Night elegance, Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense

It’s so lovely to see you for the first time in new year 2014! Once again I wanted to start a year with a perfume that is special to me – hope you don’t mind it’s Prada, just like one year ago.

First official mentions about plans of Prada to release this perfume, a flanker to 2006’s Prada Amber Pour Homme appeared in early February 2011. Back then I was still an amateur perfumista, owning only two flasks of fragrance. I didn’t know yet what a flanker was and I wasn’t aware of niche offerings those days. But my love for Prada already existed. The announcement of Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense made me ultra excited, anything that was made by Prada and anything that had my beloved Amber Pour Homme in its name was so appealing to me. I just knew I couldn’t live without that perfume. I had to had it!

Saying that I wanted it was one thing, making a move to buy it was a second thing. As easy as it seems it turned out that Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense was extremely hard to get here where I live. You must be wondering why and I’m going to give you an answer. You see, this new Prada release never became officially available in Poland. None of the stationary perfumeries like Sephora or Douglas had it in their offer. What more, when asked, sales assistant didn’t even know that such perfume existed. Few months after launching first bottles started making it to the Poland-based online perfume shops. Unfortunately the price was too steep for me, a beginner student of 1st year.

For the time being I had no other choice but to give up on Amber Pour Homme Intense by Prada. Of course I was sad because of that. Losing it without even trying it was a bit depressing. The lucky coin flipped the good side up one day and in December 2011, practically 10 months since the moment of introduction of this new fragrance I was lucky to find it at one of the online retailers and at a discount price (-50%) – only few pieces were available. Without much thinking I purchased it, at the same time committing the first perfume blind-buy of my life.

The bottle has arrived within 5 days. The outer box had a Saffiano texture in a light grey color. On the packaging there were 2 logos of Prada – one printed on box and one on a small piece of canvas. I was happy because Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense was mine. The scent turned out to be bewitching. I quickly fallen for its elegant charm and I wore this perfume exclusively for a month.

Amber Pour Homme Intense opens with a bright and brisk bergamot. There’s also something slightly acidic about the note, which, by the way, fades away within a few minutes and evolves into something more nocturnal. When bergamot fades away it’s myrrh that takes the dominating part. As much as I generally don’t get along with myrrh I love this note in the Prada. It doesn’t have sharp edges and doesn’t give a burnt plastic sensation. It’s just pure grains of resin that melt in heat. In this perfume myrrh is tender and balsamic, soft yet charismatic. As the time flies the accord becomes weaker and then, after 40 minutes there’s a seamless transition from myrrh to patchouli.

In most situations the smell of patchouli makes me think of abandoned graveyard. Here, in Amber Pour Homme Intense the note is crafted with more of a woody manner with just a hint of earth noticeable. Moreover, the patchouli is just a prelude to the key-note of the Prada composition. The amber accord appears 1 hour after application and it marks the beginning of a heat-up phase of this perfume. Amber is bold and luminous here while vanilla is responsible for adding the oriental character and a tiny bit of sweetness that fits in perfectly at this point, at 1,5 hours.

The real fever of senses begins once saffron and tonka bean chords appear from the depths of Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense. Saffron, the red-gold brings a fierce and sophisticated spiciness to the fragrant blend. Because of it the perfume is multi-dimensional. Tonka bean makes the spicy tones more discreet, kind of covering them with its own creaminess. This effect is continued with a smooth aroma of sandalwood, woody and almost milky. Here the further development is inhibited, Prada is now in full swing and the notes entwine with each other, playing a game between lust, sanity and pleasure. Oh what a treat for senses. So irresistible.

It takes almost two more hours (so it’s now almost 4h in total) before Amber Pour Homme Intense continues to develop. The drydown that slowly starts to appear is smoky thanks to labdanum, there’s also an interesting leather accord that possesses the characteristic dye vibe. There’s also slightly animalic, sweaty musk that adds the masculine element to the blend. This very musk plays a double role because in the later drydown (and that happens after 6 hours) it somehow changes and together with orange blossom and geranium they create the elegant, clean and soapy feeling.

This part of the Intense fragrance is a definite resemblance to the original Amber Pour Homme from 2006. They both share the luxurious aspect of a highest quality barbershop soap. Elegance and chic are undeniable. But if both scents share just a small piece of their identity, should Amber Pour Homme Intense be treated like a flanker? To me they’re two totally different fragrances that happen to have a part of their bases in common. Intense is darker, more alluring and daring. It suggests a night-time wear to a club but still in fashionable outfit that is offered by the original.

Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense inherited the outstanding longevity from the predecessor. It lasts for 8 hours minimum. In my case it’s usually 12 hours, sometimes more. The sillage is more open and vibrant comparing to Amber Pour Homme, in the end both finish staying closer to the skin. The perfume was composed by Daniela Roche-Andrier in 2011 and it’s an eau de parfum. It is available in 50 and 100ml flacons with a regular atomizer as well as in 100ml flasks with a bulb sprayer. The bottle takes its design from the predecessor but the glass is deep black.

If you seek for sophistication, elegance, style and at the same time you want something more daring and of high quality, this Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense is a fragrance is for you!

Tagged , , ,

24 thoughts on “Night elegance, Prada Amber Pour Homme Intense

  1. jilliecat says:

    Gosh! This seems like a pretty amazing perfume – and how lucky that your blind buy turned out to be such a success. You’re quite right about the silly way it’s called a flanker, but that’s the unimaginative term used by the houses to reel in the fans of previous scents; it seems that most flankers have very liitle in common with the original.

    May 2014 be a happy year for us all.

    • lucasai says:

      This is a great fragrance indeed. I assume you haven’t tried it just yet? It’s not a flanker in a regular meaning of the term.
      Really? I thought many flankers are too similar to the originals to be even worth giving a try 😉

      Best wishes for 2014

      • jilliecat says:

        I think that half the flankers are unrelated and the other half are almost identical to the original! Which is confusing. But I don’t have proof – it would interesting to have a scientific study carried out (but really that isn’t worth doing – we just need to trust our noses and buy what we like!).

  2. rickyrebarco says:

    What a wonderful review! I definitely want to sample this fragrance. I never liked the women’s version of Prada Amber. I felt it was too tame. This sounds beautiful.

  3. rickyrebarco says:

    Also, Happy New Year! I am so happy to have discovered your wonderful blog. I have just been sampling Parfum d’Empire’s Ambre Russe, another amber beauty. So far the only fault I can find with it is that it does not last as long on my skin as I would like, only about 5 hours. Any thoughts on this amber?

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you! Happy New Year to you too!
      Ambre Russe is a nice amber but not for me. It’s one of few Parfum d’Empire scents that I’m not in love with. On me is smells too much like vodka shot 😉

  4. Tora says:

    That sounds positively delicious!!!!!

  5. Holly says:

    This sounds fantastic! Great review, once again. The must sniff list grows 🙂 Happy New Year, may it be a joyful one for you!

  6. hajusuuri says:

    Lucas, a blind buy? Say it isn’t so… I’m the one guilty of doing that. I’m glad it worked out for you!

    I may have left a comment on another thread that I’ve tried this before and thought it was a tad masculine. It is a VERY nice perfume but I think the geranium just tipped it towards too masculine. (As an aside, perhaps I’ll learn to like geranium more in perfumes as I bought some geranium oil at a market while on vacation.) I wish the women’s version was as bright at this one but alas, it was not the case.

    Great review!

    • lucasai says:

      Yes, a blind buy but it was an exceptional situation. I don’t do blind buys anymore and you know about it.

      Yes, some time ago you left a comment that you were planning to buy this perfume at half the price at Sephora but you didn’t get it in the end because it was a bit too masculine for you.
      Have you tried Prada L’eau Ambree? It’s somehow similar to Amber Pour Homme Intense

  7. Undina says:

    (finally finishing the backlog of unread posts 😉 )

    Nice review, Lucas. I’m glad that blind buy worked out great for you. I rarely test mainstream masculine perfumes so I do not remember if I tested this one… I should have since Prada is one of the brands I follow but I have no recollection about it.

    • lucasai says:

      (Yay! Are you done with your work? Will you have more time now?)

      Thank you dearest! I’m glad it turned out fine. It was my one and only situation, I don’t buy bling anymore.
      I only have love for Prada in the mainstream department

      • Undina says:

        I won’t have much more time but I hope to be able to maintain a steady presence.
        I wouldn’t mind at least several of Prada’s “special” perfumes but notat those prices.

        • lucasai says:

          You mean Prada’s boutique collection?
          Girl, how I wish I could try them.

          • Undina says:

            I’ve tried just two of them on skin but smelled all available a couple of years ago – in Las Vegas’ boutique. You’re not missing too much. It’s not just a chance that almost nobody in the Blogosphere talks about them.

            • lucasai says:

              I remember Hajusuuri once tried them in NYC Prada boutique.
              The line is so less known that even boutique assistants often don’t know about these scents

            • hajusuuri says:

              Yup, the one and only hajusuuri smelled through the entire Prada Exclusives range, including the newest (well, 2012) Rossetto which was more expensive than the others. I have 30mLs of No. 4 Fleur d’Oranger and 2mL samples from STC: Oeillet (OK), Benjoin (haven’t tried) and Cuir Styrax In any case, when I did my sniffing, I was not organized (and in a hurry) when I did it. I am planning on going back with baggies, saturate marked blotters and preserve the smells for further “review”. Actually, maybe I’ll bring some vials in the event that I can convince an SA to let me take home small samples of 2-3 of my favorites 🙂

            • lucasai says:

              I like the color rossetto juice has, is it nice? Will you please report back when you sample any of those?

              Sounds like a plan, let’s hope they will let you make small samples

Leave a Reply

