Monday Quick Sniffs, part 7

Well, it’s December already and I just noticed it’s been two weeks since part 6 of Monday Quick Sniffs. I have few impressions on perfume I recently tested (though they’re not new and been waiting for their test time for a while). Without any further introductions let’s move on to mini-reviews.

https://i2.wp.com/fimgs.net/images/perfume/nd.4643.jpg

Number 21 in Parfumerie Generale line is represented by a fragrance known as Felanilla – created by Pierre Guillaume in 2008 belongs to the family of oriental spicy scents. With it’s first try I was greeted by a generous dose of medium-sweet, sensual vanilla, which, to my liking was accompanied by a powdery aroma brought by iris. The iris is not much floral but rather powdery with a tiniest hint of rooty smell. In the drydown Felanilla loses it’s powdery style and becomes dry and green with hay note. It’s not offensive and plays well with other ingredients – it’s just rather easy to notice. Some time later it smells mainly of amber (styled up with vanilla again) and a touch of saffron that adds some nice, more elegant character. Felanilla is unisex fragrance. It didn’t last long on me, but I have a dabber sample… PG21 would smell great on a cold day.

https://i1.wp.com/www.luckyscent.com/images/products/42581.jpg

Rose Oud from By Kilian is a second fragrance from the Arabian Nights series I got to try. Comparing to Amber Oud which I tried earlier I must say that I like Rose Oud much better. Right after applying I could smell a lovely rose note which has a special ability on me. At first smell it’s very transparent and with every minute it becomes more noticeable and loud. It smelled fabulous 5 minutes later! Perfect amount of saffron that was used here creates the jammy vibe, similar to the one I described in my L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant review. I love this jammy combination of rose and saffron. Later Rose Oud shows it’s oriental character when oud and guaiac wood show their smelly molecules. It smells really alluring, sensual and quite resolute at the same time. It has a better sillage and comparable longevity to Amber Oud but I wish it was stronger – on me it stays close to the skin and I would love to effuse its aroma all around me.

https://i2.wp.com/www.jomalone.co.uk/images/products/family/300x300/L002/Amber-Lavender.jpg

Jo Malone created Amber & Lavender Cologne in 1995 (when I was at the age of 5!) It’s been a while since I wanted to try it and see on my own how it smells. Thanks to a friend I finally could give it a proper test. Lavender is the main player in this fragrance. It’s strong, herbal and aromatic style is spiced up with cloves and myrrh. Patchouli adds a lot of depth and allows amber to create something more warm and sensual yet definitely masculine at the same time. I also noticed that mint is quite nice and impressive here. There’s also cinnamon that continues the spicy tones provided earlier by clove. Bergamot gives a hint of citrus smell at the end. Amber & Lavender has a moderate sillage and its lasting power is really good – on me it was 6 hours. To me this perfume from Jo Malone is 100% masculine, its smells reminds me of barbershop.

Tagged , ,

20 thoughts on “Monday Quick Sniffs, part 7

  1. poodle says:

    All three of these sound good to me. I’ve yet to find a By Killian I like enough to buy. I guess from the perspective of my bank account that’s a good thing. It will be a while before I try any of these. I am going to try and focus on what I have for a while.

    • lucasai says:

      Glad they sound appealing! Kilians are so expensive that it’s good not to love any so much. What are you planning to focus on now?

      • poodle says:

        I’m going to focus on keeping my credit card firmly inserted into my wallet. Lol. I feel like I’ve been buying too much lately so I just want to spend time using and enjoying some things I already own. I don’t know how lucky I’ll be with that.

  2. I love Rose Oud immensely. Lovely review.

  3. Tatiana says:

    Of all the Kilian scents I love the Ouds the best. My favorite is the Incense Oud. I’ve found the PG fragrances I’ve tried a tad too sugary sweet for my taste. But I’m always game to try a vanilla or amber fragrance, so I’ll have to seek out a sample of this some day.

  4. hajusuuri says:

    I don’t think I have ever tried nor do I have any samples of the PG line…must rectify! I’ll give By Killian Rose Oud and JM Amber and Lavender Cologne sniffs in passing the next time I’m at Saks. I am finally moving work locations to mid-town NYC by the end of the year and so I will be closer to more sniffa opportunities — maybe this will help curb my sample/small decant shopping!

  5. laniersmith says:

    No. 21 and the Rose Oud sound like they might like at date with my wrist. Lovely review.

  6. In regards to the Kilians, I also find it hard to reconcile the price of the bottle and how much I liked the juice. They do have really excellent prices on the refills, if you are not too hung up on the bottles themselves.

    One of the recent Kilians, In the City of Sin, has really got me seriously considering shelling out. I like the fragrance well enough, but combined with that gorgeous clutch . . . I think I’m paying for the clutch with a perfume bonus (and a very good one at that) 🙂

    Is that shallow of me? 🙂

  7. Sweetgrass says:

    I’ve been meaning to try Felanilla. I’ve tried a couple of PG scents so far, Corps et Ames and Cuir Venenum. I liked C&A but it wasn’t really me, but CV may be a winner.

    The only Kilians I’ve tried are the Garden of Good and Evil line, and of those I only liked one. But I’m not sure I love it enough for how much it costs.. a decant, maybe, but I don’t think I see a bottle in my future

  8. Undina says:

    Out of the three you mentioned I tried only Rose Oud and while I thought it was nice I didn’t see a bottle in my future (and I definitely like Amber Oud more).

    Only after reading your article I realized that I’ve never tried Amber & Lavender! I have no idea how it happened. I’m a huge Jo Malone fan and this brand is one of the most present in my collection – and yet somehow I completely missed this one. It’s especially strange if to take into the account that I like both components declared – amber and lavender! I have to go to a store and try it.

Leave a Reply

