Under the Parisian sky where violets grow, Atelier Cologne Sous le Toit de Paris

In late 2012 Sylvie Ganter and Christopher Cervasel of Atelier Cologne worked on a special fragrance project. They were asked to create a special edition perfume to commemorate one hundreth anniversary of Galleries Lafayette, a Paris department store. In result a new cologne absolue was born. Its name – Sous le toit de Paris which is a French phrase meaning under the sky of Paris. Atelier Cologne Sous le toit de Paris is made with essences of neroli, bergamot, bigarade, violet leaves, geranium, vetiver, tonka bean, white leather and musk. Despite it being a limited edition it’s available in wider distribution and at Atelier Cologne website. I got my sample thanks to Daisy, thank you Daisy.

In the opening Sous le Toit de Paris is a crispy and green scent. Right from the start one can feel a refreshing aroma of crushed violet leaves which just a minute later mixes with a tart bergamot aroma. The smell is bright and happy. Within next ten minutes the scent of green foliage subsides. Then bitter orange and neroli become easier to notice but their aromatic impressions don’t last long.

At the moment Sous le Toit de Paris turns from lively green to bright red with a smell of geranium. It’s quite mouth watering as for a flower and it brings crisp, refreshing sensation to the scent. Geranium is warm, like a flower pot standing on the tarrace on a sunny day which effuses its unique aroma. It has also a hint of spices here. They play well with green notes and balance the perfume.

While geranium turns more and more quiet a leathery chord grows stronger and stronger. It is perfectly noticeable but its smell never crosses the boundaries of heavy leather compositions. Instead it’s a light blond leather. Warm, thin and delicate like a pair of leather gloves created by a pair of skillful hands. While leather is in I can still smell both geranium and violet foliage. Separately they smell different but together they recreate the scent of violets, flowers. Simply gorgeous.

Many hours later the drydown smells kind of dewy and ozonic. They probably come from geranium, violet leaf and partially from leather, all placed on a musky base. Atelier Cologne Sous le Toit de Paris is a really long-lasting scent. On my skin I got more than 8 hours of longevity. It has a decent sillage as well. It’s a well done perfume, Atelier Cologne doesn’t disappoint me this far.

This cologne absolue has 15% of fragrance composition. Available in 30 and 200 ml and a candle.

Tagged , ,

24 thoughts on “Under the Parisian sky where violets grow, Atelier Cologne Sous le Toit de Paris

  1. Jordan River says:

    So this cologne is not a cologne but an EDT? Tell me more please like what does ‘cologne absolute’ mean or is this just the marketing that is confusing me. Thank you in advance Mr Chemist in the Bottle.

  2. ringthing says:

    Thank you for the evocative description, Lucasai. I can see and almost smell that terrace. Sounds lovely.

  3. lorraine says:

    Not too long ago, I was looking for a review/description of this scent to help me decide whether to order a small decant. This would have helped me great deal! Well done.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh? Glad I could help! I don’t know why Sous le toit de Paris doesn’t have much reviews on the internet. I was really happy that it won in the poll voting.

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Hooray for your lovely review of Atelier Cologne Sous le toit de Paris! I love this fragrance and in honor of your review, it will be my SOTD! I hope they come out with a soap soon.

    • lucasai says:

      Hooray! I finally posted the review of the latest poll winner right? I’m happy you like it. So we’ll be scent twins today, I put it on in the morning. I guess they will do the soap too.

  5. Natalie says:

    Very timely review. πŸ™‚

  6. lilybelle says:

    Sounds nice, Lucas. πŸ™‚

  7. You’re welcome, dearest Lucas! I loved reading your perfect, spot-on review! It does get leathery, and that is my favorite part. So pleased that you liked it as much as I do!

    (strangely, there was this crazy little line of scented toys for girls in the Us called Charmkins and Sous le toit de Paris reminds me of the violet-scented one . . . but that is a good thing!)

  8. brie says:

    Ha! ha! I got a sample from a bacon eating fragrant fairy as well! And I must have been hungry when sampling this one for what came to mind were the Chowards Violet candies…great review Lucasai!

  9. Undina says:

    I also liked this perfume a lot. Nice review πŸ™‚ I’m glad we found one more “like” in common.

  10. Dear Lucas
    This scent sounds absolutely splendid, and especially suited to my tastes.
    I am off this afternoon to see if I can bag a sample before our skies in London turn grey.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

Leave a Reply

