dior. It was sent to me by a generous UK friend, since the exclusive line is not available in Poland. I was expecting to quickly fall in love with this perfume and find my perfect lavender hidden in the green juice. Things turned out to be quite different. Honestly I fell in love with Eau Noire’s pungent lavender – green, herbal and medicinal but for me the enjoyable part of the scent ended right there. Not much time later I started noticing cedar, sweaty and unkind to my nose. But the most terrible thing was yet to come. Eau Noire turned into a dark and dense coffee that I associated with espresso. The thing is that in life I prefer tea to coffee and coffee in perfume is usually unbearable for me. Neither leather nor violet made it better. It just wasn’t for me. I had to deal with it and continue my adventure with lavenders. I gave my sample away without regrets.

Hermes Terre d’Hermes and I met many months ago, before I started my perfume blogging adventure. It was a meeting by an accident. I visited Douglas (high-end perfumeries chain) shop to buy new shaving cream and stopped by perfume counter. Back then I didn’t know this much about perfume so I was smelling random things. Terre d’Hermes was a random bottle grab too. When I sprayed it on my hand I initially liked it. The way it smelled of ripe and zesty oranges was very pleasing and refreshing, ideal for warmer months. I was even considering a purchase of it. When I returned home my wrist didn’t smell the same. The oranges were gone and what I smelled was a paper dry rooty spiciness of vetiver and black pepper. I revisited the scent once in a while to check if something changed but no, each time it was the same way of projection and development. To see what makes me insecure about it I tried different scents containing either vetiver or pepper. This allowed me to understand that I have issues with vetiver. Those issues still last. Vetiver and I don’t like each other much.

Do you have a perfume that you thought you’d like but things turned out to be different?

Tagged ,

28 thoughts on “I tried to love you but we shouldn’t be together

  1. jilliecat says:

    I share your doubts about vetivert, Lucas. There have been some I loved, like Crabtree & Evelyn’s Vetivert, and Roger & Gallet’s (both discontinued long ago), but others I just can not tolerate, like Guerlain’s (I had to stop my husband wearing it!). I think it’s because I only like it when it smells clean and fresh, but it can get too dirty and sometimes even has a whiff of urine about it, and that’s when I hate it! Not good. Even if it’s used in small amounts, it can turn a perfume for me. I swear there is some in Ormonde Jayne’s Tiare, and whilst I love this initially, there is a faint odour of vetivert hours later that makes me not like it – and later still I like it again (probably when the vetivert fades).

  2. hajusuuri says:

    My most recent love-turned-to-hate perfume was Florabotanica. It smelled really really good on a test strip and when the SA sprayed it around her, it was great (I never test ON ME while in a store). In any case, I happily brought a sample home, tried it and it became instant hate with its sickly fragrant not quite rinsed off shampoo smell. Just thinking about it now set my teeth on edge. Eeek.

    Terre d’ Hermes was one of my pre-perfumista purchases…I still have the bottle and perhaps it is pre-reformulation (at least I think there was a reformulation…).

    I think you and I like many of the same perfumes but diverge on others (lL’AP Seville a l’Aube, for example). Your description of Eau Goire makes me want to seek out a sample. See, even your dislikes could create lemmings!

  3. Barbara says:

    An older perfume I thought I would love and didn’t was Guerlain Spirituese Double Vanille. From the moment I first read about it I thought it would be my ultimate vanilla fragrance. Boozy vanilla and a Guerlain – how perfect for me I thought! Looked forward to its release, got a sample and was totally underwhelmed.Kept trying it and it was not even like, let alone love. Good thing I didn’t blind buy the full bottle!

    A more recent dud was Chanel Coco Noir. I dislike Coco Mademoiselle but love Coco so I had high hopes for Noir. A total scrubber on me. A shame, because I really wanted that black bottle.

    • lucasai says:

      I didn’t have a chance to try Spirituese Double Vanille, all those exclusive scents are not available in Poland. But good you didn’t buy a bottle blind…
      I also thought Coco Noir would be nice, I like it’s smell really, but it’s nothing special. One would expect more from Chanel

  4. Hey Lucasai,
    These are 2 of my faves. I LOVE Terre d’Hermes and have both EdT and parfum. Eau Noire doesn’t get enough skin time around here though, there’s always something I want to wear more but I love it.
    Our chemistry can’t suit everything,
    Portia xx

  5. I actually like these both very much! The coffee-licorice-lavender mix of Eau Noire is what makes it so appealing to me. But I completely understand wanting to like something and really, really, really feeling strongly that this scent should probably not meet skin again.

    I have been very careful and not had a scrubber for a while . . . which probably means that there is something horrible and tenacious in my future!

  6. Sweetgrass says:

    I find that I don’t get along with violet notes in fragrances. If it’s subtle it’s kind of ok (like in Tokyo Milk Honey and the Moon, where I can only barely make it out), but if it’s too prominent it just takes over and becomes a big screeching violet monster, like when I tried Jolie Madame or Tauer’s Rose Vermeille (but I think the raspberry in that one compounded the problem.. I think I have trouble with that note too). I’m wearing my sample of SL Boxeuses today, which does have violet, but there’s enough other stuff going on with the fruit and leather that the violet is kind of held in check and is tolerable.

  7. Natalie says:

    I dislike both of these, ultimately, so I enjoyed your exploration of what goes “wrong” with them (for us).

  8. Undina says:

    I was indifferent towards Eau Noire but I love Terre d’Hermes: it’s one of my all-time favorites on my vSO. Well, it’s good that we all have different tastes, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

