Pretty in pastel pink, Prada Candy L’Eau

It happened! This month Prada, my beloved house of Italian style and timeless elegance launched a new perfume named Prada Candy L’Eau, which is a flanker to Prada Candy from 2011. Like its predecessor Prada Candy L’Eau was also created by Daniela Roche-Andrier, a Givaudan perfumer who is responsible for creating every single fragrance under a Prada label so far. Doing a flanker might not be the best move as we’re all tired of brands that are “flankering around” but it’s a good thing that perfumer remained the same – how I don’t like when flankers are done by someone else. I’m not a flanker fan at all…

Prada Candy L’Eau is supposed to be a lighter, more playful and seductive interpretation of Prada Candy. Perfume advertising campaign is fronted by French actress Léa Seydoux. She was the face for Prada Candy as well. So, moving on to the scent lets see how this candy tastes smells.

The opening is really juicy. The citrus accord is nice and sparkling though very light and it quickly subsides. This phase should really last longer before other notes take over. Then we get some light floral, kind of watery tones of sweet pea. The smell is quite girly and flirty at the same time. What I get is polite velvet petals without any specified feeling, it triggers no emotions so far. When benzoin takes over, Prada Candy L’Eau smells almost exactly like the first Prada Candy perfume.

The difference I notice is that this flanker is more creamy and pale. Where concoction of benzoin and caramel smelled like rich, sweet and sticky toffee in Candy, in Candy L’Eau the sweetness is less prominent and more powdered like it was a powder candy flavoured with caramel. The staying power is very good and sillage is similar to Prada Candy. Few hours later Candy L’Eau left a feeling of hot honeyed milk on my skin.

I liked this honey and milk combination. I guess the milky note comes from white musk. Anyway this smell reminded me of my childhood days when my mum used to prepare me a glass of hot milk with honey to make me calm when I was having nightmares. And this kind of makes me feel that Prada Candy L’Eau might be worth considering as a nice go-to-sleep perfume. It’s so calm and cosy.

Do I like the flanker of Prada Candy L’Eau? I do, kind of. Do I find it necessary for me? No, I don’t. What am I gonna do now? Let’s move on to another perfume, shall we? There’s one Prada Candy at my house (it belongs to my mum) and it will stay that way. It is available as eau de toilette in the bottle as for Candy, though colors are changed for pastel pink. 50 and 80 mls, 30 mls probably too.

Tagged , ,

20 thoughts on “Pretty in pastel pink, Prada Candy L’Eau

  1. Kafkaesque says:

    It sounds far too sweet for my personal tastes but I liked your review because you really conveyed the essence of the scent. Most of all, I appreciated your candour and honesty about the scent, since I do know how much you love Prada as a whole. 🙂 Nice job, Lucas!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, it would be too sweet for you I guess. Even I found it as slight sugar overdose. I tried to write a well concentrated review for this one and I think it’s fine, shorter than my usual.
      Glad you liked the review though the perfume is probably not for you. My Pradaholic mission is complete, now I wait for Prada Infusion d’Iris l’Eau d’Iris,

  2. poodle says:

    I haven’t tried this one but I do have Prada Candy. This seems like it would be too light for me. Lately I find Candy to be too light and not quite right on me. It just isn’t smelling as good as it used to.

    • lucasai says:

      Candy L’Eau was just released. I went to Douglas the other day and was really surprised they had it already, so I had to give it a sniff.
      My mum also has Candy and it smells fabulous on her. I gave her the L’Eau flanker to try and as much as she said she likes it she still prefers the first Candy perfume.

      Sorry Candy is no longer working for you!

  3. TF says:

    I thought it was way to similar to the original Candy, except for the fact that the lasting power was one fourth of the original on me! Why would I pay for a perfume that is just a diluted version of something I already have? Although I don’t put much faith in flankers, I was actually disappointed this time since I thought they would make a great scent with all the effort they put into the Wes Anderson mini-films to promote it.

    • lucasai says:

      Well, it’s very close to the original Candy. Maybe not exactly a diluted version of it but very similar. Your reasoning is the same as my mum’s – why bother having Candy L’Eau if you already have Candy.
      The mini-films were great in my opinion, maybe they’re supposed to draw your attention to them istead of the perfume?

      • TF says:

        I loved the minifilms too, I think that’s why I was expecting so much! Have you seen Moonrise Kingdom? It is another really good Wes Anderson film. (now I want to watch all his other movies!)

  4. I really like Prada Candy. I only wish that it had more staying power on my skin. If I had a full bottle, I would just drain the bottle lickety split to keep getting a fix of that delicious opening! So I am looking forward to seeing how this compares, but if it has even less staying power? Then a bottle probably won’t be in my future.

    • lucasai says:

      Some people have issues with its longevity I know, luckily my mum is not one of them 😉
      Candy L’Eau is definitely lighter so if you have issues with Candy then it probably won’t be better with Candy L’Eau.

  5. hajusuuri says:

    I love Prada Candy…if this is just a lighter version, I think it would be perfect for spring/summer. Must investigate! Nice review, as always. Now there really should be a Prada Candy Pour Homme…perhaps reduce the benzoin and add tobacco and coffee?

  6. Undina says:

    I like these colors better: this bottle – though still featuring that strange sprayer that everybody mistakenly considers a cap first and tries to take off – looks more like something that a grown-up woman might want to put on her dresser.

    I thought Prada Candy was a nice perfume (I can’t believe it was release two years ago! 🙂 ) but I disagreed with the bottle, the color scheme and the name.

    • lucasai says:

      The colors are nice, they look good when you take the bottle in your hand. Yes, the sprayer is tricky here.
      Time flies so fast, I couldn’t believe it’s been over two years since then.

Leave a Reply

