Monday Quick Sniffs, part 22

Fueguia 1833 Biblioteca de Babel is a woody galore fragrance for the real connoiseurs of woody aromas. This composition opens with the note of mahogany. It is quite pungent at first and it doesn’t lose much power in a short time. It smells very dry and refined, a little bit rough like it had some splinters. It brings a very spacious feeling of a building with really high ceiling. After some time the perfumes becomes more and more smoky bringing incense, burnt wood and cracking fireplace association. There’s really something ashy about this perfume. There’s also a cedar wood accord that makes the woody stage even more harsh. Cinnamon adds some warmth and spiciness to this blend, but it never becomes the main star of Biblioteca de Babel. It might even add some aromatic and sweet qualities but it’s still not enough to overpower the woody accords of cedar and mahogany. This is not a scent of old books. It’s the scent of an old library, especially old and heavy wooden shelves. Ideal for bibliophiles

Laine de Verre (glass wool, fiberglass), the latest fragrance composition from Master Serge Lutens joins the L’Eau Collection as a third scent, which, just like the other two, is focused on creating kind of “anti-perfume” feeling around the wearer. This new fragrance opens with a huge dose of aldehydes that smell incredibly cold and unfriendly. There’s a lot of metallic vibe to it, bringing iron filings to my mind. Brr! After 30 or so minutes a light aroma of citrus starts to appear, making Laine de Verre smell even more artificial, like a washing powder. When musk and cashmeran make their entry, the perfume becomes nothing more like soap combined with washing powder, bleach, some detergents, shower cleaner and any other household chemical product you can think of! This perfume truly represents the anti-fragrance idea, but in a bad way. Laine de Verre is very “modern” in the industrial meaning of this word. When I smell this perfume it makes me think of a huge metropolis, maybe New York City, where you have steel, glass and concrete all around you. I say no to this perfume. Sorry Mr Lutens, another miss for me…

Bois de Gaiac et Poire, also known as “Close Your Eyes, and…” aka ref. 015 813Β is a fruity floral composition by Miller et Bertaux. The composition opens with a sweet and delicate smell of heliotrope. It’s a little bit fresh and a little bit powdery. Right away it’s joined by the guaiac wood accord, which adds density and substance to the blend, making it a bit heavier. Bitter almonds add a gourmand touch to the perfume, slowly evolving into something that smells more like an amaretto liquor. At some point a watery and dewy aroma of pear appears, making my mouth flood with saliva. It’s delicious, maybe not as realistic as some other pears I know, but still very good. It’s harmonized by gentle tones of flowers: jasmine and rose. A tiny hint of sparkling spiciness is added by the use of cinnamon that stimulates the senses. Mandarin orange and lemon mark the finale of the composition introducing a transparent citric hue around all the notes. This is a really casual perfume, definitely more for women than for men.

Tagged , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Monday Quick Sniffs, part 22

  1. Undina says:

    I’m not familiar with the first and third brands from your quick sniff (and will probably never try them – unless I read something very compelling about one of their creations), as to SL… I will try it when I get a chance but I have to say that I dislike the name: why?! Why would I want to smell as a fiberglass – or even like an idea of fiberglass since I’m not sure the substance has any particular smell? But whatever, I’ll try it if I see it in a store.

    • lucasai says:

      Fueguia launched some time ago, they appeared with a partial offer in Poland last year.
      Miller et Bertaux is pretty limited to EU countries though.

      I dislike the name of “laine de verre” too. It’s glass so I suppose it’s scentless. It has to be scentless as it’s used for buildings thermo-isolation.

  2. Holly says:

    Fuegia is a brand on my radar, specifically Thays which is not yet available here. Their catalogue is quite incredible, imo. SL’s Laine de Verre, no thanks. Bois de Gaiac et Poire sounds nice, but not something I yearn for. I AM interested in Miller et Bertaux’s Green, green and green. Have you tried that one yet?

    I’m sure the excitement about your Milan adventure is building, and we’re all excited for you! πŸ™‚

    • lucasai says:

      Their portfolio is quite big and they offer many different sizes and concentrations. I think I will have to spend some more time and discover a couple more.

      Glad I’m not alone for Laine de Verre.

      Bois de Gaiac et Poiree is nice but not groundbreaking. I can easily recommend a few better scents with heliotrope and almond accord.

      Green, green and green is fabulous. It’s very aromatic with tons of lemon verbena. So refreshing!

  3. rickyrebarco says:

    I’m glad to see you reviewing a Fueguia fragrance. I own 2 of their scents, La Cautiva and Malena, both very lovely. I think this Biblioteca one might be a bit much for me but it surely sounds interesting!

    • hajusuuri says:

      Rickyrebarco – what do you like about La Cautiva and Malena. Thanks.

      • lucasai says:

        I wonder if they’re worth sampling earlier than others πŸ˜›

        • rickyrebarco says:

          Hi Lucas, here is my review of La Cautiva. I need to write down my thoughts on Mahela.- but mainly Mahela starts out a bit masculine, a bit bitter smelling, but then feminine elements come in- it’s very interesting and has a great development. Now for La Cautiva:

          La Cautiva is a beautiful soft, fresh scent, very feminine. It’s like a fresh sweet breeze from a garden with some flowers and berry bushes. It has some sillage and I had originally thought that longevity is lacking, but after wearing this for three days, I was wrong. The sillage lasts only about 4 hours, but the scent stays with you for about 10 hours. I wore it one evening and it was still there the next morning just as glorious. I know the notes given do not include florals but I swear there are some floral notes in the topnotes. I smell them. The vanilla is light and fresh as is the musk. There is a faint woodiness, also, and I do not find the blackcurrant too sweet when it enters in the drydown. I find it still retains just a bit of tartness to balance the vanilla. This is a light, ethereal scent that reminds me of the dry soft air in parts of Argentina and California. This is one of my 3 favorites from this line.

    • lucasai says:

      Nice that you have two of them πŸ™‚ Biblioteca de Babel is my first encounter with Fueguia.

  4. rickyrebarco says:

    Some of us had been commenting earlier on another board about how we wish they would have smaller bottles and voila it happened. My last order there was a smaller bottle for a much more appealing price!

  5. hajusuuri says:

    I have the sample pack from LuckyScent with 18 of the Fueguia line and Biblioteca was included. No…I haven’t tried any of them as yet. I know, I really think I need to go on a samples diet but I’ll probably end up acquiring more anyway. It sounds good and it will be one of first ones I’ll try.

    I have no interest in Laine de Verre but will certainly try it just out of curiosity.

    Aedes de Venustas carries the Miller et Bertaux line. I’ll have to try Bois de Gaiac et Poire the next time I’m there. That shop is such a treasure trove of perfumes but it is small and the dogs are afoot, albeit well-behaved (I am not against dogs…it’s just that I prefer a place of business to be pet-free except for an aquarium if one can consider fish as pets).

    • lucasai says:

      All 18 of them! You’re far ahead of me with Fueguia πŸ˜‰ I’m not really into the brand but I will try more when a chance occurs.

      Try Laine de Verre just to know how it smells, nothing more. Not worth it!

      Good, hope that you can visit Aedes soon. When you are there you MUST sample Miller et Bertaux #1/Le Parfum Trouve, it’s a wonderful and interesting iris perfume.

      That’s weird they let the dogs in! Such thing would be impossible to imagine in Poland.

Leave a Reply

