Bursting joy, Laboratorio Olfattivo Noblige

Laboratorio Olfattivo is a niche perfume brand from Rome, Italy. So far they released 9 fragrances, the earliest was introduced in 2010 while the newest come from 2012. Perfumers collaborating with Laboratorio Olfattivo are Enrico Buccella, Marie Duchene, Pierre Guillaume and Rosine Courage. Noblige is one of last year’s releases. Its name means noblesse oblige.

Noblige is a fragrance that combines citrus, lavender, iris and musk in the most beautiful way possible. Noblige begins with a bursting citric notes of lemon and bergamot. The smell is juicy, intensively and pleasantly citric. A sparkling feeling that it brings is so energetic and happy that it almost makes me want to start jumping around the room. It’s a morning dose of optimism, a citrus shower, kiss from a sun. Citrus notes stand alone for like 20 minutes and then lavender appears.

Here I should make it straight that lavandin comes second adding a hint of herbaceous, herbal aromas. Then, after another few minutes an actual lavender appears, with its green and floral smell. The smell is very natural, peaceful, like a walk through lavender fields on a sunny day with a glass of lemonade in your hand. After a while Noblige goes from bursting joy to comforting pleasure. Combination of velvety iris and sheer neroli resulted in a smell that is both intriguing and well-balanced. Neither of these two notes is clearly noticeable, they just co-exist in harmony.

When Noblige dries down one can find an ultimate cosiness element in it. Ambretta seeds make it for warm, sensual and delicate perfume while vanilla that appears shortly after is sprinkled over it to add a very gentle touch of sweetness. An embracing aura is created by iris wood accompanied by tonka bean which gives it more depth and adds really light spiciness to it. In the end everything settles on a musky base that is creamy, voluptuous. Beautiful ending for a beautiful perfume.

I wouldn’t stand a chance to sample Laboratorio Olfattivo Noblige if it wasn’t for Perfume Posse Swapmania. Seriously, swapping is like best method of smelling perfume that are hard to try where you live. My final thoughts on Noblige are that it’s a great quality perfume that is well blended, sophisticated and definitely not boring. Bursting citric tones make it a wonderful choice for upcoming spring while at the same time those warm notes will do the trick when it’s a little bit colder. I’m seriously considering a bottle purchase since I’m longing a nice citrus perfume and this one is great.

Noblige was developed for Laboratorio Olfattivo by perfumer Marie Duchene and is available in a simple and elegant 100 ml bottle. It’s eau de parfum concentrated. Noblige has sillage of moderate power and nice longevity.

Tagged , ,

28 thoughts on “Bursting joy, Laboratorio Olfattivo Noblige

  1. Jordan River says:

    Feeling pleasantly obliged to try this. Time to discover iris in this noble environment.

  2. jilliecat says:

    Thanks for a beautifully written review of a beautiful fragrance.
    x

  3. Bertt says:

    Hi Lucasai, thanks for the nice review. Is this fragrance somewhat or not like the one you reviewed recently: Amouage Beloved Man? Yesterday I sampled that one in Brussels and I liked it a lot but the enormous problem to that one is indeed, as you mentioned in your review, the staying ‘power’: on my skin, that perfum was after 3 hours not noticeable anymore…
    So, should Noblige be in the same range of nice scents, and should it be more lasting, this one could be one for me.

    Just adding that I was able to discover this week Absolue pour le Soir from Maison Francis Kurkdjian, which I’m not yet sure if I like it or not. I was lucky to get a sample from the SA, so I can retry until I can make up my mind…

    Best regards

    • lucasai says:

      They smell very different and don’t have much in common. Amouage is restrained while Noblige is more like “showing the emotions” and Noblige surprisingly lasts longer than Beloved Man.

  4. lorraine says:

    I’m in the mood for a good zesty citrus these days too so I’ll put this on my list to try. I was thinking Bigarade Concentree but I like the sound of how this develops a bit more…

  5. laniersmith says:

    Oh a new Italian perfume house to explore. How exciting. I am going to keep an eye out for this new import from Rome. Great review!

  6. Dear Lucas

    This sounds like a perfectly delicious summer scent – if only the summer were here in which to wear it!

    Thank you as always for your precise and elegant review.

    Yours ever

    The Perfumed Dandy

  7. hajusuuri says:

    This sounds absolutely try worthy, Lucas! It is still not available at STC and I will need to watch out for it. I can’t wait to try it!

  8. shellyw says:

    I have not this line near by yet, I will look in SF next weekend. I almost sensed joy(?) in your writing. It is great to find something so lovely.

  9. Kafkaesque says:

    Noblige seems to have your name written all over it, Lucas! “Harmonious” and “Iris” are definitely things that I associate with your perfume profile. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for sharing your clear love for the scent, as well as for introducing us to a perfume house that I and some others may not have otherwise known about. xoxox

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, It’s very my style. When I take more things into consideration it seems like Italian perfume style is “my thing”- all the Prada scents, Noblige, it’s all Italian!

      Glad I could show you a perfume house you haven’t heard of.

      • Kafkaesque says:

        You know, that’s a very interesting observation about the Italian style. I hadn’t thought about it before but I suppose that, in general, there is a definite Italian signature style to fashion (Donatella Versace excepted) and that the perfumes follow course. I don’t think French clothing fashions or perfumery are quite as uniformly consistent. Hmm, interesting line of thought that I shall have to ponder and pursue further. But, yes, it does seem you’re primarily Italian in your perfume soul! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • lucasai says:

          Isn’t it? I’m sure not every Intalian perfume will speak to me (I don’t like Versace things) but there are certainly some. I need to sample Farmasia SS. Annunziata 450 to see another Italian iris for me

  10. Natalie says:

    I had not heard of this brand, so thanks for sharing the review. It sounds nice, and I do like that bottle. It’s somewhat reminiscent of the Byredo bottles, isn’t it?

    • lucasai says:

      I’m happy to hear you thing the scent sounds interesting. Agree, the bottle looks a little bit Byredo like, although I think Byredo are harder to grab in one hand.

  11. beatrice says:

    …poesia e musica…in un profumo!

Leave a Reply

