महिला और रोज, Neela Vermeire Creations Mohur

Mohur is a second fragrance in India trio from Neela Vermeire Creations. The perfume launched in 2012 along with other two. Nose behind the scent is Bernard Duchaufour. Mohur is a rose-based fragrance. In my opinion rose and oud is one of the best marriages in perfumery. Numerous perfume feature this combo and so does Mohur. Does it mean it smells like other rose & oud creations?

The opening of Mohur is built of a wonderful rose accord. It has an opulent and velvety character but at the same time it’s very vivid, fresh and airy. Like a combination of red roses and rose water. At NVC website turkish rose oil and Maroccan rose absolute are listed for Mohur. Soon after rose comes a leather note. It’s very well crafted here – it provides a balmy background that reveals the best things rose has to offer. Leather make rose darker, more seductive and mysterious. Resins of oud and elemi are perfectly blended with leather and rose. Their rich aroma make Mohur intoxicating and addictive.

After some time rose becomes dimmed and the fragrance shows few aromatic notes. Among them are almonds that are sweetened by vanilla. Coriander, pepper and cardamom make Mohur very warm and cozy with the spiciness they bring together. Ambrette, patchouli and sandalwood make the fragrance smooth, mellow with a creamy element to it. Mohur also has a delicate powdery vibe. It’s very light and to me it’s a really good way for a perfume to smell. It might come from violets, amber and iris. Other notes I didn’t notice feature carrot seeds, tonka bean, jasmine and benzoin.

Mohur is much of a feminine blend and it represents a women who is self confident, strong and is not afraid to face any problems she might encounter. She might look innocent and weak on the outside but she’s powerful and she has a dark side that nobody knows of. Mohur’s rose is beautiful and very real and when I first tried it I thought I smell some very light tea infusion.

It’s true that there are many oud roses in the market at the moment. To me all those fragrances might share a similar manner but in fact each of them smells quite different. Mohur is no exception. It’s another excellent rose with oud and it’s different than other scents that contain these two notes. Mohur is like a chameleon, it hides a strong soul underneath its delicate skin. Neela Vermeire Creations Mohur is available in 3 pieces sample set, 3 x 10 ml travel set and in bottles of 55 mls. If, like me, you’re a fan of perfume that combine rose and oud then Mohur is a position that you really need to try.

note: sample provided by Neela Vermeire Creations. Title is “woman and rose” written in Hindi.

Tagged , ,

28 thoughts on “महिला और रोज, Neela Vermeire Creations Mohur

  1. hajusuuri says:

    Hi Lucas, I don’t have your email handy in my android address book but wanted toblet you know that there is something wrong with the title of this post – I am seeing a bunch of squares and not text. Please feel free to delete this comment. I will leave a proper one later.

    • lucasai says:

      Is it all title in those squares or only a part before “Neela Vermeire Creations Mohur” if it’s only the first part before the fragrance name then it’s probably that your android doesn’t operate Hindi. The first part of the title is written in Hindi

      • hajusuuri says:

        Oh good, it shows as Hindi from home! I have to play around with the Android to make it recognize Hindi.

        I have not yet tried Mohur, perhaps tomorrow. I have heard so many great things about Mohur that I am breaking my rule of never testing a perfume for the first time on a work day. If it doesn’t work out, I can yell at the Internets until I turn blue.

        • lucasai says:

          See! It’s magic 😉 I thought a title in Hindi would go well with Mohur. You seriously need to try it. I’m curious to hear if you love it like everyone arounds seems to feel about it.

          • hajusuuri says:

            I tried it today and while very nice, I did not get that awesome I must own an FB feeling like I did Trayee. I’ll give it a few more tries but I want to experience Bombay Bling next. A strange thing for me today was I kept smelling something wonderfull and I bet it was Mohur on me!

            • Kafkaesque says:

              I’ve frequently read people saying that Mohur sneaks up on you with its beauty, that it’s not an instantaneously obvious scent that you immediately react to, the way that one does with Trayee or Bombay Bling. It does seem to be a more subtle, restrained thing from what I’ve read (I haven’t personally tested my sample yet), but when its beauty finally hits you, it definitely hits you. That seems to be the general thought, in any event. So, I wouldn’t be surprised if the same thing happened to you, Hajusuuri. 🙂

            • lucasai says:

              Well said Kafka

            • hajusuuri says:

              A ha! I probably need to give it one more spritz (I used 3 today) and see if it makes a difference.

            • lucasai says:

              Hope to hear your reaction soon!

            • lucasai says:

              I see, I see. Bombay Bling is a happy mango scent :). So Mohur wasn’t that bad afterall if you thought it smelled nice on you during the day

  2. Dearest Chemist
    I am very much like you in sharing a passion for the rose and oud accord – and also have (as far as perfume is concerned) something of a leather fetish.
    This is therefore another temptation you have lain before me you fiend!!
    I jest. Thank you as always for the very perceptive analysis.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

  3. You have reviewed my favourite of the NVC set. I just love it and feel like an Empress when I wear it.
    Portia xx

  4. mridula says:

    I love this scent. It tickles my nose but I brave on because it is so worth it. I enjoyed your note by not break down of the journey.

    A typo at the end (in case you care): “position” should be “poison,” no?

    • lucasai says:

      Mohur is just lovely. So many people who tried it say it’s worh every penny of the price.
      I’m happy you enjoyed my review.
      I used the right word there. By “position” I meant item there.

  5. I love all three. Mohur is just regal and made me sit up straighter when I tried it. Great review, Lucas!

  6. Kafkaesque says:

    A very romantic, lovely review, Lucas. I can’t wait to try this one! 🙂

  7. […] Mohur Chemist In The Bottle review by Lucas Australian Perfume Junkies review by Portia Turbo All I Am – A Redhead review by […]

  8. […] smoother, and unforgettable. For more comprehensible reviews of Mohur, please visit Kafkaesque or Chemist In A Bottle. As for me, this rich, intoxicating, creamy, spicy, dark but transcendent rose may be the closest […]

Leave a Reply

