365 days of perfume

It is very hard to believe it but exactly one year ago, on 1st day of July 2012 I pressed the publish button for the first time and started a perfume adventure with Chemist in the Bottle. Today I, or should I say we, celebrate the 1st anniversary of the blog. It’s been an amazing year of discoveries with many lessons learned, many happy days and overcoming the obstacles.

Those 365 days of perfume wouldn’t be so fun, entertaining and filled with perfume passion if you weren’t there for me. When I started this blog I was worrying if there’ll be at least one person willing to read it. Somehow you’ve found me, or in some cases I’ve found you and we became friends, even though we’ve never met in person. I knew I had someone to rely on, someone who cheered me on.

All of you gave me power for writing and to do my best as I didn’t want to let you down. I wanted you to feel that I’m trying my hardest for you. In the meantime there were some advices coming my way. I’m thankful for them as I feel they made me a better writer and someone who understands perfume better than a year ago. Some of you noticed (and then I did too) that my style changed from more laconic to more descriptive, evocative and true. Kafka said that people deserve the truth so I stopped hiding my negative feelings for some fragrances. Thank you for everything you’ve done for me!

Writing a perfume blog had another positive side. I got to know some of the perfumers. Not personally but through the emails I acquainted Andy Tauer, Neela Vermeire, Laurie Erickson, Viktoria Minya, Anais Biguine and a couple of more people who create our beloved perfume thrills. It was a real pleasure to get to know you a little bit and to work together, to cooperate with you.

For the first birthday I’d like to share some statistics with you. My review of Amyris Homme and Amyris Femme from Francis Kurkdjian is no longer the most popular article read. It was beaten by… the mini review of Dior Homme Cologne 2013, one of more recent texts from March. At third place is a review of Prada Candy L’Eau published in April. Funny fact – for like 2 months Candy L’Eau review was the most often read post on the days when I didn’t publish something new. Amazing, right? Who thought people might be so curious about it! Rank 4 is taken by Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme. This one is probably one of my favourite reviews written during this year.

At the time of last 365 days I have written almost 150 posts. Not bad, right? I have covered total number of 117 perfumes, of which 77 were the regular, full-sized reviews and another 40 were included at the blog in Monday Quick Sniffs. I’m proud for each and every one!

In terms of readers, you, who I care for. Some people come and some people go. Those who appeared at Chemist in the Bottle in its early days, most of them don’t visit anymore. Or maybe they visit, just don’t comment. At this point, on this special occasion I’d like to thank one special reader and present this “Reader of the year” award to her. Dearest Hajusuuri, this prize is for you! You’ve been a part of this blog since my post number three and you’re still here today! I thank you for that. Not to mention that we made a fascinating discovery together – we’re scent twins!

Undina is our third sibiling, we make a funny group of perfume triplets! Once again, thank you for being there for me! I hope you enjoyed my first year of blogging. Raise your glass and lets make a toast to the blog, to you, to us! Lets spend another perfumed year together because new scents await us! I’m sure great new readers will appear on another year of perfume blogging!

Happy birthday to Chemist in the Bottle.

I prepared a special present for you! It will be published in a few minutes, so don’t go away from your internets! You don’t want to miss this birthday fun, do you?

Tagged , , , ,

70 thoughts on “365 days of perfume

  1. Jordan River says:

    Many Happy Returns to The Chemist in The Bottle. A year you say? I feel like eons have passed.

  2. Undina says:

    Happy Blog Anniversary, Lucas! I hope it’ll keep being interesting for you for another year. And another. And… you got it, right? πŸ™‚

    I look forward to reading your impressions on perfumes I have or haven’t tried – to compare with my own impressions: as you’ve noticed, on more occasions than not they are very similar.

    • lucasai says:

      I hope the blog will keep me going for many, man years!

      and I look forward to your visits on my blog and to your lovely posts with Rusty the model πŸ™‚

  3. jilliecat says:

    A very happy anniversary to you. dear Lucas! It has been a pleasure and an education to read your blog. I hope you will celebrate with a lovely new lemony fragrance, lots of cake and a big cup of scented tea!

  4. Dearest Lucas
    Congratulations on your 1st Blogging Birthday…. here’s to many more.
    And a special word of tribute to you for keeping going through all your academic work and some pesky professors too!
    Many Happy Returns!!
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

  5. Olfactoria says:

    Happy Blog anniversary, Lukas! Well done and here’s to many more years to come!

  6. Laurels says:

    Congratulations!

  7. YAY! ONE YEAR is huge Lucasai. Congrsatulations.
    Portia x

  8. Ines says:

    Happy blog birthday! πŸ™‚

  9. Happy Birthday Lucas. It’s been a great first year. I look forward to the many to come!

  10. hajusuuri says:

    Congratulations, Lucas! One Year already? You have grown so much from your first post and continue to do so. And Reader of the Year – moi? I am blushing from the top of my head to the tip of my toes! Thank you.

    Here’s to a longer fruitful friend-filled fragrant journey ahead!

    • lucasai says:

      I can’t believe and I’m asking myself “when did that happen”?
      Thank you, it’s thanks to you that I improve.
      You deserve it sweetie! You’re my companion since my third post and you continue to visit the blog daily, or at least as often as you can!
      You’ve reached my blog back then thanks to NST, didn’t you?

      • hajusuuri says:

        Oh yes, I had lurked on NST for at least one year before I came out in December 2011 (I think) and now I couldn’t shut up when I have something to say…always in a respectful manner, of course :-).

        I remembered the post where you mentioned you had a private blog and I was really curious to see how that would evolve. I don’t even remember how you “announced” that you now have a public blog but I noticed that your screen-name linked to “Chemist in the Bottle” and the rest was history.

        • lucasai says:

          I’ve been lurking at NST for a ling time too before I created my own account there. For the time I commented with an auto-given gravatar to find out later that I can change it as I wish, so I did that and since then I’m recignized by shirt&tie gravatar.

          I can’t even remember that I announced it officialy somewhere, maybe I just mentioned about it on one comment under some review or weekend poll.

          I thought it would be good to link my name with the blog. During this year quite a lot of people from NST wantered into my site.

          • hajusuuri says:

            I can’t believe I forgot something else! I read your series on HdP perfumes in Basenotes and was VERY IMPRESSED! So I was following you even before you launched this site!

            • lucasai says:

              Really!
              That was the first time when I tried reviewing something.
              Plus that was the first time when I bought a sample set of niche perfumes. Ever since then HdP remains one of my top brands

  11. Kevin says:

    Here’s to another great year ahead! Congratulations on one year of your fantastic blog – keep up the good work!

  12. rosarita says:

    Happy anniversary, Lucas! Keeping a blog is a labor of love and a huge commitment; I appreciate your hard work, and even though I am a late comer to your corner of the blogosphere, I have become a regular reader and enjoy your words very much.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Rosarita! Blogging is a hard work, especially when you study or work every day.
      Glad you came and joined me and others at Chemist in the Bottle.

  13. Tora says:

    Congratulations to you on one year of writing from your heart and your senses! Ilook forward to continued reading!!!

  14. Barbara says:

    150 posts while going to school and having such demanding studies is truly admirable. Thank you for a year of great posts (especially in your area of chemical expertise) which always teach me something new!
    Happy Blog Birthday and sto lat!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you for the kind words and thank you for being a part of this “show” πŸ™‚
      I’m very happy to hear that my chemistry posts are enjoyed by you.

  15. Kafkaesque says:

    A huge, huge CONGRATULATIONS on one whole year!! You’ve made this little corner of the blogosphere a very warm, welcoming and interesting one (especially with your chemistry posts). I’m always so impressed by how you can juggle the blog and your intensive, arduous advanced studies at the same time. And your writing has definitely grown by leaps and bounds. It is especially fantastic for someone not writing in their native tongue!

    Most of all, though, Lucas, you’re just a really, really nice guy — and it shows in everything you say and do. *YOU* are the one who keeps us coming back. And we’ll be here for as long as you are. Happy Birthday to Chemist in the Bottle! *hugs*

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Kafka! Thank you for saying that. I want to feel good being here and I want you to feel even better. I wanted this place to be like a little online home, or a cosy coffee/tea corner for us all. I think it wasn’t that tough to write a blog and study hard.
      Thank you for the comment about the writing. With English not being my primary language it was challenging, I think I managed to do it well!?

      Thank you for your kindest words my dear friend! It’s great to have you by my side.

  16. Victoria says:

    Happy Blog Anniversary, Lucas! One year is an important date. Here is to many more anniversaries to come!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you dearest Victoria! It’s the first serious important date, I’m sure there will be many more years, I’m not going to give up on blogging anytime soon.

  17. sweetgrass79 says:

    Congratulations on your blog anniversary! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. Here’s to many more! πŸ˜€

  18. Happy Blogoversary, dearest Lucas! I have very much enjoyed following you this year and look forward to reading you for many more years to come! Thank you for being the wonderful, thoughtful, kind, witty, caring person that you are! You are a terrific writer, an amazing photographer, and all around very talented person. I feel very honored to count you as a friend too πŸ™‚

    So here is a glass of champagne raised in your honor! Cheers!

  19. Congratulations, Lucas!
    Here’s to many more years of fragrance and knowledge!

    Caro&Virginia

  20. Viktoria says:

    Happy Blog Anniversary, Lucas πŸ™‚ Wish you many more to come!

  21. Kelly 4 says:

    Congratulations Lucas on your first blog website birthday! Wow I can’t believe it’s been a year already. You are a terrific writer! Keep of the great job!

  22. poodle says:

    Yay for one year! And yay for finding a scent twin! I’m on vacation at the moment and I’m raising my glass (well, technically it’s a plastic cup because I’m by the pool) in a toast to you and your blog. Cheers!

  23. Mary K says:

    Congratulations on the one year anniversary with your blog – it always has lots of in interesting information about releases that you’ve tried . I also like to read about the chemistry part of things; we do not get this information elsewhere. I will join others in saying that I think it is great that you are able to do this while studying, too. You must be a very busy person!

  24. lorraine says:

    Has it only been a year? It seems like longer that I’ve been following (lurking most of the time πŸ˜‰ Congratulations on your milestone – I enjoy your blog very much.

  25. Laurie E says:

    Happy Blog Anniversary, Lucas! You’ve created a wonderful blog (I especially love your chemistry posts!). It really is amazing that you do all this in a non-native language and while going through school and exams. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you a little bit this year and wish you many more years of fun blogging!

  26. Dionne says:

    Congratulations, Lukas, that is an impressive milestone. I remember when you first started commenting at NST, then got your gravatar (which I love, BTW, very distinctive) and then announced you were blogging. Here’s to many more posts!

    • lucasai says:

      Oh wow, I don’t remember when I started commenting at NST. How long ago was that?
      I remember changing my gravatar and the moment I started spreading the news about my blog.

  27. Ari says:

    Yaaaaaaay! Congratulations on this big achievement, Lucas!

Leave a Reply

