The land of hopes, Histoires de Parfums Veni

Last week I reviewed Vidi and Vici of new, golden bottles Edition Rare by Histoires de Parfums. Today I would like to talk about Veni, which is the last fragrance in the trio. It also is the most interesting in my honest opinion. It was the most promising scent when I first read about these new perfumes and when my samples arrived I tried it first. Decided to keep the best for the end.

Veni represents the earth, which in many ways still remains a mystery to us. It is nurturing as much as it is wild, forcing us to keep our senses sharp, all the while pushing our limits.

Histoires de Parfums Veni is oriental-fougere perfume with additional gourmand vibe to it. Right from the start it effuses a luscious warm and spicy note of ambergris which is then followed by aromatic blend of lavender and coriander. It smells kid of fluffy, like a big and warm woolen jumper. Now it is time for the gourmand vibe to appear. Slowly lavender gets caramelized, sweet caramel engulfs its all tiny flowers leaving you with a rich and sticky smell. It is absolutely pleasant!

On this caramel bed lays a sophisticated vanilla which makes for a praline-like smelling thing. It’s playful and so delicious one would want some sweets after wearing it. Guaiac wood (which I would rather say smells like mahogany) brings some balmy quality to the scent. Later on galbanum appears raising the balmy feeling to the higher levels. Cinnamon is a quiet star of Histoires de Parfums Veni. It’s spicy character has been tempered here to blend it so well with benzoin and amber to create an amazing effect.

This amber is very sensual, like a velvet scarf infused with the most precious essences of orient. There’s something very sexual and inviting in it, something that provokes the senses. In its far drydown Veni smells of very light musks and saffron which also happens to be quite erotic. Patchouli gives the last, finat touch to the composition closing the entire bouquet of this perfume.

Histoires de Parfums Veni is my very favourite scent from this new Edition Rare fragrance trio. I found its inner charm in its richness which by any means isn’t overdone in any phase. This composition is full of harmony and tranquility. While wearing Veni I feel cosy and safe. It makes me feel good. I fell in love with its caramel note which makes me want to leave everything behind and jump into the ocean of unrestrained luxury and sinful sweetness.

I kind of understand why earth is the element representing Veni. It’s because this perfume makes for a steady and balanced fragrance. Deciding on wearing this scent is a safe choice which shall never fail. Gerald Ghislain created a wonderful perfume which deserves to stand on a top shelf. Thank you for letting me sample these beauties! Histoires de Parfums Veni  is available in 60 ml bottles, absolu eau de parfum concentrated.

note: sample – courtesy of Histoires de Parfums, pictures – my own.

Tagged ,

17 thoughts on “The land of hopes, Histoires de Parfums Veni

  1. Now this sounds like something I would like! Great review, you created a lemming for me!

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, Steve! I haven’t seen you in a while? How have you been doing lately?
      Thank my friend, glad my review pitched your interest for Veni. I like to create those little lemmings. They’re like a reward for my work on the review.

  2. Kevin says:

    Fantastic! I like the sound of oriental-fougere, so I think this one would likely be my favorite as well. I suppose I have no choice but to try! And naturally, I’ll need to try all 3!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Kevin! I think others will find Veni as the most interesting too.
      If you have a chance try them definitely. And them come back and tell me what was your thoughts on them.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    More to love! I can’t wait to try this. Your description makes it sound like a pillowy cinnamon-dusted vanilla-infused lavender-scented macaron without the tooth-achy sweetness. Yum!

    I am hoping for a perfume fairygodmother to grant me my wish…or I have to go to Henri Bendel — it is still so darn cold that I had been limiting my shopping forays to Saks.

    • lucasai says:

      Yay! What a lovely and delicious description of a macaron. I would happily eat such one like this.
      I hope you’ll get them all to try, if not then you’ll got to HB to smell them.

  4. poodle says:

    This one sounds interesting. The only thing that might be a problem is the caramel note. Sometimes I smell the caramel, other times I get a synthetic, chemical smell which is not appetizing at all. Hopefully this is one of the yummy caramels.

  5. Kafkaesque says:

    This one sounds lovely! Definitely the most appealing and intriguing to me out of the 3 that you’ve written about. Spices, guaiac, patchouli, ambergris…. yum!

  6. Undina says:

    I’m not sure if I’d like Veni (with these notes it can go either way) but I’ll definitely try to get it for testing: I’m always especially curious about perfumes that my friends like.

    • lucasai says:

      I see, I see. It all depends on the nose, as I often say – not everyone has to like it.
      That sounds interesting that you’re curious about perfume your friends like

      • Undina says:

        I might not remember all the details on my blogo-friends’ perfumes likings/dislikings but after reading many of them for years I have some idea and if they happen to like some perfume I’m really curious to try it. Sometimes they sound so persuasive that I want to re-try even those perfumes I tried and dismissed previously.

  7. […] general favorite out of the trio. It certainly was for Lucas at Chemist in a Bottle whose lovely review of the fragrance reads, in […]

  8. […] general favorite out of the trio. It certainly was for Lucas at Chemist in a Bottle whose lovely review of the fragrance reads, in […]

Leave a Reply

