St Nicholas Day sparkling frosty glaze cupcakes

6th day of December is celebrated in Poland as St Nicholas birthday or simply St Nicholas Day. For us it’s a prelude to the Christmas season for it’s the day when people exchange tiny gifts, especially the sweet ones. Little presents made of chocolate are the most popular here. Candy stores are now filled with choco figurines that are shaped like raindeers or silhouette of a Santa Claus.

The day like this requires a little bit of delicious self indulgence so I thought it would be a good day to make sparkling frosty glaze cupcakes for this occasion. It’s holiday after all, right? And I will surprise my parents who are currently on a trip to Rome and will be returning tomorrow, by serving these tasty little cakes as they come home on Saturday. Let’s get cooking!

To bake the cupcakes with a sparkling frosty glaze you need:

  • 2 glasses of flour (~260 grams)
  • 1/3 glass of fine sugar (~45 grams)
  • 1 tablespoon of baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon of baking powder
  • 1 small bag of vanilla sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 apple
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 glass of oil (~120 mls)
  • 300 grams of yoghurt

In one bowl combine: flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla sugar and cinnamon and mix it. Add eggs to the 2nd bowl, scramble them a little, then add oil and yoghurt and stir to obtain a homogenous mixture. Take 1/2 of an apple, cut off the peel and chop into thin slices, then cut each slice into smaller pieces, they can’t be too big! Now go back to the bowls. Pour the moist content of bowl 2 into the bowl 1 with dry ingredients and stir it all fast to obtain a batter, don’t care about the papules. Now it’s time to add apple piece and mix to combine them all together. Pre-heat the oven to 190*C (374*F). Distribute the entire batter into paper cupcake forms (or silicon ones in my case) remembering to pour the batter not higher than 2/3 of each piece. The yield should be 16-20 cupcakes. Bake the cupcakes for 25 minutes in 190*C. Once they grow and start turning brown gold they’re ready, 25 minutes is just the perfect amount of time. Take these hot goodies out of the oven and let them cool down to room temperature. Now you can start preparing a sparkling frosty glaze.

The only ingredients you need for the glaze is fine powdery sugar and citric acid (I usually use one in small yellow bottles). This recipe I was taught by my Mum and there’s not any specific ratio of ingredients. Just place few spoons of sugar in a glass and add citric acid little by little, stirring all the time. When you get a white, sticky batter (kid of like glue) – it’s ready. It can’t be too dense or you’ll find hard spreading it on top of the cupcakes, when it’s too loose it will slide down from the top.

You might not do perfect at 1st time but you’ll get it right very soon, I promise. When you’ve covered all cupcakes with a sparkling frosty glaze you can decorate with raisins, sugar beads, almond or coconut flakes, just make it quick. If you leave at least one cupcake without decorating it, once the glaze hardens you might notice that it sparkles a little bit in the light. It’s the sugar that crystallized when some of the citric acid evaporated.

Enjoy! Hope you liked the recipe. Happy St Nicholas Day everyone!

For more St Nicholas Day recipes check out Victoria’s yesterday post at Bois de Jasmin.

Tagged , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “St Nicholas Day sparkling frosty glaze cupcakes

  1. poodle says:

    I just had breakfast and I’m still hungry and now I want cake. I may be snowed in a bit tomorrow morning so maybe I’ll do some baking.

  2. jilliecat says:

    Delicious! I am drinking a German tea right now – it’s called Bratapfel and tastes of caramelized apples and marzipan (it’s rooibos, not ordinary tea leaves). I think it would go well with your gorgeous cupcakes. Happy St Nick’s Day!

    • lucasai says:

      Apfel means apple in german right? I think I remember this much from 3 years of learning this language (but I never liked it)
      I prefer green tea to rooibos but sometimes I’m in a mood for that kind of tea too.
      These cupcakes and this tea sound like a good pairing.
      Happy st Nick’s Day!

  3. That looks wonderful, Lucas! I would never have thought of using citric acid in a glaze, but your cupcakes look fantastic. Bravo!

  4. Mary K says:

    Thank you for the recipe! It’s fun to have a new one like this for the holiday season.

  5. hajusuuri says:

    Yummm. I will just need to feast vicariously through the pictures. I have zero cooking skills but just in case I can get someone to bake them for me, what kind of yogurt did you use? My favorite kind is Greek yogurt which is generally thicker but drier than the usual ones that come with fruit preserves on the bottom.

    • Undina says:

      I love Greek yogurt! 🙂 Is there Trader Joe’s where you live? If yes, have you tried their store brand plain Greek yogurt? I add fruits or something sweet to it and it’s one of my favorites.

      • lucasai says:

        I like natural yogurt with musli and raisins

      • hajusuuri says:

        There is a Trader Joe’s not too far but I hardly go because it involves going around a traffic circle which, in my opinion, is the most dangerous type of road…for every driver who knows what to do, there are 3 others who don’t know the right of way rules. In any case, our Wegmans has a store brand plain Greek yogurt that is excellent and a lot cheaper than the more popular Fage brand. I usually bring one to work and eat it towards the end of the day for more protein before I head home; I add a Skinny Cow crispy bar or raisins.

    • lucasai says:

      I can supply you with couple more pictures if you want 😉
      I think that if you asked our Daisy she would bake them for both of you.
      I used a plain natural yogurt (I had Danone Activia in the fridge) but the recipe sais that Greek yogurt od Balkan style yogurt are good to.

  6. mydearbakes says:

    Yep, definitely love what I’m seeing here! Yummy! =)

  7. Undina says:

    Lucas, I had no idea you baked! I’m impressed 🙂 I don’t like cupcakes but I would try one if you baked it.

    (Sorry, I can’t answer your e-mail until Monday: I’m traveling with just an iPad that isn’t compatible with my e-mail site – I can read letters but cannot write them)

Leave a Reply

