Light is the guide, Le Labo Limette 37

American niche perfume brand Le Labo has just introduced their latest fragrance in the line of City Exclusives. After Barney’s in Dallas closed on 2nd of March 2013 along with the Le Labo counter in it, the brand decided they had no option but to discontinue the exclusive perfume for the city. Followers of Le Labo had to say farewell to Aldehyde 44. To fill the empty spot a new City Exclusive was crafted. This one is made especially for San Francisco and bears a name of Limette 37.

Le Labo Limette 37 unfolds with a delicious lime accord. It’s brisk and juicy packed with lots of positive energy and good attitude. Unlike most fragrances with citrus opening Limette 37 doesn’t smell cold and reserved. It’s the opposite. The note has a very pleasant, light and warm aura that really is inviting and it makes the perfume comfortable to wear. Smelling it leaves the impression like there was some kind of sunlight beaming through the composition from the deeper parts of the fragrance.

One thing San Francisco is known for is the fog that it is so typical weather phenomenon to that area of the States. Have you ever seen, in your life or on a film, when there’s a fog and the sky is getting clearer. Because of the fog you can see beams of sunlight going down to the earth. Like those were the pathways for angels or some other heavenly beings. This is what I imagine while smelling Le Labo Limette 37. I have this picture in my mind and I smile, hoping for a good day.

After some time the fragrance evolves and it shows its slightly floral side. Petit grain is not intensively green and leafy in this blend, it’s subtle, with just small hints of green here and there. But it suits lime well – together they smell nice and somehow familiar, like a memory of a well-known place you haven’t been to for a long time. Jasmine is Limette 37 is pure white like a wedding dove or a fresh snow (although snow is not the best comparison because the smell is warm).

One or two hours later when this beautiful lime note with the company of jasmine and petit grain dissipates the perfume turns into a very cosy and sensual creation. I can smell some sweetness of the clove and I’m almost certain that I smell some fluffy vanilla (but it’s not listed in the notes). Limette 37 by Le Labo is now a creamy and dreamy perfume. In the background there’s some pale woodiness of vetiver that makes a good setting material to make the other notes stand oud in this phase of fragrance development.

I especially mean tonka beans here that have a lovely smell in this perfume. They’re slightly spicy and creamy, almost like some kind of dessert. The stage is very quiet and contemplative. Musk is the note that creates a base of Limette 37. It’s beige-coloured, pure and clean without a soapy edge. That’s how I like this note. Not a dirty musk from By Kilian Musk Oud but a neat one like here or in Ramon Monegal Musks. I don’t like skanky perfume and this Le Labo meets my requirements.

What I love about this new City Exclusive is the fact that the perfume is well done and it smells natural to me. I was sure that an opening is made with a lime note but it’s actually bergamot that imitates it. I also like the light aspect in this perfume. Limette 37 is extremely easy to wear. Just spray it on and you’re ready to go and do what you want to do. This perfume will be suitable for big days, special occasions and also for a casual day. It shouldn’t bother your office mates either.

Le Labo Limette 37 was composed by Franck Voelkl who stands behind other popular Le Labo scents like Iris 39, Santal 33 and a couple more. According to PR materials it’s concentrated in 17% that makes it an extrait de parfum. The fragrance will be available in all sizes common for Le Labo offer: 15ml, 50ml, 100ml, 500ml, travel tube, oil, amulet and body products.

The perfume has an average sillage and average longevity of around 6 hours. Available in two places in the city of San Francisco. At Le Labo store at 2238 Fillmore Street and at Le Labo counter at Barneys at 77 O’Farell Street.

Tagged , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Light is the guide, Le Labo Limette 37

  1. Madeleine says:

    Beautiful review Lukasz!

    I really haven’t considered wearing lime as a perfume but you make this sound so gorgeous!

    Thank you for your lovely words – you’ve created a lemming 🙂

    Madeleine

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Medeleine!
      I wasn’t expecting that a perfume with lime (well, it’s actually bergamot tha imitates the lime here) can be so appealing!

      This is a lovely, easy to wear perfume, perfect for warm and bit colder days.

  2. hajusuuri says:

    Sweetie! What a delightful review! Barneys is bringing all the City Exclusives to midtown NYC (not sure about other stores) sometime in September so I will get to try Limette 37 then. I love San Francisco. My brother used to live there and I visited often :-). The fog – not so good, specially if one is driving. The one time I drove the fog was so thick the only thing I could see was the tail-light of the car in front of me, literally.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you, what a lovely compliment to see on Saturday afternoon!
      Yaay, I’m so happy that you’ll have all City Exclusives in NYC. It’s so convenient to have them all in one place. Their different locations around the world make them quite hard to get.
      Hope you’ll like Limette 37.
      Wow, that fog sounds ingredibly dangerous for driving.

  3. Natalie says:

    I am afraid to try this one, because I don’t think it can live up to how I think SF smells. Lime does not seem right to me at all. 😦 But the later stages you describe could be promising. I’ll let you know if I get up the nerve to try it.

    • lucasai says:

      Maybe you’re right. I don’t know the city. Can’t compare if Limette 37 ebokes the San Francisco lifestyle.
      Please do if you decide to give it a try.

  4. Annina says:

    Sounds lovely, a great review! While I was at Barney’s in SF last month, i sure wish now that I would have taken the time to try it!

  5. At first glance, Limette 37 doesn’t sound like my thing, but your review was so evocative of fog and filtered light that I am looking forward to smelling this in the fall. Hopefully Hajusuuri will be with me 🙂 Perfume partners in crime are a good thing 🙂

  6. lorraine says:

    Great review! Sounds right up my alley so now I just need to get my hands on some 🙂

  7. Kafkaesque says:

    I loved your description of San Francisco and, having lived there for a number of years, I can tell you that you got the visuals just right! But I don’t associate lime at all with San Francisco and, in honesty, this does not sound like my style of perfume. I very much enjoyed your review, though. Thank you for temporarily taking me back to my old home. 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Glad you loved it. Of course I’ve never been there, I only know SF from the movies and wikipedia.
      I liked the perfume a lot, no matter if lime suits the city or not. The perfume is good to me, that matters most.
      Happy you enjoyed it, you’re welcome for the imaginary trip.

  8. Dear Lucas
    Now I had to take a quick look at this week’d work and it was the limes that caught my eye.
    The Dandy is something of a fan of the lime note generally in perfumery, it is actually one of the principal scents of traditional British perfumery, and this sounds like a divine addition to the genre.. especially as I’m a devotee of the woefully underused petitgrain too.
    Too bad I shall have to make my way back across the Atlantic to try it…
    Yours ever and congratulations of seven days of labouring away!
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • lucasai says:

      The perfume really is lovely. I quite like Penhaligon’s Extract of Limes but Limette 37 is a different kind of lime, less juicy and warmer.

      I hope tha you’ll be able to try it. Maybe some of your US friends will be able to get it for you?

  9. Undina says:

    I’m with others who have doubts about this perfume being reflective of how I think of San Francisco and I have to admit that I felt a little cheated when I finally read the list of notes for “our” perfume. But you wrote a beautiful review and I’ll give Limette a try when I get a chance.

    • lucasai says:

      As I said earlier, I have no idea about San Francisco apart from the films so maybe it really isn’t like the city.
      Glad you liked the review.

  10. linda beth ross says:

    Great Review. I am a HUGE Le Labo fan and cannot wait to try this again. I tried a sample a month ago and was underwhelmed . Your review has me itching to try it again though!!!!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Linda!
      Now that Le Labo let the City Exclusives be more widely available for a month you can order a sample of Limette 37 at their website, or in one of the decanting services if you prefer that way

  11. […] – Poivre 23 Los Angeles – Musc 25 New York – Tubereuse 40 San Francisco – Limette 37 – The Chemist in The Bottle Paris – Vanille 44 Tokyo – Gaiac […]

  12. john says:

    AMAZING CITRUS!!! have to have, last forever on me, even after I shower it off, I can still smell it. FBW for me.

Leave a Reply

