Un parfum pour moi

As you probably still remember on February 24th I was celebrating my birthday, twenty-fourth to be exact. As a part of that festive day I treated myself to some perfume – there just had to be some self indulgence after giving up on the b-day cake (by the way, I lost 4 cm in my waist during last 2 weeks.) Last year I didn’t have a problem chosing which scent I’d like to get as a present, choice of Carner Barcelona D600 was obvious to me. This year I was in trouble making a right decision.

There are many perfumes that I really like and with each month of blogging this group of scents is growing but there are not many of them that I feel they’re “mine” and that I need a full bottle of. After a longer period of time and many hours spent thinking I made my decision. And there it is!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I always had mixed feelings about creative work of Serge Lutens. As much as he’s the undeniable icon in the PerfumeLand his easthetics might be difficult in perception. There are a few SL fragrances that turned out to be hits for me, like Fleur de Citronnier or the just purchased Fourreau Noir but mostly it’s a miss in my case. When I settled on Fourreau Noir as my birthday scent I had a thought. I love the scent but as much as a Bell Jar is a nice thing I never wanted one because I find it incredibly impractical if you can’t spray your perfume on.

Why should I bother having a Bell Jar which takes place on a shelf if I need a different container with a sprayer to use it properly… That’s why I opted for Le Vaporisateur Tout Noir, a travel version of two 30 ml refills in a gun-like black lacquered case. It’s practical, looks stylish as straight from the Vogue cover and it’s a perfume that I wanted so what’s not to like? I’m going to enjoy it a lot.

My very first Lutens fragrance, would you believe in that a year ago?

Tagged , , ,

26 thoughts on “Un parfum pour moi

  1. Jordan River says:

    It’s a perfume gun for spraying peace, love and perfume. Très chic.

  2. jilliecat says:

    Congratulations on your very smart purchase. I have always thought that owning a bell jar would be very dangerous as I am clumsy and would be bound to knock it over and smash it – an atomiser is perfect. Funnily enough I just bought an empty one to decant perfume into from a big bottle because I am so worried about dropping it! It is dark purple with silver flowers and looks cute. You can celebrate your birthday again every time you spray your lovely SL.

    Also, congratulations on the weight loss! But don’t get too skinny. Remember that you should enjoy your food as it is a pleasure and life would be boring without joy, but just have smaller portions!

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you Jillie! Yes, that would be a hard loss if a bell jar got smashed on the floor, that’s why Vaporisateur Tout Noit is so perfect.
      Dark purple atomiser with silver flowers sounds nice, what perfume are you going to pour in it?

      Thanks! That weight loss means a lot to me and don’t worry, I don’t under-eat, becoming to skinny doesn’t apply to me.

      • jilliecat says:

        Glad to hear it!

        My husband bought me some pure extrait of Ormonde Jayne’s Ta’if, which comes in a 30ml bottle with a stopper. I’ve already nearly dropped it once, so decided it would be much safer decanted – so long as I can pour it without accidents!

        • lucasai says:

          Congratulations on getting OJ Ta’if extrait, it’s a good idea to transfer it into a bottle with sprayer. Will be much easier to use, and a cloud of extrait probably smells different than when it’s dabbed.

  3. I love it. The perfect birthday gift to yourself! You’re right that atomizer is awesome!

  4. TF says:

    Nice choice! Also love the pictures you took, especially the handgun just don’t do that on a plane (it is “travel” size after all!) lol

  5. Holly says:

    What a lovely treat, Lucas! I’m so impressed that you focus on what moves you, and that you’re practical about it as well. I love the atomizer – so chic and elegant. May Fourreau Noir bring you much joy and many happy memories of this special time in your life. 🙂

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Holly!
      You know, with a student budget I really can afford buying only those scents that I know they’ll bring me much joy. Fourreau Noir does the trick (unlike most Lutenses) and I just love this atomizer. It looks good on the shelf and fits nicely to take with you on a journey.

  6. Jovan says:

    Hello, Lucas…as a special surprise birthday gift for you I would like to send you my black lacquer perfume atomizer writing pen. It is the ultimate gift for a talented writer such as yourself as it will allow you to take your birthday fragrance with you anywhere you travel!!!

    If you would like to see a photo of it before I mail it to you, please let me know, as there sre two colors available: black with gold trim AND black with silver trim. I designed these special fragrance atomizer writing pens for my Tijon Fragrance Lab as a unique item to offer my customers and students.

    I would be DELIGHTED to give you this gift for all the enjoyment your writing has brought to me in the short time I have been reading your blog. Elena from the Perfume Shrine is how I first became familiar with your writing.

    Let me also know your mailing address so I may mail your gift.
    Scentcerely,
    Jovan Van Drielle, President
    Tijon Fragrance Lab
    La Jolla, California

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Jovan! Are you doing good?
      Oh my Gosh, I’m totally surprised! So, it’s a regular pen that I can take notes with but has also a part that can be filled with perfume? That sounds like a real treat!
      Thank you for offering, yes, I’d love to see a photo of them earlier but I’m almost sure I will decide on black-siver option. I’d be honored to have such a unique thing in my possesion.

      I’m very glad that you enjoy reading my blog, so glad I teamted with Elena and Gaia for the Valentine’s Day event, you wouldn’t be able to discover Chemist in the Bottle that way.

      Jovan, could you please use a contact form to mail me? This way I will get your email address and will be able to send you my address, I don’t want to do it publicly.

  7. Laurels says:

    Happy belated birthday! Congratulations on your new scent. I just ordered some samples of Serge Lutens perfumes, for the first time, and I’m both excited and nervous. Fingers crossed that I find one to love, like you did.

  8. What a wonderful birthday scent! I’m so happy for you, Lucas! And your first Lutens! I feel like a proud perfumed auntie!

    Fourreau noir is a FABULOUS choice! And I adore the black atomizer sprays. Two 30ml vials is just perfect and I hope that SL releases more bell jar fragrances in those travel sets!

    Again, happy, happy birthday!

    • lucasai says:

      Thanks Daisy! You can be proud indeed. Do you fancy Fourreau Noir too? I know Hajusuuri does, it was her bell jar she brought last summer from Paris.

      I’m 99% sure that in the future other bell jars will be available in Le Vaporisateur Tout Noir as well.

  9. Tora says:

    OOH I love Fourreau Noir. I am waiting for my bell jar to arrive. It is a real compliment getter!!! I did not know that it had no atomizer!! Hmm. I will have to check out some fancy atomizers. Although in a pinch, I have plenty of 5ml decant sprayers. I am turning 60 next Sunday, so I hope my bottle arrives by then. We can be scent twins!!!

    • lucasai says:

      Cool to find another lover of this perfume. And how cool you ordered if for your birthday as well.
      All SL bell jars are without atomizers, they only have glass bulb stoppers. Guess you’re right in searching a nie atomizer if you want to spray it.

      Early happy birthday wishes to you!

  10. Katherine says:

    It’s so smart to get an atomizer! I dropped and spilled my vintage tabac blonde. I lost over half of it. So sad.

  11. Undina says:

    Great gift for yourself! I hope you’ll enjoy it (not only the scent but the container as well) every time you use it. But if you ever get to hold a real gun, please don’t do it the way you hold your nice perfume 😉

  12. hajusuuri says:

    Oooooh, nice birthday present, Lucas! I should check them out more closely the next time I’m at Barneys! Is the refill itself an atomizer?

    • lucasai says:

      Glad you agree 🙂 I know you love Fourreau Noir too.

      Yes, the refill has it’s own atomizer. The lacquered case is like a tin, a refill vial fits in and when you slide it all inside there’s something like a “click” and it’s placed and ready to use. Once emptied you just pull it out and put a new one.

Leave a Reply

