Fiction or reality? Juliette Has a Gun Oil Fiction

On July 15th Juliette Has a Gun, a niche perfume brand from France will officially launch Oil Fiction in their stores. Oil Fiction is the new perfume from the house. It’s a limited edition as only 999 bottles of this perfume were produced. It’s an oriental classified perfume with a high concentration of the perfume oils in the fragrance composition, placed at a level of almost 30%.

The limited edition mark of Oil Fiction is that the perfume has a completely new packaging comparing to the one used by Juliette Has a Gun so far. A 75 mls bottle is made of transparent glass and is square-shaped. Brands logo on the flacon is also changed. The outer packaging is an elegant looking, black lacquered wooden box with a golden plate on it.

Even though the perfume is bound to appear in stores in mid July, JHAG online store offers a pre-order, where 11 bottles are still available at the moment. You can also purchase samples of this limited edition scent. Juliette Has a Gun Oil Fiction features the notes of:

  • bergamot, amber, ylang-ylang, iris (concrete and absolu), tuberose, labdanum, papyrus, saffron, Ambroxan, vanilla and sandal wood.

Oil Fiction unveils with a tart bergamot aroma. There’s some tangy quality to it but its brightness and juiciness both have been brought to the minimum, if not to the zero level. Within a couple of minutes the smell of bergamot loses approximately half of its power and is then joined by a weird, but not bad, dusty impression. To me it draws the picture of the old-styled saloon, with wooden walls, darkened lights, billards table and a bar, luckily no go-go dancers.

The opening effect lasts surprisingly long, it stayed around me for around 20 minutes and then Juliette Has a Gun slowly begins to change. The dimmed lights effect is still on, but the perfume gets warmer with every minute. Amber tones in this perfume are rather light but they have a good power of radiation. They effuse warm and embracing, kind of sexual aura. All these aspects are additionally highlighted with a note of ylang-ylang which adds some creaminess to the perfume.

My nose might be fooling me but there were a couple of aromas I noticed and they’re not listed in the notes. First thing I get is an alcoholic vibe next to the amber note. It’s not similar to the Ambre Russe from Parfum d’Empire as to me it’s more rum plus amber than vodka plus amber.

I also seem to get a waft of smokiness. It’s not exactly a tobacco or a pipe… Maybe a cigar?

Later on I get the oriental blend of flowers. Iris is barely present in this composition. I could smell the buttery thing which was probably iris but I was hoping for more of the note. Tuberose is also not a bomb, but it leaves the noticeable impression on the wearer. The thing worth mentioning is that those floral notes are still accompannied by the dusty and slightly alcoholic feeling. I believe its those notes that change the bouquet into something more eastern style, oriental.

Early drydown of Juliette Has a Gun Oil Fiction is probably the nicest part of the whole perfume. Fans of resins should be happy with a sane amount of labdanum which has an ashy, a little bit dense aroma. I suppose Kafka would like it! Papyrus dries the phase so that it’s a little bit like a paper, rough and rugged. Then saffron appears on my skin. Beautiful, red, spicy saffron. It’s not as magnificent as in L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant and it’s not as sweetened with vanilla as the L’Artisan Parfumeur scent but I like it, it’s good.

The later drydown and the dying phase of Oil Fiction are kind of bad. Sandalwood smells like an old pencil shavings here to me and it has the vibe like some cat peed on it! Bleh! Not to mention that the last moments of this JHAG perfume are overloaded with Ambroxan. This synthetic molecule imitates the aroma of natural amber, which is almost impossible to obtain nowadays. It’s commonly used in amber perfumes today and it’s featured in many scents, a couple more JHAG fragrances have it. Here it’s easy to notice its artificial.

All in all the perfume lasted 10 hours on me which is a good result. Or maybe it should last longer when the perfume has twenty-few per-cent of perfume oils. The sillage was initally good but around 5th hour it lost its edge and remained close to the skin for the rest of the time.

I like that Juliette Has a Gun decided to offer samples of this limited edition perfume. For 10€ you could buy a 15 mls sample. At least the site said so. When my sample arrived it turned out it’s not 15 but 10 mls, still not bad. When those 15/10 mls samples run out a couple of days later they had samples back but… they were 2,5 ml size for the same 10€! Looks like those who were fast got lucky! I got lucky as I got the sample with 10 mls! It looks very nice.

Oil Fiction is a mild oriental and it offers some interesting experience from the eastern world. I highly recommend it to those who want to have an oriental perfume but full-bodied orient is too much for them. It’s worth trying but in my opinion, the price is definitely too high. Well – limited editions have their own rights!

Tagged , , ,

24 thoughts on “Fiction or reality? Juliette Has a Gun Oil Fiction

  1. jilliecat says:

    Thanks for your report, Lucas. I think I will be good and not try it as, not only is it expensive, but if I loved it, my heart would break if I couldn’t but it any more – that happens enough even with non limited editions!

    • lucasai says:

      You’re welcome Jillie!
      I absolutely understand that. The bad thing about limited edition is that they’re limited, much more expensive and when you fall in love you either have to jump into the rabbit hole or deal with the fact that you’ll never smell it again

  2. Undina says:

    I think I’m glad you didn’t love this perfume: I was too late to order a sample – even a smaller one is gone. Oh well… 🙂

  3. This is a wonderful review that tells me exactly what I need to know. Some notes intrigue me (Labdanum, Papyrus),, some repel me (I have a problem with Iris), but I’m glad to hear you can purchase samples and this definitely has my interest. Thank you!

  4. poodle says:

    I am not a fan of limited editions so I’ll avoid this one. It isn’t that tempting to me, you lost me at cigar note and the dry down. Seems a little pricey too.

  5. laniersmith says:

    Thanks for your great report on this new fragrance from Juliette Has A Gun. It sounds really nice but I am with poodle on the pricey limited editions. I want to know that if I buy something like this I can replace it when I run out.

    • lucasai says:

      It’s nice perfume overally but you could only dream about buying a replacement bottle in a few years (but maybe they’ll make Oil Fiction a regular line scent, that sometimes happens with LE)

  6. hajusuuri says:

    I’ll just try this at MinNY the next time I’m there. The yucky dry-down makes me skeered of this. If you did not like the dry-down, could you layer it with something nice at the start of dry-down so you can enjoy a nice finish? The JHAG line is pretty expensive and I would rather redirect my perfume fund elsewhere. Thanks for the wonderful review, dear Lucas!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, give it a try, of course if they have this limited edition Oil Fiction perfume in store next time you visit them. The late drydown really smells artificial because of the Ambroxam overdose. I think it might smell better layered with Prada Candy.
      The JHAG is not that expensive, the regular price is at the level of Parfum d’Empire scents that I adore, those (I mean Pd’E) are great perfume for great money.
      This limited edition is 3 times more expensive that perfume from regular JHAG line.

  7. Kafkaesque says:

    Ohhhhh!!!! It sounded so good until you got to the drydown stage. Oh dear. Ambroxan is soooooooo dry, but I can still take it and don’t mind. It’s the sandalwood issue that is the bigger problem. I know what kind of sandalwood smell you’re talking about (on me, the sour, bitter edge always results from the Australian kind), and I don’t like it very much.

    Still, I’d want to try the perfume (labdanum!!! Saffron! Tuberose and the rest!) if it wasn’t limited edition and so much more expensive than the regular line. I’m like everyone else here. I don’t like the whole L/E concept of stuff. That said, very good review, dear Lucas. Thorough and detailed, it gave me a really good sense about the smell. xoxo

    • lucasai says:

      I thought so. It was all a great perfume until I reached the drydown packed with ambroxan and this sandalwood pencil shavings that a cat peed on. This smells bad.

      I think you’ll enjoy the perfume but the drydown stage, which applies to me. I wonder if this could be the 1st perfume we’ve got similar feelings about.

      Don’t like the LE concept too, not with a price 3 times higher than other JHAG perfumes.

  8. Mary K says:

    I’ll have to agree with others. It sounded interesting until I read what you found the drydown to be like. I am glad that you wrote about this one, though, as I had been wondering what it would be like.

    • lucasai says:

      I was disappointed by the drydown. If it was better, I would enjoy the entire perfume. Since the drydown is the phase that stays the longest on my skin I will probably swap it.

  9. Ambroxan always tends to be deal breaker with me. Would have been interested before but, then you did not think so much of the dry down ( already have cat litter box duties). Well, at least I’m on budget this month! Thanks for the review.

    • lucasai says:

      I think I tried more fragrances with Ambroxam and didn’t have issues earlier. It’s the cat pee sandalwood that bothers me more in the drydown.
      Your wallet will be happy 🙂

  10. Thanks to you info, I managed to snag one of those 10ml samples for 10 euros . . . plus $25 shipping to the States! But still a bargain. I like Oil Fiction very much and am thrilled to the gills with my deluxe sample which will probably last me a while. It’s pretty potent, but on me it was pure honey and so sweet that I don’t think I would be able to manage a full bottle.

    Wonderful review though, Lucas!

Leave a Reply

