Little wonders, Hermes L’Ambre des Merveilles

Finally, after quite a time since a lemming was born I managed to collect a lovely golden-like sample of this fragrance. My visits to swap thread at group perfume shopping part of wizaz.pl forum really paid off. I was so excited that I will try and evaluate a sample of Hermes L’Ambre des Merveilles!

Before I sprayed Hermes L’Ambre des Merveilles for the first time I kind of thought it would be quite powerful and potent scent. The fact that it was created by Hermes in-house perfumer Jean-Claude Ellena, who is a master of light-hearted fragrances, flew off my mind. First spritz of the fragrant juice reminded me of this thing as L’Ambre des Merveilles is absolutely Ellena style.

L’Ambre des Merveilles starts off with light ambery notes of a very mild character. The diffusing scent is very comforting and embracing. After some short amount of time amber is suppored by vanilla. It adds warmth to the scent and gives a feeling of safety. It has some ultimate cosiness of a plush, fluffy blanket. I also couldn’t escape from thought that vanilla makes L’Ambre des Merveilles kind of a gourmand, edible perfume. For the moment I have to admit Ellena did great job with this perfume.

In later drydown this amber scent by Hermes undergoes an evolution. Its happy fluffiness becomes a little bit more dramatic and covered by shadows. Somehow dusty and dusky side of perfume is revealed when evil labdanum gets more intensively pronounced. It’s still amazingly enjoyable but a little bit less cozy for the moment. Patchouli which is a final note in L’Ambre des Merveilles prolongs the dusty feeling and it adds some dirty feeling to the scent. I would love patchouli if it always smelled like this one here. It’s covered by always existent amber in such a wonderful way.

The smell of ambery tones is one of my favourite olfactive experiences during winter months. It’s always cozy and comforting like it was a warm and safe blanket to cuddle with. For the last few weeks we were having a thaw in Poland and it’s not much cold outside. L’Ambre des Merveilles does pretty well in these conditions but I’m looking forward to some lower temperatures to see if it can smell even more gorgeous when it’s colder. I think it can surprise me then.

Ellena, as usual, did more of an ethereal scent rather than a fume bomb. For tests I was using two sprays each time and it was really quiet with a minimal sillage. I think L’Ambre des Merveilles is meant to be sprayed generously so don’t be afraid to use few more shots next time you’ll be applying. Now I’m absolutely not surprised how Birgit from Olfactoria’s Travels drenched her bottle in such short time. This scent is in EdP concentration and is available in 50 ml and 100 ml bottles. Speaking of the bottle, isn’t in gorgeous? Golden-like juice, golden ring around the round glass flacon and this sparklin dust printed on it. So magical. It’s hard not to fall in love with this perfume.

Tagged ,

18 thoughts on “Little wonders, Hermes L’Ambre des Merveilles

  1. Olfactoria says:

    Glad you enjoyed this perfume! It’s still my favorite, and I’ve already made a dent in my second bottle. 😉

  2. Kafkaesque says:

    Awww, I can clearly tell how enraptured you are by the perfume. Isn’t that a wonderful feeling? I’m glad it was such a coup de foudre and that it makes you feel so cozy and delicious. I am much more of an Elixir girl (it’s one of my favorite scents in years and years), and a fascinatingly bipolar scent, but all these repeated raves for the L’Ambre make me think I should give it another try. Thank your a lovely review, Lucas. The best one are always the ones with passion behind them! 😀

    • lucasai says:

      I’ve been waiting for a long time to try it and finally a chance occured. I’m a happy owner of two big samples, but I’m sure I will quickly use the entire juice. I haven’t tried Elixir des Merveilles (as well as many other Hermeses). If you can, definitely give it a couple more whiffs.

      So true, writing about something you love (or hate) is easier

    • dkchocoman says:

      I second that sentiment. I like the deep, dark resinous feel I get with Elixir Des Merveilles. This L’Ambre seems a little light for me, but I can never say never. I havent tried it yet, but I may get a sample to experience it. Great review Lucas!

  3. Tatiana says:

    Glad you’re enjoying this. Thanks to Birgit’s review I also gave this a try. I quickly drained my sample wearing it almost every day. Luckily, there was a bottle of this under the tree Christmas morning. And once again I am wearing it almost every day, especially since we are having a cold spell here in Northern California. (Well cold for NorCal. Zero celsius overnight and 11C during the day.) This is my favorite amber right now.

    • lucasai says:

      That bottle would look amazing under a Christmas tree even without a packaging. Just a beautiful sparkling, brand new bottle.
      I’m sure you’re enjoying it!

  4. poodle says:

    I haven’t tried this but I have a sample of the Eau de Merveilles and it just does not work for me. I’m going to give this a sniff when I see it because I am curious to see if I like it better than the original which smells like a musty closet on me. I love the bottles for these. I wonder if the amber note sweetens it up a bit and would make it more appealing to me.

  5. I’m so glad that you got to try this! L’Ambre des merveilles is so easy to love, but I do also have to confess (over)generous spraying. Have they come out with a body wash or body lotion? Maybe that would extend the life of the fragrance on me . . .

    • lucasai says:

      I’m glad too. Guess what, next will will bring a review of one of the goodies from you ( you probably know which one)
      L’Ambre des Merveilles is somehow created to use with abandon, it’s light and we love cozy ambers, don’t we?
      Haven’t heard of body wash or lotion for that one, maybe in a coffret?

  6. hajusuuri says:

    I love L’Ambre des Merveilles! It is so easy to wear and the bottle is gorgeous. For some reason, whenever I wear it, I have an extra spring in my step and I am already peppy to begin with!

  7. Undina says:

    I will give it a try the next time I see it at a store – but only because Birgit loves it so much and you (and a couple more blogo-fiends) gave it such raving reviews. I wasn’t that impressed by it on a blotter but maybe it blooms on the skin…

Leave a Reply

