Long May Weekend poll – open thread

It’s 1st of May so it means its a Labour Day in Poland! Just two days later on May 3 we have our big celebration of Independence Day. This year those two Polish celebrations happen to take place on Wednesday and Friday. Universities decided to make the day between (A Polish Flag Day, May 2) a free one so I’m just starting this special five days long May weekend. Originaly I wanted to spend those few days in London but unfortunately things didn’t work out. But no worries – I will definitely get there one day! Sooner or later but I will.

I might go and visit Warsaw for a day or two, if not, I will spend my time cycling a lot if the weather is fine. I’ll be sure to use this time to relax and enjoy myself without having any concerns. Right?

As a part of an open thread feel free to share a perfume you’re wearing today, a perfume you can’t decide if you want to buy or not. Or maybe there’s a fragrance you’d like to try but you just can’t find or don’t want to buy a sample? Share anything you’d like, really!

Hope everyone will find something to talk about. My next review will be up in a few days.

Tagged , , ,

66 thoughts on “Long May Weekend poll – open thread

  1. Oh what a pity about your plans to visit London! You’ve got to let me know when you’re coming, we could organise a bloggers meetup and take you on a fragrant tour!

  2. brie says:

    Today I will be wearing Jour Ensoleille…life is a bit stressed now and I need a pick me up! As soon as Laurie releases it a full bottle of Spiced Citrus Vetiver will be a belated birthday present to myself…as well as a decant of a limited edition of Jo Malone and other goodies from one of my fragrant fairies :D!! I also want to try all from the Arquiste line (the Fragrant Man whetted my appetite) and I think I will be able to do that when I visit Daisy in the Big Apple at the end of June. The only house that I can’t get a hold of is Olfactive Studios…they used to sell and ship samples to the US for under $10 but have ceased doing so. And Slumberhouse (after Kafka’s review on Pear and Olive) want to try those as well…ah, Lucas…too little time and too little skin to sample so many lovelies!

    Enjoy your day off!!!

    • lucasai says:

      You smell great, maybe I will wear Jour Ensoleille tomorrow? Hope everything will de-stress soon! Spiced Citrus Vetiver sounds like a great birthday gift to yourself. By the limited edition Jo Malone you mean one of the Sugar & Spice collection? Which one did you like? I haven’t tried any of them, we don’t have Jo Malone in Poland.
      I will get a sample of Pear & Olive soon ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have fun visiting Daisy later this year

      • brie says:

        yes..the sugar and spice collection! I haven’t tried it but the sender and I have similar tastes so if she likes it I know I will…I am getting the Gooseberry one in a decant….Let us (Daisy and I) know if you want anything to come your way after my NYC trip….I am hoping there will be generous SAs in all the perfume stores we visit!

    • poodle says:

      Brie, I think Luckyscent just started selling Olfactive Studios scents.

      • lucasai says:

        That would be great for her to sample the line. But I have to admit I’m rather unimpressed with their offering, but it’s just my opinion.

        • brie says:

          Really? Ok then maybe I won’t pursue…..

          • lucasai says:

            I’m having a longevity issues with them all. The first four were weak and disappearing after 2-3 hours. The new Flash Back (will review soon) lasted longer, for 5 hours, which is still short for me.

            • brie says:

              Not good…my skin is so dry it eats perfume…Laurie’s are one of the few that last for hours and hours on me (perhaps because they are parfum concentrate?). Olfactive Studio fragrances are too expensive to only last 2-5 hours…I would be spraying myself all day long and finishing a bottle within a week :D!

            • lucasai says:

              Olfactive Studio scents are not cheap indeed. I know a couple of people more who didn’t get good longevity from them but then there’s a whole bunch who don’t experience this issue.
              I don’t like re-applying over a day course.

      • brie says:

        Thanks Poodle! But the Olfactive house had the ENTIRE collection and it was under $10 which included shipping and handling…now that I am writing perfume posts I might just contact the company directly and see if I can get the deal they once offered.

    • rosarita says:

      Brie, because of your enthusiastic comments about Jour Ensoleille I sought out a large decant and I love it! I was also fortunate to receive a sample of Pear and Olive from a fairy godmother and now I want a decant of that, too. It’s so gorgeous. Now I can’t decide what to wear today ๐Ÿ™‚

      • lucasai says:

        Another lover of Jour Ensoleille. Hello Rosarita, nice to meet you! Ah, I’m waiting for my sample of Pear & Olive too. And a new fairy godmother post will start at the Posse soon, now what should I ask for?

        • rosarita says:

          I would ask for Jour Ensoleille. And Lucas, I have two user names in the perfume blogosphere; I’m rosarita on the Posse and some other places, and I’m also ringthing on NST and some other blogs. Ringthing is my non perfume related username, but as blogs started to group up with word press, etc, there was overlap. So I’m glad to meet you too ๐Ÿ™‚

      • brie says:

        Yay, Rosarita! Isn’t it gorgeous? I am so glad you like it! I am intrigued by Pear and Olive as well….more samples to add to the list!!!!

  3. poodle says:

    No day off for me. I’m jealous that you get 5! I’d rather stay home and do something more constructive with my time today like painting or yard work. I’m trying to resist the urge to buy anything right now but I’m getting weak and I may not be able to resist much longer. I haven’t bought anything in a month. I don’t really need anything either but it’s always fun to get a new bottle of something. I shouldn’t though because I need to have two trees taken down in the yard and tree removal isn’t cheap. I also need to have part of my fence repaired so I really should put off perfume purchases for now.

  4. jilliecat says:

    Happy May Day Lucas and Everyone!

    Because it’s Premier Mai I am, of course, wearing Diorissimo – a mixture of vintage and the last version before the latest reformulation. Diorissimo used to be so green, but the modern version smells so pink! In order to “green” me up a bit more today, I sprayed a lot of Annick Goutal’s Muguet on top of the Dior (it’s a fresher lily of the valley). I am sure other shoppers must have been wondering what I was wearing!

    My Parisienne friend says that there are lots of stalls selling bunches of the dear little flowers in the Paris markets this morning, and she bought an armful for her husband.

    • lucasai says:

      Happy May Day to you too!
      Diorissimo, Mhh… with some layering? IFRA restrictions change a lot. I think I haven’t tried Muguet by Annick Goutal.
      Have a great day

  5. Lilybelle says:

    Happy May 1st, Lucas! And Happy Flag Day and Independence Day to Poland! Enjoy to the max every minute of your five days of freedom. Time enough later when you’re old to work all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m wearing Bulgari Mon Jasmin Noir L’Eau Exquise this morning. I meant to wear Diorissimo but I forgot.

    • lucasai says:

      Happy May 1st Lilybelle!
      Yes, I’m going to enjoy those five days, though today it’s cold and windy so probably no cycling in this kind of weather.
      Have a nice day

  6. ringthing says:

    Lucasai, enjoy your long weekend! No new purchases for me, I’ve been swapping like a mad woman the past couple of months and I’m awash in samples and decants; not enough time or skin to try everything. Nice problem to have ๐Ÿ™‚ My husband and I have a tiny yard and removed a shed over the winter, so at last there is a spot for a small garden which will take up the remainder of our resources for the next month or so. Looking forward to poblano peppers and canning homemade salsa.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! Swapping is a great thing, isn’t it. Maybe I should write a post about the good sides of swaps? Migh be fun!
      Have a good time preparing your garden

      • brie says:

        yes please do! that would be a fun read and I would have much to say as I have sent many a package around the world! (in fact I believe our mutual fragrant fairy is going to put together a nice package for you in a few weeks of some more of her lovelies as well as decants I sent her of things you might want to try…INEKE? Should be fun for you!)

        • lucasai says:

          I will try to get around it. But first I’d like to write a post about organizing perfume samples collections.
          Oh, you shouldn’t have said that, it should remain a surprise. I’m curious what goodies might be in there (don’t tell me!) Ineke? I tried a few but neither of them was a hit for me so far.

          • brie says:

            Really? I did not think you had access to Ineke…have you tried Field Notes from Paris or Evening Edged in Gold (those are my two fb)? Also, have you tried 1000 Flowers Reglisse Noire ? If yes to any I will tell D not to mail them!

            • lucasai says:

              I tried Field Notes from Paris and also Reglisse Noire, you can save these for yourself. Haven’t tried Evening Edged in Gold.
              One of the new niche boutiques that opened in Poland is carrying Ineke, but I some of their samples via other perfume fairies.

  7. Mary K says:

    It’s nice to see that May 3 has a holiday celebration somewhere – it’s my birthday! My SOTD is Bond No 9 I Love New York – Earth Day. It has lots of LOTV (at least, it does on me), so it smells nice and springy. I live in MN and once again, they are forecasting slushy snow over the next 2 days. Winter just does not want to give up where I live!

    Hope you have a nice 5 day week-end off from school, Lucas!

  8. Undina says:

    Five days weekend is great! I’m happy for you, Lucas!

    For a long time I was planning to buy Bvlgari Black but was postponing that since I haven’t tried it in so long that wasn’t sure any more if I still liked it. Yesterday a friend sent me a small decant of it. I sprayed it on… and an hour later a bottle of it was in my shopping cart and I pressed Place my Order ๐Ÿ™‚

    I thought of wearing one of the LOTV-centered perfumes today but since I knew I would be working from home (time for testing!) I wore Diorissimo to work yesterday. Later tonight I still might try the sample of Muguet 2011 and sigh about those beautiful bottles ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lucasai says:

      I love those long weekends, they don’t happen often.
      Oh wow, you act fast! Placing an order after an hour since your decant arrived! Enjoy it.
      Oh, a lot of people wore Diorissimo yesterday

  9. Mary K says:

    Thank you for the birthday greetings! Yes, I am treating myself to a bottle of perfume for my birthday. I’ve ordered Histoire de Parfum 1804 George Sand and it should be arriving tomorrow. I love the pineapple note in that one.

  10. hajusuuri says:

    What a treat for you, dear Lucas! 5 days off! I have to catch up on my blog reading this weekend…it had been quite a busy week and starting next week for the next few weeks – I will be out of town for work 1-2 days a week.

    • lucasai says:

      Yup, but I’m halfway through it! Hope you’ll find time to read your favourite blogs. And I hope you’ll be able to visit others and me, even though you’ll be 2 days out of town each week.

Leave a Reply

