Review on the go – Dior Homme Cologne 2013

Today after doing some shopping I stopped by a nearby Sephora. They had this new perfume, Dior Homme Cologne 2013. I gave it a discreet spritz and asked SA for a sample to take home.

Dior Homme Cologne 2013 is a completely new fragrance and has nothing to do with Dior Homme Cologne from 2007. Only the name remained the same. It was created by Dior perfumer Francois Demachy and is announced ad simple, natural and sophisticated modern cologne. That’s it.

Notes featured in Dior Homme Cologne 2013 are bergamot, grapefruit blossom and musk. Nothing else. At first spray it brings the brisk calabrian bergamot note that is loaded with high amounts of citric acid. The smell is really pungent and acidic. Grapefruit blossom is slightly bitter-sweet with nicely pronounced floral vibe. Actually its reminiscent of linden blossom. Musk, the base of Dior Homme Cologne 2013 is clean and pure with no surprises. Time to moan!

My first thought after trying this new Dior perfume was – it smells of fresh lining or a laundry drying in the open air. It’s so simple, sheer and so without character that I told my excitement to go to sleep. This perfume is boring! When I read first press releases for it I was excited, I wanted it to be a lovely summer cologne. Yes, it’s a summer cologne but it’s not very lovely. It’s dull.

This thing has no sillage, no longevity. After 20 minutes I smell completely nothing. Not a trace of the scent. What is that supposed to be? It’s available in two bottle sizes: 75 and 125 mls. It has Dior Homme design but with white and blue details. White funnel in the juice makes it look a bit cheap.

Tagged ,

38 thoughts on “Review on the go – Dior Homme Cologne 2013

  1. R says:

    maybe you’re too spoiled by the niche offerings lately to go back to designer’s, lucasi!

    • lucasai says:

      I don’t think that’s the real matter. There are fragrances both at designer and niche that I like and that I dislike.

      This fragrance is a disappointment with it’s longevity and minimalism

  2. Oh man. Disappointing launches are very depressing.

  3. Hmmh. How sad.
    I’m finding that cologne’s really are my thing at the moment – I’m rediscovering some of the classics – Roger & Gallet’s innumerable variations are at best excellent and nearly all interesting, and of course the Guerlain (well if only one had the resources) – and getting a feel for some of the new additions – the Mugler is new to me, though not to everyone else!!
    Perhaps it’s the coming of spring, but I’m in the mood for lightness – particularly in the evening.
    Strangely, I feel that some of the ‘nouveau chypre’ offerings feel almost like a cologne to me… Chloe L’Eau yet again seems to fit this bill.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • lucasai says:

      Are you going to try Dior Homme Cologne 2013? Do try it. Maybe you’ll like it. I think my mini review of it was influenced by the fact that I know exactly what kind of citrus fragrance I’m looking and I can’t find it for more than 2 years.

      • Oh I do know how frustrating that can be – I was looking for the antique medicinal rose in Pehaligon’s Hammam Bouquet for years before I found it!!
        This is everywhere in department stores as we speak so I will definitely give it walk in the park.
        Yours ever
        The Perfumed Dandy

  4. Kafkaesque says:

    I don’t know why, but I’m not hugely surprised. I think Demachy saved much of the excitement for his Privée line collection and left the rest to a more commercial, mass-market taste.

    What did you mean about white fennel in the juice? Is fennel an ingredient?

    And 20 minutes for a perfume’s duration?!!! Egads, you’re entering into my territory there. I don’t think I’ve ever read of a perfume lasting 20 minutes on you!

    • lucasai says:

      You might be right that he cares more for Privee line. It smells nice in overall but it’s definitely too short lived.

      I made a misspelling, I meant “funnel”, this white tube that goes almost to the bottom of the bottle inside.

      Yes, 20 minutes and if you take a deep whiff you can notice some light smell. It’s very light scent

  5. Undina says:

    Since I barely notice feminine mainstream offerings nowadays and I wouldn’t have known about this masculine one if it weren’t for your review, I’m not disappointed myself but I sympathise with your disappointment.

    • lucasai says:

      I almost don’t notice the masculine mainstream releases either – they often just sound not appealing to me or sound like a copy of something that was already launched

  6. dkchocoman says:

    I willl pass on this travestry of a fragrance. I’d rather save my money and get something more exciting, than waste it on mediocre crap like this. Don’t they know, if we wanted simplistic scents that last more than 20 minutes, we can go to Bath& Body Works and get all we want for substantially less money?

  7. hajusuuri says:

    This sounds rather unpleasant!

  8. laniersmith says:

    Even the bottle looks ho hum…and dull. For me the drying laundry smell is really boring. The only time I like it is on a laundry line. Oh well.

  9. TF says:

    That is disappointing! I must admit I think Dior Homme is also boring but really like Dior Homme Sport, which is strange since I usually hate sport fragrances! (but Dior Homme Sport is a nice ginger cologne)

  10. lorraine says:

    Hadn’t even heard about this one. Sounds like a yawn. I’m dying to hear about your birthday perfume!

  11. frank2014 says:

    Somehow you’re right. But on me i lasted… i could smell it all day. It didn’t change and I think it’s nice in line with the other homme perfumes.

    • lucasai says:

      I guess it’s a matter of skin chemistry. Many citrus notes don’t last on me as long as I wished them to last. But citrus combined with other ingredients work better for me. Good that you like it and it lasts on you 🙂 It’s a good perfume in general.

Leave a Reply

