Would bathe in it, Atelier Cologne Grand Néroli

When Atelier Cologne appeared in the Perfume Land in 2010 it quickly got in the center of attention. Their innovative concept of creating cologne absolues – fragrances based on the traditional and classy citrus cologne with different ingredients blended into the composition with a concentration level of 15% or more (which actually makes them eau de parfums). This strategy was a real key to success! The scents are so well and wisely done that they’re almost impossible to dislike. One of my earliest favorites from Atelier Cologne is a neroli-centered Grand Neroli. This invigorating and happy fragrance should be use with abandon, I would bathe in it, seriously!

One more thing next to Atelier Cologne fragrances that I really fancy is the ad-copy, the short story the brand creates for each Cologne Absolue. Here’s the one that accompanies Grand Neroli:

“The windows were thrown open to let in the afternoon sun, along with a breeze of orange blossoms. She secured fresh flowers into her hair and her eyes sparkled with excitement and anticipation. She had been a whirl of precise motion in her final preparation and took pause to dream about the moment to come.”

On my skin Atelier Cologne Grand Neroli opens with an uplifting and sheer smell of neroli. It has that beautiful and soft, delicate texture. It’s like the smell of white flower petals the moment the Sun awakes in the morning to announce the beginning of a new day. The ground is still cold and everything is covered with dew drops. That’s the refreshing feel I get from the first waft of this scent.

Very shortly the Cologne Absolue develops a green and aromatic smell of orange leaves – petitgrain gives a crispy feeling to the scent with its rustling foliage. This aromatic and truly mediterranean note brings a smile to my face. At the very start of Grand Neroli there’s also a bright smell of citrus which immediately disappears – it returns after ten minutes. Combined bergamots and lemons come back with a juicy and slightly sweet, slightly sour smell, not as bright as in the opening though.

After around 25 minutes, when the entire smell of citrus and almost whole neroli dissipate, Grand Neroli takes a turn and starts to walk the woody path. Woods in this particular perfume composition are very light, both in intensity and color. They’re rather smooth, like a drift wood rounded by the waves of the ocean. There’s a great twist to this fragrance in the form of oakmoss.

One doesn’t often find oakmoss in neroli-centered perfume. Here, it fits in perfectly bringing the raw and a little bit rough feeling of the forest and shrub. Galbanum adds density to Grand Neroli and it also make the oakmoss really stand out for a while in the composition. I might not be a great fan of this resin but I found this Atelier Cologne perfume to be a hit for me, no matter what’s inside of it.

Woodsy feeling is continued for a little while longer with a birch leaf. While I was testing this fragrance the woody stage lasted on my skin for around 45 minutes to 1 hour, quite long, don’t you think? When it reaches its drydown, which happens at the moment of 2 – 2,5 hours on my skin the scent mellows. It becomes much softer and it quiets down. It also warms up.

Now cosy and soft musk hovers just few centimeters above my body, embracing with an invisible veil. White amber brings more sensuality and makes me feel very comfortable with Grand Neroli. A hint of vanilla sweetness tops the composition, leaving me in a fragrant heaven. To be honest with you, this Atelier Cologne scent is a dream. It’s unpretentious, complex enough to draw attention but not too complex to twist your brain or make you tired. It feels perfect wearing this Cologne Absolue.

To me Grand Neroli is a great choice for summer. You can spray it in the morning and then go to the beach, go sightseeing. You can also wear it to a party in the summer club. It’s concentrated at 15% and it’s rather light. Its sillage isn’t very big and longevity is around 4-5 hours. Don’t be afraid, be generous to yourself and spray a lot of it. It’s sheer and transparent veil is also perfect for re-applying during a day. A spritz here and there will make you feel refreshed and with more energy.

Grand Neroli, created for Atelier Cologne by Cecile Krakower was launched in 2010. It’s available in many different sizes and options. You can have it in 200ml and 100ml bottles, as a 30ml petit flacon, as a 7,5ml travel spray (available only in voyage set with 6 other Cologne Absolues). To pamper your body you can purchase a soap scented with Grand Neroli or you can introduce this great fragrance to your house with a candle. Samples and sample sets are also available on-site.

Tagged , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Would bathe in it, Atelier Cologne Grand Néroli

  1. Dearest Lucas
    This does sound quite lovely… and what better recommendation could there be than your being prepared, even wanting, to bathe in it!
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • lucasai says:

      It’s absolutely gorgeous!
      I highly recomment the entire Atelier Cologne line but Grand Neroli is especially sheer, summery and easy to love.

      • Dearest Lucas
        I’ve tried quite a few and found some to be too studied and lacking in passion… I particularly didn’t like Rose which lived up to its name ‘Anononyme’, but this sounds rather different.
        Yours ever
        The Perfumed Dandy

        • lucasai says:

          I see, well – I find them all lovely, but that’s because I like this style of making fragrances. And I love Rose Anonyme.
          As always – everyone should suit themselves

          • Dearest Lucas
            Absolutely!
            It’s interesting, this brand seems to provoke quite a lot of love in rather a lot of reviewers on line and something like, well, boredom, in others.
            I wonder whether there are elements here that do it for some and are almost not there at all to others.
            I went and tried this one after (inspir of I should sy) Smellythoughts’ review and found myself at one with him.
            Vive la difference!
            Yours ever
            The Perfumed Dandy

            • lucasai says:

              I find this brand great, you find it boring. But the opposite thing applies to the other brands you might like when I despise them

  2. Quite so Lucas…
    I’m agreeing with you!!
    It’s everyone’s differing takes on perfumes, the fact that our preferences are so personal that makes the subject so fascinating.
    So sorry if I’ve been misunderstood.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

  3. Coincidentally, I tried this line for the first time yesterday (Sous le Toit de Paris) and while I disliked it in the beginning, by the end of the day it was close to a love. Will have to try this one next; you’ve made it sound absolutely delightful!

    • lucasai says:

      I think that your first impression was because of the Sous le Toit de Paris which is probably the toughest one to fall in love with immediately.
      But I’m ultra happy to hear that your feelings changed to love by the end of the day.
      Grand Neroli is delighftul.
      And if you need more recommendations for Atelier Cologne scents – check out my previous revious from the house or just ask and I’ll tell you what’s worth the sniff 😉

      • Will do…did you do a review of Rose Anonyme? (I am replying from the phone now.) Would like to try that one next!

        • lucasai says:

          Yes, I’ve written a review of Rose Anonyme in the past, you’ll find a link in the “reviews” section.

          Actually Rose Anonyme is my favorite Atelier Cologne so far. But the new Silver Iris is as good (if not better)

    • hajusuuri says:

      I want to bathe in Sous le Toit de Paris!

  4. lorraine says:

    I’d bathe in this too! Wonderful detailed review as always.

  5. Annina says:

    Oh this sounds so lovely! I have been curious about this line. AND I have been on a Neroli bender lately – this is now on the top of my must-try list!

    • lucasai says:

      Atelier Cologne is a great and quite varied line. I love all but 2 scents that give me mixed feelings.
      Happy my review made Grand Neroli and AC move to the top of your list

  6. Kafkaesque says:

    I’m so glad you found a fragrance that you love so much, Lucas. I know Rose Anonyme is your favorite of the line, but this sounds like a close second. I think I may have a sample, so I’m looking forward to trying it. I know I’ll think of you whenever I try anything from the line. 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, rose anonyme is my number 1, but I’m starting to think new Silver Iris (yes, I tired it) may change that. I’m definitely buying this iris. I think you’d like gold leather. Grand neroli is super cool. I’d love to hear your thougts on it and other AC scents.

  7. hajusuuri says:

    Dearest Lucas, what a lovely review. I just love the Atelier Cologne line. I know I had smelled this before on paper strip at the Atelier Cologne boutique and also have a sample. When I have skin time, this WILL get skin time. As to their soaps, they are very well made and last forever. Right now, I am on Orange Sanguine. The first one I tried was Oolang Infini — I could barely smell the cologne in liquid form but the soap was wonderful.

    My favorite is Sous le Toit de Paris and as I commented above, I want to bathe in it. It is just too bad that there is no soap version of this. The closest scent to it in soap form is Trefle Pur which I have waiting in the wings to use next!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks sweetie! I know you’re with me and Daisy as a fan of Atelier Cologne. Their scents are just great.
      With this new Collection Metal they’ll be introducing in a couple of weeks they bring a new quality again. Silver Iris and Gold Leather are both divine, or course that iris will be mine.
      I’m looking forward to Grand Neroli getting a skin time on you, you’ll enjoy it for sure.
      I’ve never tried AC soaps, would love to have a Rose Anonyme soap. Do they have a strong smell. Does the scent stay on skin for long?

      • hajusuuri says:

        :-p Do you see my tongue hanging out waiting until the day I can try Silver Iris and Gold Leather?

        As to the soaps, they smell really good in the shower but the scent does not stick to skin which is perfect for me. I don’t like to smell perfumes all day long, specially late at night as I am getting ready to go to sleep. I don’t ever spray my pillow / sheets with perfume.

        • lucasai says:

          Yes, I see it! 😉 I’m sure you’ll love this new two. When I read about them I immediately had a thought – “they could do a lavender one and call it Platinum Lavender”

          Those soaps sound great with a scent staying in the shower and quickly fading on skin after towel drying.

  8. I am a huge fan of the line and love to support them. Grand Néroli didn’t work for me when I tried it (can’t remember why), but tastes change and who knows! I should try it again. Thanks for the wonderful review, Lucas!

    • lucasai says:

      High five, Atelier Cologne fans!
      You live nearby their boutique, right?

      I hope you’ll like it the next time you try Grand Neroli, maybe the first time you tried was a bad one for such scent

  9. Undina says:

    One more fan ofthe line here 🙂
    Grand Néroli is very nice… I would have bought that travel set if I haven’t had already two bottles and one travel spray… Probably I’ll go for a decant at some point.

    Very nice review, Lucas. I hope it’ll create some lemmings for people to try it.

  10. Natalie says:

    This is a great title for the post! 🙂

  11. […] This post has been reblogged from Chemist In The Bottle […]

Leave a Reply

