Late weekend poll – perfume & color

I don’t want to serve too much of newly introduced fragrances to you in one week, I think two that you got in the following days is enough! For a change lets play with a poll. Late one as it’s Sunday already but I’m sure we might still have some fun anyway. The topic is perfume & color.

I would like to hear (or should I write “read”) what is your point of view when it comes to colouring a fragrance liquid? We all know that a little bit of pigment might change a lot, especially if the color of the perfume juice matches the concept behind the perfume composition. But lets be honest – in most cases the alcohol is colored before pouring it into the bottle just for a visual effect.

The main disadvantage of using perfume which has an intensive color of the liquid is that the dye can stain our light clothes. If anyone is using such a perfume they have to remember to spray the perfume on your bare skin and wait for 2-3 minutes for an alcohol to evaporate before they put the clothes on. Otherwise a collar of your favourite blouse or t-shirt might get the color of the perfume. And as far as I know those stains are not easy to get rid of once they dry.

Personally I don’t mind using a little bit of light-colored dye to colour the perfume. I especially like the pale purple color of Prada Amber Pour Homme. But most of all I prefer when perfume doesn’t have any color additives and it has a lighter or darker shade of yellow or orange, coming from diluting different perfume oils in ethanol. What do you think? Do you like colorful perfumes or not? And if you do, what is your favourite one?

Tagged , , ,

32 thoughts on “Late weekend poll – perfume & color

  1. poodle says:

    I like colored perfumes. I don’t wear too many light colors because I feel fat in them so staining my clothes isn’t usually a problem. I don’t think I’d want all my perfumes to be colored because it would lose its appeal. I think part of the reason I bought La Fille de Berlin is because it’s a pretty color.

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, good! If your clothes are in some darker shades then staining them is usually not a problem. Even if a perfume left some of its color on your clothes, that would not be visible on dark blue or black.
      That would be boring to have them all colored, right?
      Is La Fille de Berlin your favourite color for a perfume juice?

  2. Ines says:

    I like colored perfumes but applying them is another thing all together. I love the color of Sarrasins but that one requires careful application. 🙂

  3. hajusuuri says:

    Dearest Lucas, functionally speaking, I prefer my perfume to be clear / colorless. Aesthetically, a very light greenish color pleases me although I cannot think of one right this moment – perhaps the new Bottega Aromatique which I will be “testing” while on vacation :-). Dark colored perfumes are worrisome but some of them are really pretty.

    • lucasai says:

      I prefer the colorless option too, or a very light color.
      By “testing” Bottega Veneta Essence Aromatique you mean you got a bottle/decant which goes with you on vacation?

      • hajusuuri says:

        I got a small atomizer from Nordstroms. The other ones I brought are Valentino Uomo (to test further; possible FB in the near future), Bvlgari Black and Chanel No. 5 EDT (this one is a staple in my travel kit, smells great and doesn’t last that long on me which is perfect for an evening out).

        • lucasai says:

          The staff strated you well. I didn’t care for Valentino Uomo (tried it at the airport when I was going back to Poland. And I found the bottle to be a bit alluring and a bit tacky.
          Since you’re leaving shortly I’m wishing you bon voyage. Where are you headed?

    • jilliecat says:

      Hi, Hajusuuri! The latest formulations of Chanel No 19 eau de toilettre are a very pretty light green. I guess this echoes the green of the fragrance.

  4. jilliecat says:

    Well, dear L, I would ber very happy if all my perfumes were colourless! Although, like Poodle, I wear dark clothes exclusively (practically everything is black – in fact I am The Woman in Black!), I find that coloured juice can stain my skin. I can appreciate a lovely pastel – see Chanel No 19 above (although I am never fond of light pink) but I am perfectly content if the juice is just natural. I guess I don’t want even more ingredients to be added that strictly necessary.

    Our smog has gone! Last week was really unpleasant, muggy and foggy and smelly. On Friday night it rained and the air felt as if it had been washed clean. Now, although it’s a little chilly and grey, it feels so much fresher.

    • lucasai says:

      So you’re another one who doesn’t really like some color in perfume and who wears dark clothes most of the time (I prefer dark colors too, but I can wear white or pastels in the summer).

      Glad to hear that the air has been cleared there thanks to the rain! I love the smell of fresh air after the rain/thunderstorm. It’s so free of dust, dirt and pollen.

      • While I prefer uncoloured fragrances (that is, with no added colouring), I don’t always wear dark clothes. Very little black (hello Jilly!), though a fair amount of dark blue; but most of my shirts are white or at least pale. Incidentally, Pour Un Homme is light green too. I wonder if that is dye or “natural”?

        • lucasai says:

          Thanks for sharing your perspective. I don’t wear dark clothes exclusively. I opt for light colors in spring/summer. And I love dark blue.
          It’s hard for me to tell in Pour un Homme de Caron has a natural color or not. Lavender essential oil is green, so it might be natural. But does it make it easier to get rid of when it stains the clothes? I’m thinking of grass stains here…

  5. Holly says:

    As soon as I read this, I thought of your pics and review of Acqua Sextius. I think the colour of that juice is lovely, and in terms of marketing it attracts my eye.

    Knowing that the colour is an additional chemical additive, I have an irrational negative response to perfumes that have a darker colour. In my imagination, I equate those darker primary colours with the chemical shriek of children’s candy. Conversely, I associate perfumes with more base notes like patchouli, amber, ambergris and musk as being golden or amber in colour, and I honestly might perceive them in a different way if they were blue or pink or some such. I guess to remedy all the above misconceptions, a well-designed and tinted bottle would do the trick.

    Considering all the differences in preference in scents, colour, bottle design, advertising and an astonishing number of other factors, it’s quite amazing to me that the industry is so prolific. I think that’s quite an achievement!

    • lucasai says:

      You’re so right about Aqua Sextius – it has a lovely color and I think it’s still light enough not to leave marks on clothes in light colors…

      Honestly I get your point of view, why do you need an additive that makes your perfume blue for example. I bet that a colorful bottle would be a treat, but it’s easier to dye the liquid than the glass. I might not be a fan of color perfume liquids but some make a great impression

  6. Dearest Lukas
    An interesting question.
    A pet hate is the gendering of perfumes… that so many mainstream ‘male’ scents must be blue and their ‘female’ equivalents pink, or at least purple. I always felt the lilac of the Prada you mention was a rather nice subversion of this tradition.
    On reflection, my preference is for ‘perfume coloured’, of course I know there’s no such thing, but in my imagination the natural colour for fragrance is the straw hue of so many Dior numbers from the 1970s, the ones I remember that my mother wore.
    That said, I have a soft spot for the rich dark amber and and more noir tones of vintage perfumes when they are slightly oxidized.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • lucasai says:

      Thank you!
      I agree, why do most of mainstream releases have to stick to the stereotype of blue/pink!?
      Yes, Prada didn’t stick to the obvious making Amber Pour Homme.
      I think that you’re right about the “natural” color of perfume being yellowish-orange-ish straw like shade.
      So brown shades of perfumes appeal to you as well.

  7. Mary K says:

    I prefer a clear liquid or else anything lighter colored without much in the way of added dyes that might stain clothing. Pale green is also fine. Sometimes it’s fun to see one, though, that is a deep reddish pink, blue or dark amber, just because it’s different and catches one’s attention.

    • lucasai says:

      So you like the color of Aqua Sextius I reviewed last week, but?
      More intensive color of perfume is a nice change from time to time. I was mesmerized by a deep blue color of new Olfactive Studio Ombre Indigo. Too bad they didn’t have samples yet

  8. Jonette says:

    Hi Lucas,
    I’ve never succeeded in posting a reply here… hope it works this time.
    I don’t like the perfume to be colored because I’m afraid of my skin reacting to the dye (I have chemical sensitivities) or stains on my clothing.
    Having said that, I ADORE colored glass bottles! I love the bottle colors of Amouage and Lorenzo Villerosi.

    • lucasai says:

      Hi Jonette. You posted just fine!
      Thanks for sharing your point of view. The chemical sensitivities or allergies are an important issue agains colored perfume.

      Amouage bottles have gorgeous colors!

  9. jujy54 says:

    I’m susally indifferent to perfume color, altho I’l make an exception for SL Sarrasins—that purple juice adds a moment of drama and anticipation, and since I dab rather than spray, staining is not an issue.

  10. Suzy Q says:

    I find a bit of color can add to the overall aesthetic appeal of using a perfume. However, it’s the bottle shape, weight, cap and sprayer that appeal even more. That said, so many of us are running around with decants in cheap atomizers that none of this really matters!!
    A company could just use tinted glass in their bottles to suggest a colored jus. It would be a good way to circumvent possible allergic reactions to the dye.
    Great question! I’ve never thought about this before.

    • lucasai says:

      I see, I see!
      Most of us are more drawn to the perfume itself, and then to the bottle, cap etc and to the color at last.
      But using decants kind of puts it all aside – having a decant you can enjoy only the perfume and the color! Nothing more I guess since the vials aren’t entertaining to me 😛

  11. Undina says:

    Since I almost never apply perfume to my clothes and rarely wearanything light, I do not mind colored perfumes and enjoy all those colors that commenters mentioned above – red, purple and amber. But my concern with those perfumes is that the color will break sooner than I use up a perfume (my decant of Anne Pliska’s perfume in 3 years lost its bright red coloring and now it’s just pinkish).

    • lucasai says:

      I never apply perfume on clothes too. I always spray before putting the t-shirt on.
      I’m sure you’ll like the deep blue of Olfactive Studio Ombre Indigo. It looked fabulous.
      That’s true! I didn’t think of it that the dye might oxidize (that’s most common!) and the perfume changes the color. I know that Olivier Durbano uses quite unstable dyes. I saw a Black Tourmaline that was supposed to be black and it was almost transparent!

  12. rickyrebarco says:

    I like perfumes that have only pale colors. I love Lutens La Fille de Berlin but it’s a pain to have to be so careful not to spill it on any clothing and to make sure it is dry before you put on any clothes. I sprayed some on at work one day and someone thought I had cut myself!

    I like my Heeley’s Iris de Nuit colored juice the best. It’s a pale violet blue, very pretty and soothing just to look at. And the bottles with colored perfume do look prettier, I admit.

    • lucasai says:

      I’m with you for the pale colors.
      La Fille de Berlin has such an intensive red. I’m now trying to imagine how did that look like on your shirt at work (probably a white one?)

      Iris de Nuit has a nice color (but I don’t like the perfume itself)

Leave a Reply

