Weekend poll – scent a photography

Hi guys! In this edition of weekend poll I want us to have a little bit of fun!

See this picture? I have taken that photo on December 28th 2010. That year I got my own camera for Christmas and I had to try it in action. In Poland we had a tough and really white and frosty winter back then but it didn’t stop me and my family to wear several layers of clothes and go to the forest for a walk. It was a perfect opportunity to try what my brand new pocket device could do. The setting sun framed by trees and branches covered with snow – this is probably the best photo I’ve taken so far. Honestly I have to say that I’m proud of the scenery I captured there!

Moving on to a fun part – I’d like you to get involved in the poll by scenting this photography! Simply give me a name of the perfume, one, or as many as you wish, that this picture could represent. You can take different approaches by treating the picture as the material for advertising campaign. Or just imagine you were there with me and tell what perfume would you wear to admire the view. This time I’m not going to give you my answers, I don’t want to suggest anything.

Tagged , , , ,

59 thoughts on “Weekend poll – scent a photography

  1. Jordan River says:

    Stunning photo Lucas.
    I say, Winter Woods by Dawn Spencer Hurwitz.

  2. Laurels says:

    I think it must be a cologne, something minty, or perhaps with a strong note of basil and/or juniper, with a bright citrus shining through to represent the sun. Unfortunately I haven’t smelled enough colognes to name a particularly appropriate one. Beautiful photo, though. I can feel the chill all the way from California.

    • lucasai says:

      It’s interesting you came up with a cologne type of scent. When you say minty and with juniper the newest Atelier Cologne Cedrat Enivrant pops up in my mind.

  3. Lori Adams says:

    Aqua Allegoria Gentiana. Gorgeous photograph.

  4. jilliecat says:

    That is a really gorgeous photo. The first fragrance that popped into my nose wasn’t one to wear, but the home fragrance Noel (by Annick Goutal), which reminds me of snowy forests. Thinking about it a bit more, Chanel No 19 in the edt version started wafting its way into my brain – it’s more austere than the parfum or edp, and has a green vibe softened by iris, echoing the cold snow being caressed by the golden sunshine!

  5. Anka says:

    To me this really wonderful picture combines contrasts: The white, cold and clear atmosphere of snow with the black tree trunks and then the warm, yellow, nearly viscious sun in the back. The first fragrance which comes to my mind is Byredo’s 1996.
    It starts rather fresh (juniper), gets woody with a cold Iris note, becomes smoky-leathery (these are the black and heavy lether boots I put on for the walk through this forest) and then softens into an ambery base but still keeps all the contrasting elements together.
    If we both went for a walk there, then I guess you would want to wear a more fougère-like Iris, e.g. Iris Nazarena. Or something completely different?

    • lucasai says:

      Wow, thank you Anka! I haven’t tried Byredo 1996 yeat but it sounds appealing now.

      I guess if I were to wear an iris to that winter forest Iris Nazarena seems to be a perfect choice!

  6. Bee says:

    Inspiring photo! If I were out in the woods I would want to be wearing something warm like Cinnabar. But the image alone makes me think of Fille en Arguilles.

  7. Beautiful photo, lucasai! Thank you for sharing the Polish winterscape with us. I grew up across from a wooded park system, and have memories of cross-country skiing down bridle paths at night, and seeing owl eyes from a tree with the full moon over my shoulder; this photo brought back that memory.

    Lately I’m relishing a rare vintage find, Weil Noir with it’s chilly mentholated tuberose followed by just enough smoke, as in a fireside hot cocoa after a winter’s walk. I think that fits.

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Giuliana! The picture is a bit old now but I’m glad it brought back your memories.

      Congratulations on your vintage find. The smell of menthol might not be my favourite but your pick is just alright.

  8. tomate farcie says:

    My idea is something meditative like Comme des Garçons Kyoto, and of course L’Eau d’Hiver. Thanks for lovely winter photo.

  9. shellyw says:

    I second l’eau d’hiver, crisp and soft to me, like snow. I live where we would not get snow so the picture is a pleasant window into it. I will now go work in the garden on a high 60 degree F day 🙂

  10. Undina says:

    Beautiful picture! Unfortunately, I’m really bad with scenting anything so other than mentioned already Sonoma Scent Studio’s Winter Woods I can’t thinkof anything.

  11. Holly says:

    Stunningly beautiful photograph! I’m feeling Guerlain’s L’Heure Bleue, although honestly I thought that would be an obvious choice and not avant-garde enough for such an artistic venture, lol. I believe you’re not fond of a violet note, but if it were me I would perhaps choose one as I’m looking forward to springtime, and I see your snow-covered branches as violet-tinged blue. I have yet to find a winter-transforming into spring violet, so I can’t mention a particular fragrance. I am current wearing another pick, L’Eau d’Hiver. I’m enjoying it quite a bit, but I’ll out myself and say I have no idea what I’m smelling despite reading up. It’s quite sweet on me, and I was surprised by that. And what on earth is that note that reminds me of nutmeg?

  12. hajusuuri says:

    Wow, very nice picture! Fragrances that immediately came to mind visually were SSS Winter Woods and Frederic Malle L’Eau d’Hiver. Feelings-wise, it reminds me of Guerlain Spiritueuse Double Vanille (it’s cold and I want to be cozy) and Serge Lutens Iris Silver Mist AND Boxeuses (they are cold fragrances).

  13. Sally M says:

    Just beautiful photo – well done indeed! Here,s another vote for Winter Woods. I also thought of Coty Wild Woods.

  14. Lyubov says:

    Melancholy taking over…
    Bois d’Iris – Van Cleef & Arpels Collection Extraordinaire or Felanilla – Perfumerie Generale.

  15. Annina says:

    Gorgeous photo!
    I’ll be obvious: Winter Woods or L’eau D’Hiver.

  16. What a wonderful pic. I pic Jardins d’Ecrivains Orlando, there’s a touch of melonchaly in the pic that fits well with the scent.

  17. Mary K says:

    No one has mentioned this one, so I will: Teint de Neige. It’s very white and powdery to me and makes me think of fluffy snow covering branches and all else outside.

  18. sweetgrass79 says:

    The first thing I thought of was TDC De Bachmakoff (not sure if I spelled that right). It makes me think of crunchy ice and snow, with just a hint of green peeking through

  19. rickyrebarco says:

    Villoresi’s La Teint de Neige comes to mind first. Then Lutens Iris Silver Mist- it’s a very cold scent to me.

Leave a Reply

