Favourite notes for summer

The university year of 2012/2013 is slowly drawing to an end. All of my exams are already done so I started my summer holidays a little bit earlier. Honestly I have never finished the exams session so early during those four years of studying. Now I can really start thinking about the summer. About relaxing and doing what I want. It sounds easy at first but then it turns out it’s not so simple. Since previous Monday I haven’t seen a single ray of sun which was saddening. On Thursday afternoon clouds started flying away and the Sun has finally appeared. Now I hope it’s gonna stay with us.

Summer in Poland is very moody. It can be really cold sometimes and the other day it can be extremely hot and humid. In the past there were very dry and very wet summers, even with floods. But lets not think about the negative things, ok? I look into the future, where an internship awaits me (edit: I didn’t get it), if its time doesn’t interfere I will go for a family holidays to Balaton in Hungary. With this summer mood I want to share with you my favourite perfume notes for summer.

Lemon – the quintessence of the summertime. Between all citrus fruits lemon is the one that I praise the most when warm months arrive. Not grapefruits, not oranges, not limes but lemons and only lemons. From June to early September I add lemon to many dishes. I put it into a fruit salad, I squeeze one whole lemon into a pot with water to add some acidic flavour which is very refreshing. For an invigorating touch it can be served with ice or you can use a fizzy water. Then I really love lemon perfumes. Citrus is one of my favourite categories. I’ve been searching for a long time to find my perfect citrus perfume and I found it this year. Eau d’Italie Acqua Decima is the newest member of my collection. It smells awesome and I love the look of the bottle.

Mint – the memory of a summer garden. Call us, Poles, a weird nation but yes, we drink hot tea in summer months. Even if it’s the heat of 30*C we like to brew a hot tea. It’s quite relaxing and it satisfies thirst really well. The best tea at that time for me is a fresh mint tea. You can put either fresh either dried (I dry mint leaves at the balcony) leaves into the cup and just pour some hot water into it. Wait a few minutes until all the best things from mint will infuse the water and it’s ready! Such tea has a lovely taste and smell, and it’s healthy! Acqua Decima combines lemon and mint, that’s why it turned out to be so appealing to me. Another interesting mint is Roadster from Cartier, L’Occitane Verdon and Annick Goutal Mandragore.

Lemon Verbena – unfortunately I can’t tell how great it smells. I have never tried smelling it in its living, green form. The only lemon verbena I experienced so far was in dried leaves. It had a lovely scent that reminds me a bit of geranium + mint + grapefruit mix. In perfume it smells just like this combination. Sometimes it can be a bit sweeter and sometimes it has a smell of a green tea. If you think that lemon verbena might be a note that will ideally work for you in June, July and August then you really should get around to try one of these perfumes: Annick Goutal Eau du Sud, Miller et Bertaux Green, Green and Green, Miller Harris Terre de Bois. They’re so good, trust me!

Neroli – the famous fragrance oil obtained from the blossom of bitter orange tree. First the flowers are collected and then they undergo a water distillation process. I love its pure, slightly honeyed smell that makes me feel like I just took a shower. My favourite neroli perfumes include Atelier Cologne Grand Neroli which I could bathe in and Prada Infusion de Fleur d Oranger. Even screechy Tom Ford Neroli Portofino which sometimes turns artificial can be quite enjoyable in the heatwave. If you’re not up for an actual perfume a lovely perfume is a drugstore or helbal shop bought orange blossom water. It has a very light smell that will perfume your body for around one hour. Great thing about it is that you don’t have to apply it only on your pulse points where you usually apply fragrance but you can sprinkle it all over your body. It’s an instant mood lifter.

How about you? Does it look like summer is coming your way already? Please share with me what are your favourite summer notes and perfume you can’t imagine your holiday season without.

Tagged , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Favourite notes for summer

  1. Jordan River says:

    I have found that when one perfume bottle is empty another opens…

  2. jilliecat says:

    Jordan has made an excellent statement, which I echo!

    Ah, lemons and summer. Wonderful. I am currently loving Dior’s Eau Fraiche, which I had forgotten all about till the other day when I had a headache and fancied something refreshing. Well, it’s a little jewel – bright, dazzling citrus at first (similar to Eau Sauvage), then a hint of moss. Unlike most “colognes”, it doesn’t lose that lemony note, although it softens. Six hours later I can still detect it on my skin, but there is a touch of sweetness (maybe an ungourmand vanilla, some wood?). I don’t think I will forget it again!

    Poles weird? Never! What about us Brits and our obsession with tea? You’ve heard the song – “Mad Dogs and Englishmen (go out in the mid-day sun)”? Well, that’s us, and there’s nothing like a steaming cup of tea in the heat to cool you down (apparently that is a scientifically proven fact!).

    Have you tried Guerlain’s Aqua Allegoria Herba Fresca? A really minty fragrance, but not like toothpaste.

    • lucasai says:

      I have never tried Dior Eau Fraiche but I enjoy Eau Sauvage (even in its current form). Your description makes Eau Fraiche sample-worthy.

      So British also like drinking hot tea during hot months, I wasn’t expecting we might have this in common.

      Yes, I have tried Herba Fresca but I like Pamplelune or Mandarine-Basilic even more.

  3. poodle says:

    I drink hot tea in the summer too.
    We’ve had some miserably rainy weather here too. Not much of a summer yet. I don’t care if it rains when I am at work but on my days off its really a downer.
    Things happen for a reason. Enjoy your summer. Soon enough you’ll be out of school and working full time and wishing for a summer off.

    • lucasai says:

      Yaay, another hot tea summer drinker. We’ve been experiencing some floods lately. There was a heavy rain in Warsaw last week, some streets turned into small river.

  4. Ha! Well, I’m a Polish girl living in Canada, so not only do I drink tea in the summer, but coffee as well (Canadians have a near-obsession with coffee, thanks to Tim Horton’s)!!. And I can relate to the moody weather – Toronto has a very similar climate.

    I’m not a huge citrus/green/mint fan, so even in the summer I prefer the sweet and floral orientals. I have two Estee Lauder fragrances – Bronze Goddess and Spellbound – that I can’t live without out during summer. Bronze Goddess is a light, tropical floral reminiscent of Hawaiian Tropic suntan lotion (predominant notes are coconut and tiare flower). Spellbound is a rich, heady, spicy floriental (carnation, amber and cardamom) – this one can be quite headache inducing though, so I just use it sparingly in the evening.

    Too bad about the internship, Lucasai, however, everything happens for a reason and at exactly the right time – so I’m in agreement with Jordan River as well! Wishing you a wonderful summer season/holiday.

    • lucasai says:

      Your last name is very Polish so I was wondering if you have Polish roots. Nice to have a fellow summer tea drinkers so far as in Canada.

      I love the smell of my favourite suntan lotion. I wonder how it compares to Bronze Goddess, I have never tried that perfume, well haven’t tried almost anything from Estee Lauder.

      I’m sorry about the internship too. I guess you’re giht that there’s a reason for all that, too bad it doesn’t go how I wished it would.

  5. Lilybelle says:

    I love all of those fragrances, Lucas. Plus, I would add lavender to any list of summer coolers. Just a simple lavender like Yardleys is my favorite; and/or the classic lavender + lemon as in Jicky (I think I really NEED a bottle of Jicky edt) is such a wonderful combination of notes. I also like simple cool rose scents in summer. It’s quite warm here in Virginia already and light rose fragrances have been working very well for me. I have Aqua Allegoria Mentafollia as my cooling mint/rose/tea scent. Some people say “toothpaste” but I don’t get that. I think many people just don’t care much for mint. I ADORE the scent of mint. I love mint tea, too. Btw, here is a tip for a *cold* glass of tea that I learned about recently, if you ever want to give it a try. Put some dried tea or a teabag in a glass of cold filtered water, cover it, let it steep for 20 or 30 minutes, depending on desired strength…and you will find it makes a nice cold tea. No hot water necessary. I do this with green tea lately and I love it. I think it probably works best specifically with teas that do not want a high temperature (like green tea). I tried it with dried mint and I think boiling water actually releases the mint flavor better. Also, Lucas, I wanted to mention to you that you can grow lemon verbena easily in a pot. I’ve done it, and I have some of the dried leaves in a jar. I’ve always meant to try it for tea. The fresh leaves are somewhat tough – I suppose using the tender newest leaves would be best – but I’ve minced them to add to summer salads. Nice flavor. Back to fragrance. I have a bottle of Carthusia Mediterraneo still in its box, a citrus/green tea scent that I still haven’t made friends with. I bought it for my husband because he said he liked it, but as it turns out it was a different fragrance he liked, and he couldn’t remember the name. Sometimes green tea in a perfume spoils it for me, but lately I’ve been enjoying tea type scents so I’ll try Mediterraneo again. I have no summer neroli fragrance! :-O

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Jilybelle and thank you for sharing the idea about “cold tea” and a lemon verbena pot! I think I will give a try to this tea recipe.
      I also love the scent of mint although it doesn’t work for me in every perfume.
      I love Grand Neroli by Atelier Cologne or Diptyque Eau de Neroli, lovely, just lovely.

  6. Yes, I was born in Poland (Mielec to be exact) and moved to Toronto when I was 6. I go back quite often though to visit my grandparents, and my brother who lives in Zakopane with this family.

    Estee Lauder has some surprisingly high-quality and beautiful perfumes – many of them rivaling the more exclusive niche brands. I definitely recommend you give them a try. You will be pleasantly surprised. I might actually have a sample somewhere of the Bronze Goddess – if I find it, I will contact you privately for your mailing address. 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      I see! That’s good that you’ve got some relatives in Poland so that you have a reason to visit the country of your birth.

      Will check if we have some EL available in stores like Sephora

  7. rosarita says:

    Hi, Lucas – sorry about the internship but it just means that you are available for whatever comes next! I agree very much with lemon and mint for favorite summer notes, and I’m also a big fan of Bronze Goddess. I don’t care for hot weather very much, in fact I spend summers seeking shade, but something about the light tropical feel of BG is perfect summer in a bottle. I like cold feeling incense in the summer, too; Messe di Minuit is perfect on hot, humid days.

    • lucasai says:

      Hi rosarita! I’m sorry too, I don’t know if I have any other internship options available. Lemon and mint are such grea choices for summer. I also prefer shade but a bit of sun is welcomed as well. It’s all fine unless the termometer shows 30*C, that’s too hot for me.
      Have not tried Messe de Minuit, might give it a go if I get a sample.

  8. Bertt says:

    It’s the hottest day of the year till now in Belgium (32 °C) and I vividly used Annick Goutal’s Eau d’Hadrien! Love it… Even if the longevity is non existing.
    Have a nice evening to you all.

    • lucasai says:

      We had 30*C today and just saw a forecast that tomorrow will be even hotter. Eau d’Hadrien is a lovely choice but on my it also doesn’t last longer than 1 hour.
      Have a good evening too

  9. Last summer I tried an experiment to wear all my heavy orientals that I normally reserved for the fall and winter in the heat. Especially at night, the warm weather and humidity seem to make them bloom and smell sultry and seductive. So this year, I will be rocking the Shalimar again 🙂

    But added to the fragrances to be put on summer rotation is Anima Dulcis from Arquiste which I just bought to celebrate the end of the semester and specifically to wear for the summer. A few months ago, I went to the Elements showcase and got to meet Carlos Huber. As I was shaking his hand (and inwardly swooning), I heard one of the other reps say that it was absolutely amazing in the heat. So it is 🙂

    I’m so sorry to hear about your internship, Lucas. The selection process seemed to be very restrictive. Am sending big hugs!

  10. hajusuuri says:

    Lucas! I love your favorite summer notes and no wonder because we are scent twins. I also have never smelled lemon verbena except perhaps for L’Occitane’s interpretation in body care products.

    It’s too bad about your internship but hopefully another opportunity will open up!

    • lucasai says:

      So great we find more and more smells in common. Did you try any of the perfumes mentioned?

      Yup, too bad, can’t change the decision of a contest jury

  11. Last year was my summer of citrus with Parfum d’Empire’s Iskander and Azemour les Orangers leading the pack. This year it’s been pretty cool thus far, but I have the feeling that I’ll be leaning towards the white florals. Thus far, Zelda by En Voyage has been leading the pack. I just follow my nose and where it leads no one knows! (isn’t that the song sung by the Fruit Loops Toucan???) Sorry about the internship another door will open soon and it will be the right one for you!

    • lucasai says:

      I remember you liked Iskander and Azemour las year, that was one of those first days of my blogging.
      I have no idea how En Voyage Zelda smells like but you like white florals a lot so they’ll be suitable for you.

  12. Kafkaesque says:

    I’m so sorry about the internship, my dear. I truly am, and send you a big hug. As for favorite notes in the summer, I rarely pay heed to the seasons. Mostly, because we don’t have them here and it’s perpetually hot, not to mention how I live with arctic air-conditioning. So, for me, it’s my beloved Orientals all year round. Bring on the labdanum, amber, myrrh and frankincense, and the weather be damned! ;0 😛

    • lucasai says:

      I’m sorry about it too, thanks for the hugs.
      I remember you said you’ve got hot summer all-year-round so I’m not surprised you don’t pair perfume with the season + you love your orientals so much.

  13. rictor07 says:

    I always have to have a fresh citrusy vetiver cologne in my summer rotation. This year it is Guerlain Vetiver. Previous years it has been Tom Ford Grey Vetiver and Lubin Le Vetiver.

Leave a Reply

