Timeless elegance, Prada Amber Pour Homme

It’s our first meeting in 2013! I wanted to start a new year in a very special way so I decided to write a review of a fragrance that is dear and special to me. Enjoy and have a most wonderful 2013!

When I encountered Prada Amber Pour Homme for the first time in my life it was in 2006. I just bacame a high-school student and with my friend we went on a tour to PoznaΕ„ to see a movie and do some shopping. Without any reason we dropped by Sephora. Prada Amber Pour Homme was a new fragrance then, gloriously displayed in the visible place. I knew that Prada is one of the most valued fashion labels in the world so I gave it a try. I instantly fell in love with this perfume but couldn’t afford it. During 3 years of high-school I was tutoring and earned some money. In 2009 when I graduated from high-school I bought my first perfume, Prada Amber Pour Homme to celebrate the graduation. That’s how my adventure in the perfume world began.

Amber Pour Homme was the first male fragrance created for the house of Prada. Daniela Roche-Andrier (Givaudan) was a perfumer who was asked to create the perfume. She created Amber Pour Homme basing it on four accords: amber, fougere, cologne and leather. To make Amber Pour Homme an exceptional perfume that suits the style of Prada, the granddaughter of the founder, Miuccia Prada took part in creating of this perfume. To me the most elegant perfume was crafted.

Prada Amber Pour Homme opens with a vivacious, spiced saffron slightly sweetened by gentle touch of vanilla. Very shortly after spraying the fragrance becomes warm and balmy. Myrrh is quite powerful in Prada but it’s neither cloying nor plastic. It’s kind of smoky in character and accompaniment of geranium makes it just more fresh and crispy. Labdanum adds more spicy tone to it. Leather blends perfectly with musk giving a sensation of not smelling leather but rather soft and delicate suede that embraces the wearer.

Around 30 minutes from application aromatic and citrus notes of Prada Amber Pour Homme come forth. I could smell some mandarin orange, neroli, bergamot and orange blossom together with light woodiness provided by sandalwood and probably vetiver. Cardamom is also pretty nice here giving some kind of pinching sensation. Tonka bean add light sweetness and if I’m not wrong – patchouli makes this stage smarter and more sophisticated. Later on leather makes a comeback now smelling more like a leather than suede but still it’s rather light and well-mannered.

When Prada Amber Pour Homme reaches its final stage it mostly smells very clean and it evokes a feeling of a man who has just taken a shower. Many fragrance lovers, including me associate this smell with a fine, handmade soap, probably one used in the past at barbershop for shaving and grooming. I know that there are people that say they like the fragrance on the whole but they just don’t like the soapy phase. I say if they don’t like the smell of it – then they don’t like Prada Amber Pour Homme at all. To me this perfume is enjoyable on the whole, from the very first minute to the last one. Actually the soapy aspect is my favourite here. It is so good!

Initially when I smelled Prada Amber Pour Homme and thought what kind of guy this smell represents I thought that it is a perfect match for a smart clothes, evening time preferably. But as I spent more time with my bottle I realized that it goes well with casual outfit too. It pairs with jeans cotton t-shirt and a jacket. But I still think that Prada Amber Pour Homme doesn’t like a sporty style. This fragrance is too chic for that! Don’t know how about you but I find the Prada suitable for a year round wear, still I use it more often in winter and early spring.

The bottle is another feature that makes Prada Amber Pour Homme special to me. Its simple yet elegant design has an undeniable charm. Square bottle is made of transparent glass and it holds a metal plate listing main notes of the scent (French labdanum, Indonesian patchouli, cardamom from Guatemala, Spanish saffron, suede) Under a shiny cap there’s a sprayer, slightly closer to the right. You may find the sprayer location difficult to use for the first time but it’s easy to get used to it. Now after having in for over 3 years my bottle is nearly empty. I will be buying a backup bottle of Prada Amber Pour Homme in early 2013. It’s the perfume that will always have a special place in my collection. I can’t imagine not having it anymore in my wardrobe.

Best efforts were put into creating this first male fragrance for Prada. Its quality is amazing, all essences used to craft this perfume are top quality and your nose will definitely notice I’m right. Longevity of Prada Amber Pour Homme is outstanding – it stays around for more than 10 hours and you really don’t need to spray a lot because the fragrance is quite strong and concentrated. 2-3 sprays are enough to last through all day. Prada Amber Pour Homme is available in many different sizes starting from 10 ml travel spray, then we have 50 ml bottle (glass), 75 ml bottle (metal) and 100 ml bottle (glass). Grooming products and coffrets are also available. In my opinion it’s one of the most wonderful fragrances in mainstream perfumery. It’s been taken out of the stores in Poland so it kind of turned into “niche in mainstream” scent. I will never forget it. It has changed my life.

Tagged ,

46 thoughts on “Timeless elegance, Prada Amber Pour Homme

  1. That is the coolest looking bottle on earth.
    Portia xx

  2. jilliecat says:

    I still find it amazing how knowledgeable you have become in such a short time, Lucas.

    I bought the femme version for myself after smelling in on someone else – have you smelt this, and if so, is it at all similar to the homme version? Although I like mine, I have come to the conclusion that I prefer it on other people, so I will be giving my bottle to my husband who happily wears all my cast-offs, no matter how feminine!
    x

    • lucasai says:

      Aww, that’s so sweet of you Jillie!
      I must admit that I’ve never had a chance to try Prada Amber Pour Femme but I tried Prada Intense which is not similar to Amber Pour Homme at all.
      Now that you’ve awakened my curiosity I might try to look online for Prada Amber to see how Femme and Homme compare.
      Glad that your Husband can rock it!

  3. dkchocoman says:

    Never smelled this one before. The tester at the department store was empty, so all I smelled was a faint trace of the fragrance. LOL Good review

    • lucasai says:

      I hope you’ll be able to try it soon. Also carded samples are available online for little money.
      This perfume is amazing, you should know how it smells. I know the problem. When Prada Amber Pour Homme was in stores it was usually empty or near empty here too.

  4. Dionne says:

    Prada is my favorite mainstream line, and I’ve got a huuuuuuge bottle of of Id’I in EDP. I’ve heard great things about Amber pour Homme, but I haven’t tried it yet. Obviously I need to rectify that.

    • lucasai says:

      It’s mine favourite mainstream line too. They do great smelling perfume of amazing quality. You need to try it then.
      By huuge bottle you mean that 750 mls or so?

      • Dionne says:

        Not quite THAT big. I’ve got a 200ml bottle which feels gigantic. I’ve been considering offering some decants from it over at FFF for a RAOK.

        • lucasai says:

          My friend wanted to buy one of those BIG containers but she decided not to when after our little investigation it turned out that the 30ml bottle that’s included in the set is a splash, she would’ve bought it if it had a removable sprayer.

  5. laniersmith says:

    You know I have been toying with the idea of buying this and now you have sold me. Off to Sephora I go after work.

  6. What a wonderful story, Lucas! You always remember your first πŸ™‚

    I like Roche-Andrier’s work very much and always find it very elegant and clean. Not just shower clean like you described Prada Amber Pour Homme, but like clean lines design-wise.

    Wonderful review. Perchance, have you ever smelled Amber Pour Homme on a femme?

    • lucasai says:

      I will remember it always. Daniela Roche-Andrier is a very talented perfumer, I like her other creations a lot. Yes, she iften does elegant and clean stuff. Amber Pour Homme is shpwer clean but only for a while πŸ˜‰
      Happy you liked it. I didn’t met a woman wearing Amber Pour Homme but I’ve seen some ladies claiming on forums they wear it.

  7. It’s stunning! Daniela Roche-Andrier reworked the accord with Infusion d’Homme for even more sparkling goodness and complexity. Definitely on par with the most expensive niche fragrances.

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, she reinvented the clean accord in perfumery and oh I love Infusion d’Homme so much. Actually if you’re interested I reviewed Infusion d’Homme at the beginning of my blogging here.

  8. hajusuuri says:

    I have seek this out…so many Prada’s out there…and I still do love my Id’I Absolue!

  9. I purchased a bottle of this a few years back – pre-perfumista days. I was first attracted to the bottle and the pretty purple color of the juice. What I loved about this fragrance is that it’s very understated. Nothing about it shouts. I found it to be very unique. Nice review Lucas.

  10. dkchocoman says:

    Interesting review Lucas. I tried this at the store and it didn’t shout to me “Buy Me”. That could be one of two things: the perfume had deteriorated from being under the hot display lights ( I put the bottle to my face and it was extremely hot, warmer than normal room temperature which is 77 degrees Fahrenheit, now that’s HOT) or my nose was fatigued. I will take another sniff sometime soon.

    • lucasai says:

      Maybe it was really the matter of the fragrant juice being overheated but maybe it’s just not your style. Not everyone likes fragrances that are clean in style. Many like it dirty πŸ˜‰

  11. Undina says:

    What a great review! I can tell that you like this perfume πŸ˜‰

    I haven’t tried it yet but I will: you sound very convincing. I have an advice for you: buy the next bottle before your current one is empty and start using the new one: just to make sure it hasn’t been reformulated in those three years since you bought your first bottle.

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, I like it very much, or I should say that I love it! Thanks Undina for saying that. It’s so easy to write about perfume you love.
      And thanks for your advice. I’ve got few more mls in my current bottle so I will buy a new one soon and will definitely check if it wasn’t reformulated.

  12. Ferris says:

    I will head to the store and sniff this today.

  13. hajusuuri says:

    Well, I put words into action and got some samples from Sephora AND Nordstrom. This week, I will be exploring the Prada Ambers — Pour Homme, Pour Homme Intense, L’Eau Ambre and Prada ‘Amber’ EDP (which the Nordies SA called “Original”). I will also try as Robin suggested…layer Pour Homme with L’Eau Ambre. I have all sorts of gift cards to use that the purchases, if any, won’t even “count”. I will report back!

  14. johnl says:

    I am a fan–of Lucasai and also Prada pour Homme. It was one of my earliest purchases, too. I find that a walk-through-the-mist application creates a cloud of candied violets and purple Necco wafers. This method of application downplays the soapy part, and I think my perception of the frag has moved away from the soapiness no matter how it is applied.

  15. Kevin says:

    Heh, this is one of my earliest purchases too! Unfortunately, it’s also one of my least favorite from my collection. I bought it as a blind-buy (my first!) and expected to love it. I appreciate it a bit more now, but I am still underwhelmed by it (though I see more nuance in it now than I did when I first bought it). It’s not bad by any means, but as I’ve explored perfume more, I realize it’s simply not quite my taste, unfortunately. I’ve learned that I’m really not a big fan of “clean” scents. I can appreciate the quality of the perfume, though – it definitely smells upscale. With all of that said, it very well may be my favorite bottle, which was part of my attraction to it in the first place. That may be a shallow reason to be tempted by a perfume, but with 30ish bottles in my collection, this is a bottle that always turns my eye.

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks for stopping by Kevin! I understand. A blind buy thing and everything. Clean fragrances are definitely not for everyone, you need to like the smell of soap, laundry etc to enjoy scents of this kind. But I’m glad at least you tried to love it and ended up loving the bottle.
      I’m sure your collection is exquisite with it’s 30 bottles. My collection is 1/3 of yours.

      • Kevin says:

        It’s a bit strange because I like “clean” smells occasionally on other people, but not for me! Not sure why that is, but I’ve had a few instances where I think something would smell great on someone else, but I don’t like it for myself. I love my collection, though I must admit it’s grown mostly in the past two months as I had a few dollars to burn and as I developed a greater interest in perfumery, I realized that some of the stuff I had wasn’t very good (in comparison, that is – obviously I liked it enough to buy it in the first place!). Now I’m pretty content with my collection – of course, one always wants more, but I have enough wonderful things to choose from that I don’t feel lacking. I have about 5 bottles I don’t love, which I should probably try to sell or just give away as they take up space and I don’t see myself finishing the bottles any time in the near future. πŸ™‚ You have a wonderful blog, and I’ve added it to my Google Reader!

        • lucasai says:

          I know what you’re talking about. I also find few notes interesting when others are wearing them but I don’t like them for myself. As my friend said few days ago – Not all predators cant hunt fot the same pray.
          The most important thing it that you’re satisfied with your collection. I’m a student, so I always have to be money-wise – I buy only these scents that I truly love and I limit myself to 1 bottle per 2 months.
          Thank you for joining. May I ask how did you find me?

    • Kevin says:

      Hee! I love “not all predators can hunt for the same prey!” That’s perfect. Yes, I found you through A Kafkaesque Life’s blog! Ah, I understand the life of a student quite well (I’m not so far removed from it – I finished my Master’s degree in May), you have great restraint for a bottle every two months. I’m trying to keep a similar vow to myself, especially after my extravagance this past holiday season! πŸ™‚

  16. […] reading: Chemist In A Bottle talks about original Amber Pour Homme and Now Smell This talks Intense FragranceNet has $42/50ml […]

Leave a Reply

