6 perfumes with an autumn approval

September is slowly coming to an end. Long and bright days of summer are over. Every week as I look at the trees I see more and more colors appearing in the parks. Each day it gets more yellow, red and brown while the green color slowly fades away. Autumn is near and there’s nothing you can really do about it. Well, you can always move to a country when it’s always warm, even in winter or you can go somewhere when there are no actual seasons. Personally, I wouldn’t bother to do that.

I really like autumn. It’s one of those specific periods of the year when everything slows down and it kind of matches my personality that doesn’t like to live in a hurry. I’m a calm man, kind of contemplative person who likes to read a book drinking hot tea from a huge cup, with some scented candles lit in the room. And I love walking in the park, when there’s a thick carpet of fallen leaves. I like the way they rustle under my feet. It reminds me of my dog, she loved playing with leaves.

If where you live there are temperate seasons like there are in Poland you’re probably doing the same thing as me – rearranging your fragrance wardrobe. It’s time to hide the sweet citrus, neroli and lighter perfumes to the back of the wardrobe and bring some heavier, smokier compositions that will suit the Autumn scenery. I thought I would share with you a list of perfumes that get an approval stamp from Autumn and from me.

  • Atelier Cologne Silver Iris – this newest Cologne Absolue is simply made to be worn on foggy, autumn days. The opening is made of tangerine that brings sweetness and blackcurrant that provides light tartiness to the lightly spicy smell of pink pepper. The iris is slightly powdery with delicate rooty feeling and it’s crisp like autumn evenings thanks to violet leaf. Drydown is warm and cuddly, with musk, amber & patchouli.
  • Carner Barcelona Rima XI – this stunning fragrance from Spain will spice up your day. It’s loaded with cardamom, vanilla and amber. It smells of roasted wallnuts and warm spices such as cinnamon, coriander, pepper and saffron. To me it brings the feeling of baking an apple pie. There’s a lot of melancholy to that scent and it’s a one of a kind perfume which is definitely worth trying this season! You know I love D600 and Tardes, right? Rima XI is just as good!
  • Sonoma Scent Studio Sienna Musk – this lovely perfume from Laurie Ericson is one of my favorites in the line.Β  It combines a mild juiciness of mandarin orange with a sweet smell of spicy cloves you could use to make a compote. All these tasty things happen over a creamy base made of sandalwood and musk. This fragrance is a perfect thing to bring some more light to your cloudy afternoons spent at reading a book or watching TV.
  • Ramon Monegal Barcelona Cuirelle – Autumn is the best time to pull out some light leathers from our perfume cabinets (I’ll leave those heavier ones for winter) and Cuirelle is a perfect one to go with. It smells more like a suede accord, paired with beeswax sweetness, incense to bring more smoky feeling but most of all to introduce the dominant balmy vibe with some woody tones. Cuirelle is like soft gloves on a rainy morning in October.
  • Parfum d’Empire Eau Suave – this Sweet Water is amazing, it has all the best to offer. A plushy, velvet rose surrounded by a beautiful, jammy saffron and warm, spicy coriander. All this with an addition of raspberries, red berries, pepper, hints of lactonic peach and of course – oakmoss, a signature of every Marc-Antoine Corticchiato creations.
  • Aedes de Venustas Iris Nazarena – iris is a love for me and it feels very suitable for an autumn weather. In Iris Nazarena you’ll find a wonderful, rooty iris which is preceded by a smell of ash. Later on incense appears on the skin. Pairing of iris and incense is not very common which makes this new perfume something very unique and worth discovering. If you’re a fan of iris perfumes you should go ahead and give it a try. Be warned, it’s addictive!

I hope you enjoyed reading my short impressions of perfumes that in my opinion are absolute hits in terms of wearing them in the unpredictable Autumn weather. Did any of the six fragrances above awakened more curiosity in your perfumista mind? What kind of perfumes are you going to wear when all the leaves turn red? Do you have any season favorites? Do you adjust your wardrobe to the seasons? Do tell in the comments!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

50 thoughts on “6 perfumes with an autumn approval

  1. jilliecat says:

    That’s a beautiful list of fragrances which seem to echo the melancholy of the season, but which also soothe the sadness with the warmth of spices and the cosy comfort of wood. Someone once told me that people who enjoy Autumn are likely to be calm and content, and will face their later years with serenity.

    I’m looking forward to wearing my good old faithful – vintage Guerlain Samsara extrait.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Jillie!
      I think that Autumn is a time of the year to wear mildly spicy scents, warm roses, something with a hint of smoke or fire.
      Ohh… that sounds beautiful. I’m sure the person who told you that was very gentle and emotional.

      I’m sure you’ll enjoy Samsara when the leaves turn red.

      BTW! I enjoyed your BdJ post Jillie, sorry I didn’t comment, was pretty busy with my internship work.

  2. poodle says:

    I love autumn. It just seems like it never lasts long enough and too soon we are freezing and buried in snow. The only downside is having to rake all those pretty leaves. And acorns, I hate when there’s a lot of acorns to rake up. I love the scents of autumn as well. I often wear my scents year-round but certain ones do really shine in cooler weather. This fall I think I need to find a nice amber scent to add to the collection.

  3. For some reason I am lamenting Fall this year. Maybe it’s time to move to a warmer climate. Even though it’s fun to break out the “autumn scents”, I just can’t get into to it. But I’ll try today because it does seem a bit cool outside so I’m going to for Chypre Palatin by MDCI today. And for Eau Suave, I drained my bottle last year, you just reminded me how much I love it. Nice list Lucas.

  4. hajusuuri says:

    I love love love Fall! You have a very nice list. Appropriate or not, I am in Guerlain SDV (today), Bvlgari Black and Tonka Imperiale heaven – notice the lack of florals! I haven”t yet decided which other ones will be in heavy rotation but this post and the comments have given me some ideas.

    • lucasai says:

      Yippie! You smell nice. Spiritueuse Double Vanille didn’t work for me. Too cloying stuff for my tastes. Tonka Imperiale, that’s better πŸ˜‰
      I’m sure you’ll smell delicious this fall.

  5. Juraj says:

    I love all of the mentioned perfumes…
    What to say, similar taste sometimes! πŸ˜‰

  6. shellyw says:

    In the San Francisco Bay Area there is not much season change, fog, some, rain, they never are very extreme feeling to me. Perfume season changing must therefore be in my head.

    I am slowly beginning to wear more woody and leather scents, although I just put on Rose Ikanbana sample this morning so I am a bit random. I have read SO MANY wonderful reviews including yours about Aedes de Venustas Iris Nazarena, I have got to get a sample some way.

    • lucasai says:

      I see Shelly! So you don’t get much of a beautiful autumn. That’s too bad…

      I don’t like Rose Ikebana. All Hermes works are too watery and pale for me.

      Can’t you get Iris Nazarena sample directly from Aedes? They sell samples, don’t they?

    • hajusuuri says:

      Whatever happened to “the coldest winter was the summer I spent in San Francisco”? For a number of years in the late 80s / early 90s, I visited my brother 1-2x per year and learned to pack a heavy coat no matter what time of year, especially summer, as it got downright frigid!

  7. I love fall too! It’s my favorite season. Currently rotated out of my are more tropical fragrances (goodbye Kenzo Jungle, Mango Manga, Bomblay Bling). Normally fall is when I start pulling out the big orientals (Shalimar, Coromandel), but I’m feeling much more contemplative this year. So subtle fragrances are how I feel. I’ve actually got spot on a split of Gaiac 10 . . . which I want more than a new iphone right now πŸ™‚

    One more thing, dearest Lucas: your writing keeps getting better and better my dear πŸ™‚ Bravo on another beautifully written post!

    • lucasai says:

      Great to see another Autumn lover! I think Bombay Bling can be still worn in early Autumn πŸ˜‰
      Oh, Coromandel gives me bad shivers (I don’t like it) but I do like Shalimar, my mum has a decant of it.
      Gaiac 10 you say. I think I got a sample of it from a friend. Will have to check that out when I’m back from Warsaw at the end of the week.

      Aww… that’s so sweet of you. Thanks a lot!

      • I’ve been on such an incense kick lately. I just want to smell like smoke and something contemplative. I think you would like Gaiac 10, it’s very subtle. A friend told me that it smells like ink — and from a writer, that was a nice compliment!

        Try it and tell!

        • lucasai says:

          I find Iris Nazarena incense to be great and CdG Kyoto and Olivier Durbano Pink Quartz as well. Those are some incenses I like.

          Sure, I will try it the next day after I land home! Might even review it if I like it a lot.

    • hajusuuri says:

      My dear baconbiscuit, you probably already know but just in case you didn’t, Barneys has the entire City Exclusives line in-store for the next few weeks. The Beauty Event is late this year – it starts on October 15. Anyway, all this to say I must take a walk up soon to get my sniffas in ~ I now have a lemming for Gaiac 10 and I probably need it for its calming properties!

  8. Hope that you are having a great time in Warsaw! Can’t wait to hear your impressions. Gaiac 10 is addictive.

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks! I’m having a good time, helping at the perfume boutique before I go back to university very soon.
      In next post a couple of details will be revealed πŸ˜‰

  9. Mary K says:

    I am in the US Midwest and this week we are enjoying warm weather. (It’s in the seventies). Although I am thinking about what I will start out wearing when it get cooler, I am still wearing summery scents. For fall, I like amber and have Histoires de Parfums Ambre 114 and Reminiscence Ambre ready for when it gets a little cooler. I also like spiced fruit smells and I get that from Frapin 1270 and Biehl al02. From your list, I think I must try Carner Barcelona Rima XI and Parfums d’Empire Eau Suave.

  10. I love fall. We had a few days of fall-ish weather after a cool front came through. It’s back in the 90s today, though. I’m ready for fall perfumes. A very sweet perfume fairy sent me a decant of Hermes Ambre Narguile for my birthday (which is today). I love it, and it’s going to be perfect for fall. I also just got a sample of SSS Tabac Aurea, which I’m excited about.

    • lucasai says:

      I haven’t tried Ambre Narguile (I don’t care for Hermes)
      Tabac Aurea is stunning πŸ™‚

      • AN is still worth a try, I think. Hermes is hit and miss for me. I love Elixir de Merveilles and like 24 Faubourg but most of the others haven’t done much for me. I wasn’t terribly impressed with the other Hermessences I’ve tried but I did like this one quite a bit. That said, it also reminded me a lot of Ginestet Botrytis, which is $140 cheaper.

  11. Undina says:

    Even though we don’t get real Fall where I live, when the season comes (by calendar) I do the perfumes rotation moving towards more amber and other “heavier perfumes.”

    I like your list (BTW, Silver Iris is really nice, I liked it a lot πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

