Tireless and fearless sand dunes wanderer, Tauer No. 02 L’Air du Desert Marocain

Andy Tauer, a self-taught Swiss perfumer (and a chemist!) began his perfume career by creating Tauer Perfumes in 2005. That year he released 2 fragrances, a feminine Le Maroc pour Elle and L’Air du Desert Marocain, a first masculine fragrance in the line. For these days it remains one of the most valued scents in the line. This perfume embodies a man on a lone trip through the hot sand dunes of Maroccan desert. Step by step he continued his journey to the unknown place. His footprints in the sand prove he was there but even these traces will disappear soon.

L’Air du Desert Marocain begins a little bit aldehydic on me. For a first minute or two I get the specific aroma of oily, saturated notes that represent the group of aldehydes in perfumery. This impression doesn’t last long. Very shortly, at the moment of 5 minutes upon application I’m all surrounded by a cloud of aromatic things. First of all there’s caraway – warm like someone put it in the pan and roasted for a couple of minutes to release its aroma.

There’s also something sweaty in this note but this time it is not bothering me at all. In fact I like this stage of Tauer No. 02. Few minutes later I start to smell something more resinous and kind of piney in this caraway chord. The next moment coriander makes its entrance by bringing warm and dry feeling to the perfume. It totally makes me think of a sand that got hot because of the direct sunlight.

Actual amber accord appears now. In my case “now” means 25-30 minutes after spraying. It is a lovely and refined amber. Amber is the treasure of the ocean, right? In L’Air du Desert Marocain it’s rather a treasure of the forest or a desert because it hides an impressive woody element. I can smell a balmy, resinous aroma that is probably sourced from immortelle or some kind of a desert shrub. Some time later the woodsy tones become more pronounced. Cedar wood in this creation is dry and rather raw, with rough edges. After a while it develops slightly salty and animalic smell of a sweating body. I’m not going to rave about the sweaty skin but it feels very suitable for this fragrance.

The impression of woody sweat I got somehow amplified the spicy note of caraway. It makes it return now, slightly stronger than previously and also slightly different in smell than in the initial part of L’Air du Desert Marocain. There’s something in this ingredient now that makes me think of words like “spicy”, “fresh”, “warm”, “embracing”. I find it amusing that a note that I usually don’t like can be so enjoyable to me in this scent.

The woody and delicately rooty-earthy aroma of vetiver reaches my nose after an hour. Once again since it’s a vetiver in more woody aspect I have no reason to moan about Andy using this essence for his perfume creation. At 1,5 hours mark the fragrance got more dusty and I think it is petitgrain that can be found in the notes list. On my skin this note often smells like dusted plant. Couple of hours more and I get the smallest hint of floral quality from jasmine. Not very strong, rather airy, fleeting and hard to materialize among the powerful ambery ingredients.

I like everything about this perfume. I like the name that suits the fragrance incredibly well since the perfume itself actually smells like a hot air somewhere in the middle of the desert in Marocco. The powerful projection is the one to die for, I wish some of my other favorites left such a great aura around me when I wear them. Finally I like the pentagonal bottle made of blue glass.

L’Air du Desert Marocain is a perfume crafted by Andy Tauer himself. This fragrance is an eau de toilette intense and is available in 50ml blue glass pentagonal bottles. A while ago all Tauer fragrances were packaged in metal boxes but there’s a recent change and now they come in rectangular metal cans with a sliding mechanism. This perfume has an intensive projection which gets lower on my skin scarcely after 6 hours while the scents lasts at least twice this time.

Tagged , , ,

15 thoughts on “Tireless and fearless sand dunes wanderer, Tauer No. 02 L’Air du Desert Marocain

  1. Jordan River says:

    Never tried it but this sounds enticing especially the jasmine tweak which will be fun to find the way you describe it. Great to hear that this has had longevity since 2005.

    • lucasai says:

      This is a very long-lasting perfume, don’t let the eau de toilette intense mislead you.
      Andy really does high quality offerings. I love his Reverie au Jardin and Noontide Petals too.

  2. poodle says:

    I don’t get any of the sweaty spice notes in this. On my skin it’s mostly a dry, powdery amber type of scent. It is very dusty and dry like you say. I like it a lot but it’s not quite FB worthy for me yet. I’ve fallen harder for some of Andy’s other scents.

    • lucasai says:

      LDDM is definitely dry and dusty kind of amber.
      I wouldn’t mind having a decant, a bottle wood be too much, I’d rather have a FB of his Reverie au Jardin.
      Which Andy’s perfume you find most appealing?

  3. Mary K says:

    I get the dusty and dry amber, with a little spice and jasmine when I put this one on. I find that it does last a long time & has a good amount of sillage. It’s my favorite Andy Tauer, but I also really enjoy Orange Star and Une Rose Vermeille.

  4. Undina says:

    L’Air du Desert Marocain is one of my few favorites in the line. I’m not sure I need a bottle of it but I definitely want a decant.
    Nice review, Lucas. The only thing I “disagree”: I do not feel it as a masculine perfume, for me it’s as in the middle as they come.

  5. Tara says:

    I also get a dry dusty amber, with some incense undertones from LADDM. I love this one and get compliments when wearing it. It is my second favorite Andy Tauer, after Incense Extreme, but I also have and love Une Rose Vermeille and Orange Star.

  6. hajusuuri says:

    I have to dig out my sample. I remember liking it but definitely not as much as Zeta and Reverie au Jardin. I am also curious to see the new packaging. Andy seems to like those sliding covers, just like how the 5-sample sets are packaged.

  7. Jordan River says:

    Ah, yes, a two line title. Very tweetable too!

Leave a Reply

