First poll in a new year – expectations for 2014

We just said goodbye to 2013 and welcomed a New Year 2014. On these early days of January I thought it might be a good time to chime in with a poll and ask: what are your wishes and expectations for 2014? You can tell perfume-wise or generally if that’s your wish.

If you ask me, I will give you two answers. I’m expecting to graduate from University in May or June, after passing my master thesis dissertation exam. I also hope I will be able to find a job in my profession or that I will be accepted to take a perfumer training in one of perfumery schools.

Speaking strictly of perfumes I’m eagerly awaiting a new release from Carner Barcelona (they told me they’re working on a perfume for early 2014.) Also looking forward to seing what Atelier Cologne might prepare this year. I’m also hoping that Marc-Antoine Corticchiato will introduce a new perfume for Parfum d’Empire and that it won’t be a limited edition scent. Hopefully a perfume I’ll love. I would be also very happy seing JUL ET MAD broadening their range with a scent or two.

How about you? Are you waiting for a certain perfume that you already know it’ll be launched in 2014? Or do you wish your favorite brand would awaken after unproductive 2013 and create something new? General wishes for the new year anyone?

Tagged , , ,

28 thoughts on “First poll in a new year – expectations for 2014

  1. Jordan River says:

    Waiting on Jubilation XXX. Thesis time; well I guess it must have been for a while. All the very best with that and for industry placement .

  2. hajusuuri says:

    May your wishes come through, dearest Lucas. As for me, I wish for a healthier 2014 for all family members and friends. Perfume-wise, I would like to meet more perfume friends – meeting Daisy and staying in touch was one of my 2013 highlights and I know this friendship and being nuts about perfume will continue :-). May 2014 see more indie and niche launches and smaller sized offerings!

  3. jilliecat says:

    I echo Hajusuuri in hoping all your wishes come true, Lucas, and that this year will be happy and healthy for everyone. I suppose my wish for perfume would be that the reformulating would stop, and that excellent substiutions will be found for those lovely ingredients, like oakmoss, that have been restricted. And for the increase in prices to be stopped! And, like you, I am anticipating the new Atelier that you have already told us about. I also wish that I would win the lottery and then I would have unlimited money to fund my perfume habit!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you, that’s sweet! I hope your wishes will come true too.

      I bet that in the near future there’ll be a thing to replace oakmoss. Chemistry develops so fast nowadays – it’s just a matter of time until they synthesize a right molecule.

      Yes, I wish that some of the perfumes were not so expensive and yes, a lottery prize would help too!

  4. Dearest Lucas
    I sincerely hope your life wishes come true this year.
    As for me… I tend not to have expectations, though a lottery win would be wonderful,
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

  5. Happy New Year Lucas. Wishing you the best for this coming year. My wishes include, losing a lot of weight and like Mr. Dandy, I wouldn’t mind winning the lottery…but I won’t count on either! As for perfume…no wishes thus far…but I wouldn’t mind going to Sniffapalooza in the Spring. However, I’ll have to check with my wallet to see if that’s possible. xoxoxox

    • lucasai says:

      Happy New Year Houndie! Welcome back, how was your tropical Christmas?
      I hope you will achieve your goal of losing weight. And I hope you’ll be able to take part in sniffapalooza.

  6. Anka says:

    Like Hajusuuri, I too would like to meet people interested in fragrance. None of my friends is, one told me the other day that she doesn’t even know the name of her fragrance – “something in a blue bottle” – “aha, how does it smell?” – “Hm, I don’t know, quite good!”
    So launching the first Berlin fragrance group could be my task for 2014.
    Apart from that I am very much looking forward to test ELdO’s “La fin du monde” and am curious which L’Artisan Parfumeur’s fragrances will be relaunched this year (Tea for two would be wonderful…). I wish you all a healthy, bright and exciting New Year!

  7. rickyrebarco says:

    Happy New Year! I hope you get your wish. I was so overwhelmed by the new releases in 2013 I would actually be fine with no new releases in 2014, but I know that won’t happen. I hope you all get your wishes granted for new scents. I am, however, looking forward to whatever Andy Tauer is releasing in 2014. He has been leaving hints on his blog that it may be another white floral. I’m sure it will be great.

    • lucasai says:

      Happy New Year.
      Thank you and I hope your wishes will happen too (but no new releases in 2014 can’t happen!) you don’t want to leave me with no new perfumes to describe.
      Yes, Andy will launcho Sotto la Luna this year.

  8. Mary K says:

    Good luck to you in 2014, Lucas! Graduation in May or June of this year is a big upcoming event for you.

    I don’t have any specific perfume wishes yet for 2014; we’ll just have to wait and see what comes along!

  9. Undina says:

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your wishes (especially the education-related ones). As to mine… Nothing really. Well, I would love to meet [again] my perfume friends.

  10. Kathy says:

    Like you, I look forward to anything coming from two of my favorite perfume houses, Carner Barcelona and Atelier Cologne.

  11. Happy belated New Year’s to you too, dearest Lucas! Like Mary K, I don’t have any specific perfume house wishes. Maybe a wish for new releases to be more distinctive and a push towards educating the public instead of pushing perfumes that all smell the same!

Leave a Reply

