Scattered light, Tauer No. 14 Noontide Petals

This April Tauer Perfumes fronted by perfumer Andy Tauer will launch a new perfume which is represented in the line-up by No. 14. It’s named Noontide Petals and is a first new scent from mr Tauer in a couple of years. I feel lucky and honored that Andy offered me to sample Noontide Petals before it will be officially available on-site. No. 14 is accompanied by art deco illustration, see it here.

In the opening Noontide Petals carries a bright smell of tart and exhilarating bergamot. It’s really juicy – bitter tones swirl with slightly sour and sweet flavors like in some kind of an unknown dance. This citric vortex is totally uplifting and positively crazy. Just surrender to this feeling and you’ll be in a happy spin, smiling and laughing. Within next few minutes sparkling and fizzy aldehydes enter the scene and that’s when the real fun with Noontide Petals begins! Not a chance these aldehydes are wimpy, it’s the very opposite. The aldehydic vibe is prominent and full-bodied. It vibrates, oscillates – one moment it gears towards clean, the other time it becomes more fatty and saturated. Aldehydes take over the scent for more than half an hour making Noontide Petals smell luxurious and playful. Then a little bit of bourbon geranium tones the opening down.

When aldehydes calm down some other notes come forth to play and please your nose. Heart notes of Noontide Petals are vivid ones. Jasmine flowers diffuse an elegant and chic aroma that is topped with a creamy cloud of ylang-ylang. Thanks to ylang the smell is almost desserty and kind if jammy, think of jasmine jam. One of the heart notes is a rose. It’s very subtle and restrained, bringing just a delicate rosy blush to Noontide Petals. Tuberose is practically invisible here (at least to my nose).

After few hours Noontide Petals reaches it’s beautiful and mellow base. Light vanillic smell introduces cosy and safe feeling while iris embraces you with its soft petals. Styrax brings more balmy and resinous character slightly touching a border where light gourmands live peacefuly. 6 hours from the moment of applying Noontide Petals is still noticeable and most hidden notes become available. It’s not about transparent patchouli, not about frankincense or vetiver. It’s about sandalwood, almost-not-woody, rather creamy, polished to the highest shine.

While creating Noontide Petals Andy Tauer had an idea in his head. He wanted to create a perfume that would make people think about light, about luminosity. And that’s exactly what Noontide Petals is. When I smell it I picture rays of light going in different directions, reflecting from mirrors and nearby objects, finally being so diffused that the light is scattered all over the room. Just look at the illustration I linked in first paragraph – beams of light shining up and down, that’s what it shows.

Andy Tauer No. 14 Noontide Petals has an excellent sillage and its longevity is beyond gorgeous. I could easily notice the scent on my skin even after 10 hours of wearing it. Sure it became weaker with time but I didn’t have to sniff my wrist like crazy to detect it. Just a light waft near it allowed me to inhale its molecules. This fragrance will be available as eau de toilette in bottles containing 50 mls of this precious juice. You know that I’m more of an aldehyde fan and much less of a jasmine fan but I’ll tell you something straight. This stuff is simply awesome. You should try it! No! You must try it, it’s beyond amazing! You’ll be shocked how good Noontide Petals is. Good job mr Tauer! Chemist in the Bottle approves with 6 platinum stars.

Noontide Petals contains 30% of natural extracts in the total fragrance. Geranium, bergamot, ylang, rose, jasmine, tuberose, patchouli, styrax, frankincense and sandalwood give total 10 of natural essences, each of them is present in concentrations above 1%. I believe you’re gonna love it!

note: sample thanks to Andy Tauer, all photos are my own.

Tagged , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Scattered light, Tauer No. 14 Noontide Petals

  1. Jordan River says:

    Light On Lucas. This one is beaming.

  2. shellyw says:

    Any citrus that has staying power is truly one to try.

  3. ringthing says:

    Thanks for the review! Looking forward to trying this; the Art Deco illustration is especially gorgeous.

  4. susan says:

    The opening citrus was one of the most interesting aspects to me, I think the bright citrus plus heavy aldehydes dosage is something that I’m not used to smelling and it was really fascinating. I think ultimately my favorite part of this one, though, was the cozy drydown.

  5. lorraine says:

    Your background is such an asset when you write reviews. Very well described! Can’t wait to try it.

  6. Kafkaesque says:

    Nice review. 🙂 It’s clearly a scent that stole your heart. I’m afraid I don’t share your love for aldehydes and their soapy aspect (*shiver*), so this one will be a pass for me unless it just falls into my lap. But I’m sure it will be a huge hit with many; the perfume seems to have gotten much love already from those few who have tried it. 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! It’s not that I’m a lover of aldehydes, but I seem to enjoy them quite a lot 🙂 I know you hate soapy 😛
      Hope that a sample will fall on your lap so that you can try it anyway.

  7. Wow…great review. Not sure it’s for me, but you paint such a pretty picture!

  8. hajusuuri says:

    Hello sweetie – this sounds so lovely it may be my next lucas-lemming – see I just coined a word for all the world to see. In my perhaps new disciplined self (ok, it will probably last all of 1 week), I will TRY a sample when it becomes available in the U.S – I hope LuckyScent carries it / includes it in their Spring or Summer sample-pack.

    • lucasai says:

      Andy should have it available on site soon so you can eventually but from him (Tauer services the USA)
      Lucas-lemming is a funny word, but Luming is even better, haha!
      Hope you can try it, I’ll be curious to know what you think.

  9. Lyubov says:

    What a shining review! Sounds like my kind of petals… Especially if the jasmine is really that emphasized on my skin and the tuberose is really that inhibited like you mention!

  10. Undina says:

    I’m scared by the recent Tauer’s pentacords so I’m wary about this one. But of course I’ll try it: I respect Andy Tauer’s creations andI liked your passion.

  11. fqjcior says:

    It seems Andy did it again. He is a real wizard. I adore and love his olfactive work very much. Can’t wait to try Nootide Petals. BTW – have you bought a sample on his website? Does he send to Poland again? I know there have been some troubles with that recently….

    • lucasai says:

      Andy is a real artist who cares about the smallest details while creating a perfume. You definitely need to try it.
      I got a sample from Andy as a present, he sent it privately so there was no problem but I think there are still shipping issues for his brand in general.
      Maybe Noontide Petals will be available in Galilu soon, thy carry Tauer Perfumes in Poland

  12. reneetamara says:

    just reading about this makes me lighthearted. I will have to try it!

  13. […] OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT NOONTIDE PETALS: I Scent You a Day, Chemist in a Bottle, I Smell Therefore I […]

  14. […] breathe in the air of the Moroccan Desert or go dancing on an Orange Star. The world famous Noon Tide Petals is also an […]

Leave a Reply

