He’s the one for me, Amouage Beloved Man

When Amouage released Beloved in 2012 (still haven’t tried it) many followers of the brand were surprised that it was released solo, since Amouage has a tendency to present their perfume in duets built of male and female fragrance of the same name. In February 2013 a male counterpart named Beloved Man was introduced by the perfume brand from Oman. Amouage Beloved Man is classified as woody oriental and was created by Alexandra Carlin under a guidance of Christopher Chong.

Amouage Beloved Man has an opening created to evoke the smell of citrus fruits. There’s probably some lemon and bergamot, the latter being definitely more dominant out of the two. Its sparkling and juicy aroma has been brought to the minimum by combining the note with the smell of woods. It’s difficult to say what kind of woodsy notes were used to create Beloved Man and there’s no official list of notes to check*. I would say it’s cedar, maybe some cypress or cashmere wood. I don’t know. What I know for sure is that woody notes shortly get a company of incense. To my surprise this note is well-behaved.

There’s nothing spiritual or churchy in this intense. It’s really transparent and pure, slightly similar to the way incense has been created in Comme des Garcons Kyoto. It’s kind of incense that is “fresh” and not dominating. It just blends with woods perfectly to create a woody-incensy concoction with a smoky vibe that is very minimal. For the moment I enjoy Amouage Beloved Man a lot.

As the time flies the perfume evolves. It slowly enters into more crispy side. Saffron reveals its presence after some time. It’s smooth and it introduces light and elegant spicy quality to the scent. It somehow reminds me of saffron from Histoires de Parfums Veni but in Amouage it’s lighter, more quiet. Spiciness of Beloved Man is suppressed by geranium. This note carries some kind of green, crispy aroma. In the drydown it turns out that Beloved Man is quite musky with a floral mix to it. It’s hard to pick any certain kind of flowers. Everything is well blended and complex.

Amouage Beloved Man is different from other fragrances released by Amouage so far. This brand is known for creating perfume that are strong and their sillage is quite intensive. Those who thought Beloved Man will allow you to dive into it’s fumes were wrong. This perfume is not going to fulfill your hopes. It has an incredibly good lasting power but it’s sillage is smaller. The perfume is noticeable from 0,5 meter but after few hours it only hovers close to the skin. Beloved Man is more intimate. It’s elegant, sophisticated and sexy – a smell that is meant to be noticed only by your beloved woman.

Amouage Beloved Man is available in 100 ml eau de parfum. It’s a special edition fragrances that will be sold only in few places all over the world. Special fragrance requires a special price. This one costs $425! As much as I enjoy the scent I’d rather buy three other bottles for this amount of money.

* – Now Smell This has brought the news that notes are: orange, grapefruit, elemi, geranium, jasmine, iris, saffron, cedarwood, lignum vitae, leather, patchouli, vetiver and musk.

Tagged , ,

16 thoughts on “He’s the one for me, Amouage Beloved Man

  1. Jordan River says:

    What pray tell is lignum vitae? Beautiful name and and a beautiful blend.

  2. lorraine says:

    Great review! I love CDG Kyoto and by your description, I would love this. But $425?! I agree with you, there are a least three others on my ‘to buy’ list that I’d rather cross off.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Lorraine! I’m also a fan od CdG Kyoto. Mym mum owns a bottle and I sometimes borrow it from her. One day I will eventually have my own bottle of it.
      You know, Beloved Man and Woman are really exclusive and with limited distribution, that’s why the price is so horrendous.

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Wonderful review, dear Lucas! You already know I have Kyoto (the same time your mum got hers, it so happens). Anyway, would you say Beloved Man is very wearable for a woman? How would you compare this to Interlude Man (my first encounter with Amouage, thanks to you)?

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you sweetheart! I know about that Kyoto, funny story!
      To me Beloved Man is definitely more masculine, hard to tell how it would perform for a woman. It’s style is rather manly I think.
      Comparing to Interlude Man, Beloved is much more quiet and gentle. Interlude was quite intensive while Beloved is more intimate and doesn’t project as much as other Amouage perfume

  4. Kafkaesque says:

    It sounds interesting but not interesting enough for $425! Especially if the incense is “transparent and pure,” “fresh” and “minimal.” Oh dear. No, definitely not something that would tempt me at $425!

    • lucasai says:

      You can try if you coincidentally find a place that carries this limited thing. The price is horrendous. A definite pass for me. As I mentioned at the bottom of the post, for this price one can buy 3 different frags.

      Speaking of new frags, I bought my birthday perfume yesterday. 🙂

  5. poodle says:

    Ouch! That price is painful. Even if I loved it I don’t think I could sleep after spending that much on a perfume. Especially one that was only noticeable if someone was up close and personal. No, for that kind of money I want projection and lots of compliments. I do like incense, but I’ll stick with Kyoto and the other ones I have.
    What is your birthday perfume? Or is it a secret for now?

    • lucasai says:

      Poodle, I totally understand your way of thinking. Nothing can justify those horrendous costs for a single bottle (well, if it was Amouage + a small parcel on the Moon, why not?) Exactly, if you pay you want your perfume to be noticed and complimented, I feel the same way.

      My birthday perfume was ordered three days ago. I’ll share it with you once it arrives (the upcoming week I think)

  6. Thank you once again for bringing your excellent critical faculties to bear on this one.
    The Dandy is a self-confessed saffron nut, and has a strong partiality for all things green – so I am drawn by this unusual combination that you describe.I think the idea of this against a wooded background wash most inticing.
    Probably not drawn enough to part with the requisite cash to own this fragrance, but certainly I feel a try out coming on.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • lucasai says:

      Great, hope to hear your impressions after you try it. For this price it’s hard to tell “go for it and buy it” as the price doesn’t justify what you get in the bottle really.
      But every fragrance is worth at least a sampling sniff.

  7. laniersmith says:

    I really enjoyed your review and find myself intrigued by the Beloved Man. Oh to be a millionaire …right? Oh Kate Walsh made that perfume when she broke up with her boyfriend. LOL.

  8. […] take much for me to get excited about a new Amouage release but Lucas (Chemist in the Bottle) did his part and so did Sheila (The Alembicated Genie). So of course now I want to try Beloved […]

Leave a Reply

