In the spirit of giving

Christmas has always been my favourite holiday. When I was a little boy I remember Santa visiting our appartment on Christmas Eve. He always asked if I was a good boy and if I could sing him a song or tell a rhyme to make him happy. I was always embarrassed and insecure to do so, but what we don’t do to please Santa Claus. Few years later I discovered Santa is our neighbour, which was kind of surprising and traumatic, but still, for all these years Christmas has a magic within. The magic of our hearts that share joy and love, forgetting about problems. A time to forgive and forget.

When people get older it gets harder to think about a good present. As a little boy I could always asked for a game, a mascot or some different kind of toy. When parents ask me to give them a hint on what they could get me I have problems answering. Those days I get more satisfaction from giving presents than from getting them. Sure it is lovely to get a nicely wrapped surprise but I like spending some time in Christmas decorated shopping centers wandering around trying to find something suitable for my parents. Sometimes it’s a real challenge to find a good present for them, but no matter how much time I would need it’s always heart-warming to see their happy faces when they open the giftbox. Giving gives me a lot of joy. I’m happy when I can make others happy.

Along with the beginning of December perfumer Andy Tauer of Tauer Perfumes started once again his annual Advent Calendar giveaway event in which you can win many awesome prizes including full bottles from Tauer line, fragrances from Tableau de Parfum and mystery gifts. Shortly after a launch of Advent Calendar for 2012 I emailed Andy Tauer (a.k.a SanTauer Claus) saying that I would be happy to become his elf helper for a day. In responce I got a lovely message saying he would be delighted to have an elf helper like me by his side. I’m really happy and excited about it. Glad I could help.

In result of those events I’m happy and proud to announce that Chemist in the Bottle is the next stop in Andy Tauer’s Advent Calendar holiday event. We’ll be holding a draw for day 15 – Saturday, December 15. Today in his presents bag Andy Tauer (a.k.a SanTauer Claus) has a perfume samples set of your choice for one lucky person. To join the draw please follow the instructions below.

  • Andy Tauer’s Advent Calendar draw is open to everyone all over the world,
  • To be in the draw please leave a comment saying what’s your favourite book or movie that keeps your heart warm during cold evenings.
  • Please be sure to use a comment button, not a reply button. This would make it easier for me. Thank you in advance.

The draw is open for 24 hours – from 8 A.M Saturday, Dec 15 to 8 A.M Sunday, Dec 16 ( My timezone being UTC + 1 hour) and it’s the time you can leave your participation voucher. Then I close the draw. Each participant will be assigned with a number, then I’ll use a random.org tool to mix the numbers order and then I’ll spin an online wheel to chose one lucky number.

The winner will be announced on Sunday 16th December before noon. Andy Tauer and I are wishing good luck to all of you! Thank you Andy for making me your elf for this day! It was a pure pleasure to help in Advent Calendar event.

Tagged ,

114 thoughts on “In the spirit of giving

  1. Anna says:

    It’s aimed at a much younger audience but I love, “The Muppet Christmas Carol.” It stars Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, Gonzo and Michael Caine as Ebenezer Scrooge. Not to be missed! It is a lot of fun.

  2. Joshua says:

    Favourite heart-warming movie for Christmas is Love, Actually!

  3. AndreaSD says:

    Doomsday Book by Connie Willis. Wintry and for history aficionados.The Polar Express is my favorite Christmas movie.

  4. RuthW says:

    “A Christmas Story” has made me laugh since I first saw it when I was ten. I don’t think a year has gone by when I haven’t watched it at least twice over the holidays!

  5. GlennH says:

    My happy movie is “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.” I watch it every year on my birthday and on other occasions to keep me in good cheer

  6. Ingeborg says:

    Hi Lucas,
    First time for me to take a look at your blog, nice one!

    I really like Love Actually, have seen it a couple of times. Otherwise I find The Bridges of Madison County moving, and the film by the same name, too. None of those have a Christmas theme. During Christmas I listen to Christmas music, but the Hollywood films about Christmas are too far from our Scandi traditions,so not my cup of tea.

  7. pam says:

    A Christmas Carol by Dickens warms my heart.

  8. Natalie says:

    I’m not normally a fan of anything that could possibly be described as “heartwarming,” but every once in a while I just have to watch Rosalind Russell in “Auntie Mame” for the millionth time.

  9. Gretchen says:

    The movie that keeps my heart warm is “Sleepless in Seattle.” I’m a widow and it was a favorite of both my husband and me. Watching always brings wonderful memories of the two of us cuddled on the couch enjoying it together.

  10. dr lemur says:

    I like the Bing Crosby classics White Christmas and Holiday Inn!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for hosting Andy”s Advent giveaway. I have a bunch of movies and cartoons that I love seeing (or rewatching again) every christmas. What I felt like seeing tonight is The Christmas List -about a perfume sales lady.Happy Holidays everyone!

  12. zeram1 says:

    Dr. Seuss books keep me warm + happy!

  13. lucasai says:

    The draw is now closed. I will announce the winner shortly!

Leave a Reply

