Spotlight? Olfactive Studio Flash Back

The latest addition to the Olfactive Studio perfume line is a Flash Back, a fragrance created by Olivier Cresp of Firmenich. Described as “a memory in motion and in action… tangy and vibrant fragrance”. All Olfactive Studio perfumes are inspired by photos, the one for Flash Back was shot by Laurent Segretier. You can see it below. What do you think about what it pictures?

Right from the start Flash Back is a sharp perfume with really intensive citric notes. On me grapefruit is the first note that shows up. It doesn’t smell juicy, it’s all about the citrus peel with its tart, acidic and sharp smell. It’s almost like pure limonene but a bit more pleasant and aromatic. Shortly a rhubarb note follows the grapefruit. It adds some color to the scent, putting more pressure on aromatic aspect of this fume. It also carries some sourness that melts with the one of grapefruit.

After some time Flash Back became more woody because of the vetiver. It went from intensively citric and sour to dry woody which is a combination that really brings the adstringent association to my mind. You know the feeling in your mouth once you drink a lemon juice or use a mouthwash, right? To me this scent has that kind of quality at this point and I’m really not sure if I like it.

2 hours later I could notice some sweetness of orange, it was used in small dose and was accompanied by the smell of cedar. At some point Olfactive Studio Flash Back gets warmer when musk base and soft amber tones reveal their presence. From this moment the fragrance didn’t change much on my skin. Unfortunately I had once again issues with longevity of this Olfactive Studio offering. None of previous four lasted on me longer than 3 hours. Flash Back gave me a better result, it stayed with me for 5 hours which is still a disappointing result in my opinion.

Flash Back by Olfactive Studio is the 5th creation in the line. It’s an eau de parfum available in 50 ml and 100 ml bottles. It can be also bought in a coffret of all five scents, 4 ml each.

Tagged , ,

27 thoughts on “Spotlight? Olfactive Studio Flash Back

  1. Jordan River says:

    Lucas my keyboard is spelling you in English now.
    Rhubarb, Vetiver; can’t wait! I will report back here on what happens, if anything after 3 hours.
    Agree about longevity (within this house) especially if this is EDP. I am also happy with reapplication but you do not seem to be.
    Frankly I would rather reapply something amazing rather than be completely bored by a long dusty musty drydown.
    How about a molecule post about extenders and what what makes a fragrance last longer?

    • lucasai says:

      Nice to hear that πŸ™‚
      You’re excited! I hope you will like it and that it will last longer on you.
      Maybe I should use more sprays, maybe it should be used in abandon? I don’t know.
      I don’t minr re-applying but I just can’t imagine myself carrying a vial of perfume in my bag and spraying during a regular day when I’m in the lab.

  2. brie says:

    Lucas!
    i still have not gotten around to finding a way to get my hands on samples of Olfactive Studio but I have your wonderful reviews to tide me over until I do!This sounds like a fragrance I would very much enjoy but the longevity factor is an issue. As you already know my dry skin eats perfume…so I wonder if your three hours might be only one hour on me? I agree with Jordan in that if I love something I do not mind re-applying (this is the case with naturals or essential oil blends….reapplication is a must as there are no synthetics to create that insane lasting power that exists in some perfumes). But every three hours or less would have me emptying a bottle in a week,right?

    Nonetheless I do look forward to sampling this line…chances are I will be able to in NYC,right?

    and I hope that you do more reviews on Olfactive Studio’s offerings!

    • lucasai says:

      If it sounds good to you then you’ll probably enjoy it. Maybe I got the short longevity because I didn’t spray much while maybe it’s supposed to be used with light hand on the trigger?
      Yes, if you love a perfume you won’t give up on it, even if it doesn’t last long.
      You wouldn’t empty that bottle in a week, but in a few months – probably.

      I hope you’ll enjoy the line when you’re in the NYC.

  3. poodle says:

    I get excited if something last 5 hours on me. Actually if anything makes the 3 hour mark it’s almost a miracle.
    I want to try this because of the rhubarb note.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, perfume have this short living time on your skin? That’s not good.
      But maybe Flash Back would be an exception? Hope you can sample it soon.

  4. Kafkaesque says:

    Hm. Maybe I’m reading between the lines, or perhaps reading what’s not there, but it definitely seems to read to me as though there is a sharply alcohol-like undertone to that lemon and/or vetiver. I have to say, I don’t think I would like this one — even apart from the sillage/longevity issues. I have skin that retains fragrance even less than you, so I think I’d probably suffer even more than you. All in all, I’m glad you reviewed this so that I don’t have to try it. Nothing about it really appeals to me.

    • lucasai says:

      Hii! (waving)
      I don’t get a typical alcohol-like undertone but I wouldn’t be surprised if someone compared it to some better-smelling window cleaner. The citrus is very sharp in here.
      If really nothing about this perfume appeals to you then you can strike it down from your list of things to sample. My review is enough for both of us πŸ˜‰

  5. odonata9 says:

    I was looking forward to trying this one due to the rhubarb note – I’ve been eating lots of rhubarb lately! So I got the sample set (when they were still shipping to the US) and tried this one first. I had a similar reaction as you – it is very tart. I need a little more sweet in my fragrances, so this was not one for me. Only tried 1 other from the set so far (Lumiere Blanche, I think) and it was just OK as well. I’ll get to the other ones soon!

    • lucasai says:

      I was hoping for a crispy rhubarb note like in a spring cake. And it’s very tart, adstringent.
      I also tried Lumiere Blanche and it was also just ok on, and the longevity was poor.

  6. Dear Lucas
    This does sound interesting.
    I like the use of rhubarb. A wonderful note much neglected.
    I’m even a little tempted by the ‘mouthwash’ transition that you detect. In your description it does sound a little reminiscent of the lime through rum to vetiver of Guerlain’s l’Eau Boisee.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • lucasai says:

      Good you find it appealing. The rhubarb is not much present in Flash Back.
      You’re really tempted by “mouthwash” ? Funny!
      Here’s to hope you’ll enjoy it.

  7. hajusuuri says:

    Lucas, dear, I loved this one when I first tried it at the launch party. It was fresh and I loved the citrusy beginning. I have a 2mL sample from a dear friend from work and I am looking forward to revisiting this again. Lovely review!

  8. Undina says:

    It looks like I’m a minority here: I do not like rhubarb – either in food or in perfumery, so those perfumes that I like that contain rhubarb note I like in spite of the note.
    I haven’t tried any perfumes from the line. Eventually I will though I’m not too enthusiastic: it’s not something in particular, but I need a very serious reason even to start testing perfumes from a new brand that cost $195/100 ml.

    • lucasai says:

      I like it from time to time, especially now in Spring, since Poland produces a lot of rhubarb.
      I think you don’t miss much not knowing Olfactive Studio, really.
      Yes, the price is high so I’m definitely not paying this much for something that disappears after a few hours.

  9. Lunch isn’t a thing in Poland?! Oh my, I would die since you have to feed me every three hours or so. Like a zoo animal.

    But I digress! I am sitting on a little sample of OS Flashback right now and can’t wait to try it. Maybe tomorrow since today I am wearing something pretty potent. Thanks for the wonderful review, Lucas!

  10. […] …lunch is not a regular thing in Poland. Sure it’s getting more and more popular but it’s … Lucas Chemist in the Bottle […]

Leave a Reply

