Weekend poll – favorite perfume bottle shape

The weekend is almost there and I thought it’s time to bring some more excitement to the crowd by introducing another weekend poll. You like those polls, don’t you? This time the question is a really simple one so I’m counting on many answers. If I get enough, I will make some statistics. Here it comes! Are you ready to have some fun? I’m excited to see your answers!

What’s your favorite perfume bottle shape?

To make things easier I decided to distinguish few shape groups you can chose from

  • Cylindrical shaped bottles – usually tall flacons with a round base, just like those from Parfum d’Empire, Nu_Be, Juliette Has a Gun.
  • Rectangular shaped bottles – probably the most common shape for perfume bottles nowadays. They come in different ratio of width, height and depth. Bottles like these are represented by Annick Goutal, Profumum Roma, majority of Prada scents.
  • Rounded bottles – not very common. Bottles of this shape usually have thinner walls and should be made of stronger glass. Arquiste and DKNY Be Delicious line come in this shape.
  • Cube shaped bottles – these are some heavy and hefty bottle that usually have a thicker bottom. This shape is represented by Carner Barcelona, Shiseido Zen or Ramon Molvizar Black Cube. And there’s also Encre Noire from Lalique.
  • Column shaped bottles – in this category fall all the flacons with equal side walls built around a square, pentagonal, hexagonal etc. base. L’Artisan Parfumeur, Gucci Envy, Eau d’Italie, Lorenzo Villoresi – this is a place for them all!
  • Fancy & sophisticated bottles – if your favorite bottle doesn’t fit in the previous 5 categories, it will probably find its place here. Irregular shapes, artistic design and invention rule here. Bottles from Andy Tauer, Thierry Mugler, Majda Bekkali, many Comme des Garcons and your beloved Serge Luten Bell Jars all belong here.

To which out of these 6 groups does your favorite bottle classify? I like simplicity so my favorite bottle shape is rectangular but I also fancy the cylindrical bottles from Parfum d’Empire, they fit well in the hand. I also have a one cube-shaped bottle (Carner Barcelona D600) but rectangular is in the lead in my perfume wardrobe (10 flacons of this shape). Which bottle shape is to your fancy?

Tagged , , ,

62 thoughts on “Weekend poll – favorite perfume bottle shape

  1. Ines says:

    I’d go with cube and sophisticated. I love Serge Lutens bell jars. 🙂

  2. Maria Ho says:

    I am all for the rectangulars and the cubes – makes it lot easier to cram in a lot of bottles in your cupboard ;). The Serge Lutens export line bottles are particularly shelf space saving. I also appreciate the cubes for their heft. Dior Homme is imho a masterpiece in bottle design, with Gucci Homme as a runner up.
    No rules without exceptions though – I adore all Shalimar bottles including the flankers.
    Happy weekend to all!

  3. Jordan River says:

    Not sure if our definitions of excitement are the same however I will say I like rounded if it has the heft and hand fit of Arquiste and then interesting ( as in your Fancy and Sophisticated option ) . My favourite bottle is Encre Noir but I would not like all bottles to be a variation of that eg: that pesky new M7 look. So having got this excited my final choice would be your last category.

  4. poodle says:

    I love the fancy ones. I want a pretty bottle to look at. Some of the other shapes are nice and it really depends on the perfume and the line I guess but if given the option I want fancy. I do like the square bottles for their classic look and the fact that they take up less room on the shelf.

  5. Sabine says:

    I like simple shapes. My favourite is cylindrical, but not like the PdE ones you mentioned, more the short and chubby ones, like the Byredo, Ann Gerard and Linari bottles.
    Can I alsomention the ugliest bottel shape of the year? Pleats Please.

  6. I don’t care as long as they feel substantial and of quality. There is nothing worse than a cheap looking bottle. For example Maitre Parfumeur et Gantier’s bottles look great, until you get up close and they have that plastic bulb on top with the plastic ruby. Hate that.

  7. Selina says:

    Fancy and Sophisticated bottles please! I’d also include classics such as Caron’s ‘Narcisse Noir’, Guerlain’s ‘Vol de Nuit’ & ‘Mitsouko’ or Chanel No 5 -where (although the bottles are sometime square, oblong or rounded) the elegant bottle design is key. If only bottles today were still designed with a similar level of creativity! I also agree with The Scented Hound – todays fancy designs are so often ruined with cheap detailing. Anthropologie’s Happ & stahns ‘Rose alba’ is spoilt by the cheap plastic detailing when you look at it closely. It would otherwise be quite lovely. Still in theory I would prefer to see a few more fancy designs and to see as much artistry going into the bottle as into the scent. Current attitude seems to be that an exquisite bottle detracts from the scent, rather than enhances it. Although i suspect pricepoint also has the main impact on the limitations of bottle design today. However we all know that perfume purchases are not ‘necessary’, but luxury ones -and so i think the bottles should also be allowed to compliment that more often.

  8. Annina says:

    I like the variety. Some of my favorites: MFK LNPF, Hermes Elixir de Merv, Malle, Chanel Exclusivs, Guerlain bee bottles and heart stopper bottles, SJP Lovely’s egg, Tom Ford Black Orchid, Dior’s Dolce Vita.

    I do not like Lutens’ rectangular bottles, Dior’s collection bottles, or anything else that’s too plain. I like bottles to feel substantial, and fit the feel of the fragrance. One of my all-time favorite perfumes is Calvin Klein’s Truth, but the bottle doesn’t fit the scent at all. It fits the late 90s though…

    • lucasai says:

      I would classify MFK bottles as cubes, they’re “almost there”
      Chanel Exclusifs bottles are nice. I wonder if that feeling lasts when seeing an actual bottle. Haven’t seen one with my eyes.

  9. ringthing says:

    Fun poll! My favorites aren’t fancy and sophisticated, more like retro and tacky 🙂 I have a weakness for older bottles like the ones by Rochas and Parfums Gres: Tocade, Cabaret, Absolu, and Femme. On the other end of the spectrum, I also love the rectangular bottles of Lutens and Chanel, and the sleek ribbed flacon Tom Ford uses for his signature lin.

  10. Mary K says:

    I like the fact that there are so many different bottle shapes and types. And I do like the unique or fancy ones. However, I’d have to say that my favorite type is the rounded (or even egg shaped) bottles, as they are easy to hold and spray. I also like the lily pad shaped bottle, but mostly for the looks, as they can be hard to hold and spray if too large.

  11. Mary K says:

    Yes, the Donna Karan Black Cashmere type bottle is what I am thinking of with regard to the egg shape. It fits right in the hand and I like that.

  12. Heya Lucasz,
    Part of me loves the clean lines of Chanel, Divine, Goutal men, Serge Lutens and Robert Piguet. Then another thinks about how much I love the columns of L’Artisan, Ineke and Malle. Not a minute later I’m thinking Shalimar, Dali, Bellodgia, Huitieme, Mahora and Womanity win the prize with their exquisite beauty.
    I do get a bit fearful when I think of some of the Celebrity Monstrosities that you could call bottles though, Nikki Minaj, Rhianna, Beyonce and Justin Bieber have all made visual pollution marketable, some of those bottles bring me out in hives.
    Portia x

  13. TF (TheFumehead) says:

    Well my favorite bottles in my cdont pick ollection are I Kenzo Flower ( bent column?) Amour (I don’t even know what shape that is), Womanity (warrior princess face and chains) and Hypnotic poison/lolita lempicka (apples). So I guess the category that best describes me would be fancy, but I have always liked a bit of kitsch.
    Of course, I don’t pick my scents based on the bottle, but a snazzy bottle never hurts.

  14. Barbara says:

    TheF
    TheFumehead beat me to it! I have a soft spot in my heart for the Hypnotic Poison bottle and like L de Lolita Lempicka, and Black Cashmere. so I guess I’m in the kitschy category. But not the tacky category- if I never see the Nikki Minaj bottle again it will be too soon!

  15. Dionne says:

    Hmmm, this one’s tough, because I love the variety of them all. I think the Tauer bottle is gorgeous, love my Parfum d’Empire and Ineke bottles, my ELPC Tuberose Gardenia in parfum is soooo pretty, and Dior Homme has some lovely heft to it. I guess I’ll go for the Fancy/Sophisticated category just because I’m not limiting myself to one shape. 😉

    What’s most important to me is weight. I love any bottle that feels substantial.

    • lucasai says:

      Alright, counting you for the sophisticated category! Even for me it was hard to decide just on one category.

      I’m with you for the bottles that need to have some weight and feeling in the hand.

  16. I guess if I had to pick one category I’d say I like the fancy bottles. I do like an interesting bottle, though overall it’s not really a consideration in whether I buy a perfume.

  17. Undina says:

    I love the poll!

    It’s not hard for me to answer since I was just thinking about this recently (it falls into the topic about which I’m trying to write a post). I realized that I do not like that brands make their perfumes in a standard bottle even though I might like the bottle itself. I want each perfume to be unique. Not all perfumes have to be Shalimar or Vol de Nuit (though the nicest should!); it might be the same shape but a different color of the bottle or a different label. A different ribbon around the bottle neck doesn’t do it for me.

    So my answer will be – a fancy bottle (but beyond just an interesting form for the whole line – bell jars or pentagonal bottles). As a favorite bottle (not the perfume itself) I’ll name Salvador Dali Laguna.

    • lucasai says:

      Glad you like the question this week 🙂

      What a coincidence you had something similar in your mind. Hope my poll won’t stop you from writing your article.

      So you prefer bottles that are more fancy. According to what you say I assume that bottles such as Amouage work for you because each one is in a different color. So Penhaligon’s don’t work for you or do they?

      • Undina says:

        Penhaligon’s have different labels, right? Theoretically, I like that – I just haven’t found a single Penhaligon’s perfume I want to add to the collection yet. Maybe the one with lily-of-the-valley but I do not need 50 ml of it! But bottle-wise they are better than, let’s say, those exclusive Chanels or Diors that I like but that all come in standard (though very nice, I admit) bottles. Maybe it’s a reason I have just one FB from each of those lines?

        And no, the topic I’m covering in my post intersects with this poll but doesn’t coincide completely. But I might use your results 🙂 You’ll see.

        • lucasai says:

          Yes, Penhaligon’s have different labels and ribbons.
          Maybe that Iris Prima would be the first for you (and for me) to add to our collections.
          I don’t like the look of Dior private collection but I like Chanels but my opinion is not 100% true as I have never seen those bottles in real life.
          I’d be curious to see what you’re preparing.

  18. Suzy Q says:

    My favorite bottle is Angel edp, the star one that lies flat. I love picking it up and holding it in my hand. Alas, I seldom wear it any longer.
    This one falls under the fancy category.

  19. Rounded or cylindrical for me, but only for practical reasons, as I find them easier to hold.
    I have a hard time with bigger, rectangular bottles such as those from the Library Collection or Olfactive Studio.
    My favorite bottles include the Ramón Monegal and Neela Vermeire Créations series.

    Caro

  20. hajusuuri says:

    I love polls. First, I’ll put my perfume bottle preference in the sophisticated/fancy category…of course, hands down, The Precioussssssssss Bell Jars are the most sophisticated. Also in the same category, I also quite like the half round Hermes Eau Claire des Merveilles (flankers +++) but only in the 50 mLs…the 100 mLs is too big for my relatively small hands. I know kitschy is not a category for the poll but if it were to be…Hermes Voyage d’Hermes and the Be Delicious bottles will make it to my favorites. Finally, as far as “normal” bottles are concerned, I prefer the short/squat but hefty. I would dearly love to get an empty 1 oz bottle of Florabotanica (hate the juice but oh the bottle).

    Regarding the Nicki Minaj, i saw the first one and the new one side by side today at Lord & Taylor and without the heads, the bodies just look like a more voluptuous version of the Jean Paul Galtier bottles.

    • lucasai says:

      I love you too! 😀
      Of course it’s Bell Jars for you. As much as I try to like them – I just can’t. Everything without an atomiser seems impractical to me.
      I remember you told me once about your Merveilles bottle issues.

      LoL at that comparison with JPG!

  21. missionista says:

    Fancy/Sophisticated. I also like tall bottles that are mostly rectangular, but with rounded “shoulders” like some Hermes bottles.

    BTW, Hi! I found this blog from your posts on NST perfume.

  22. Laurels says:

    My vote goes to your “fancy” category. I agree with Undina that each perfume, not just each line, should be recognizable from its bottle. From a practical standpoint, however, and speaking as a klutz, a smallish, rounded bottle is the easiest shape to deal with. A perfume I just bought came in an irritatingly tall bottle that doesn’t fit anywhere and could be easily knocked over, and I ended up buying a travel atomizer so I could keep the bottle in its box and only deal with it occasionally. I suppose I’d like distinctive, but not unwieldy, bottles.

  23. My favourite bottle is Fragile and I wish that I didn’t throw it out in my pre perfume loving days. I definitely prefer the ‘fancy’ category. I love the shape of the bell jars and I like the shape of the Tauer’s also. Saying that I also rate the classic qualities of the Chanels and older Guerlains as well. But put me down for ‘fancy’. Too many ugly bottles to mention really. But worst is definitely Nicky Minaj.

  24. […] the last week’s poll Lucas asked his readers which shape of a perfume bottles they preferred. Most people voted for a “fancy” type, which was a catch-all type for everything that […]

  25. escritora says:

    I definitely prefer minimalistic shape of bottles, and for me rectangular ones are truly beautiful.

    Pozdrawiam 🙂

Leave a Reply

