Hammock leisure, Diptyque L’Eau du 34

Two years ago Diptyque launched a perfume to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the house. The perfume was called 34 Boulevard Saint Germain which is also an address of the first Diptyque boutique in Paris, France. This year, in 2013 Diptyque introduces us to their 2nd perfume in this fragrance collection. L’Eau du 34, sometimes called L’Eau du Trente-Quatre. First reading about this perfume left me rather not interested since I thought it is a flanker. And it kind of is – Diptyque says that L’Eau du Trente-Quatre is a lively interpretation of the original 34 boulevard saint germain, the new fragrance captures the essence of the original boutique […] Encouraged by its notes which are really to my liking I decided to give this perfume a go.

The beginning of L’Eau du Trente-Quatre is a beautiful grapefruit note. Juicy and happy in style with a slightly pronounced zesty feeling it actually reminds me more of a grapefruit juice than of a fruit. It doesn’t have the characteristic acidic smell of a citrus rind which makes this note really soft and easy to like. Actually I think it’s the pink grapefruit used in this Diptyque perfume. My nose detects a bit of sweetness and pink grapefruits are sweeter than yellow ones. I love eating pink grapefruits!

Very shortly after spraying I get a whiff of a lovely verbena. This note adds a perfect amount of garden verdancy to the scent. It smells almost like a warm afternoon when it’s sunny outside. For a while the verbena note smells almost like mint. This feeling combined with the sweetness of grapefruit brings the association of a refreshing juice with crushed ice and mint leaves used for decorating it. Citrus parade continues with bitter orange and lemon. Now is the time when real, whole citrus were put into L’Eau du 34. I smell the aromatic rind and this aroma makes me happy.

When citrus notes become quiet after some time of dominating for the first 30 minutes of the fragrance, L’Eau du Trente-Quatre gets an interesting twist. Juniper berry accord that appears next introduces a mild herbal element to this Diptyque offering. There’s also something spicy about it, like berries were combined with pepper or coriander. Although none of these two notes is listed for the perfume. Later a woody quality develops – it’s the cedar.

In the drydown I couldn’t notice one of my favourite perfume notes. Diptyque L’Eau du Trente-Quatre is equipped with some lavender. Here it has a slightly milky and rather floral side. I prefer herbal lavender to floral lavender but I have to admit that it’s quite nice to smell a floral side of it. Maybe it’s because of geranium that accompanies the lavender note and changes it into a little bit more spicy flower. What I love about the drydown is the mild oakmoss used by the creators.

Many hours later when L’Eau du 34 almost completely disappeared from the surface of my skin I got a waft of a few balmy notes such as labdanum, incense and patchouli. All mixed with a dry nutmeg smell. The overall impressions is very positive but this perfume didn’t make my heart race.

Diptyque L’Eau du Trente-Quatre eau de toilette is one of the newest fragrances from the house. Eau Moheli is the other one that was recently introduced to the market. The sillage of this perfume is medium and the longevity is average, around 6 hours. It’s available in two bottle sizes: 50 ml and 100 ml. The bottle looks the same as for 34 boulevard saint germain but the cap is white with black edges that make it look like a stamp. It looks just like the emblem pictured on the left.

[note] 2nd and 3rd picture were made by me. I’m quite proud of them.

Tagged , , ,

12 thoughts on “Hammock leisure, Diptyque L’Eau du 34

  1. shellyw says:

    I had a small sample and quite liked it. Maybe it was the grapefruit part you mention. Very wearable.

  2. Kafkaesque says:

    The perfume doesn’t sound like my personal style since it seems very much like a cologne and/or a super light fougère, but I really, REALLY liked your 3rd photo, Lucas!

    • lucasai says:

      I thought that you wouldn’t be much interested in L’Eau du 34 since cologne-ish citrus scent or fougeres are not what you usually wear.
      Thank you for the compliment about the photo.

  3. I like Diptyque, but I always seem to prefer their fragrances as home scents than as personal ones. Your photos, as usual, are terrific, Lucas!

  4. hajusuuri says:

    Nice review, Lucas..and nice pictures, too! I have a travel spray of this that was a gift with purchase. I have not tried it yet but will do so…probably at one of the stores and if I like it, I will keep my travel spray…but if not, it goes to my swap list.

  5. tina says:

    I’d like to know what notes you get from the trente quatre (white cap clear color) one. It is the most wonderful I’ve ever smelt.

Leave a Reply

