Perfume – It’s in the stars

I have taken a little break for a weekend and went out of town for 3 days to relax and have some fun with my friends. More about it next week. I decided to give a steering wheel of the blog to my dear friend and a long time follower. Everyone, please welcome Jillie, who will be a host of this weekend post. I’m happy she was thrilled about a short article for Chemist in the Bottle. See you on Monday.

Guest post by Jillie

Is it true that our personalities are what they are because of the sign of the Zodiac under which we were each born, and if that is the case, do we naturally choose our perfume along the lines of those character traits that the astrologers attribute to each sign?

These thoughts filled my head the other day as I spritzed Annick Goutal’s Eau de Camille all over, relishing the tang of dank privet and dewy, glossy honeysuckle leaves.  You see, I love green fragrances, but I am a Leo so surely this is the very opposite of what my fire sign should savour? I am also a perfume “tart” and will swing wildly between categories – one day I’ll crave YSL‘s rose and violet beauty Paris, which I think would be perfect for a sweet Virgo girl, the next it could be Caron’s Parfum Sacre, whose ambery incense would surely be ideal for balancing a Libran. Though maybe it’s the big cat’s promiscuity that dictates my ever-changing tastes!

More in keeping with my sign is my love of yellow citrus – lemony colognes are heaven, and the sun-kissed mango of L’Eau a la Folie is perfection. However, there is one type of fragrance that I will always avoid: any calone/ozone note will immediately turn my stomach. Is that my innate leonine fear of water, or just that I perceive it as an unpleasant note? One fact I am sure of, and this is entirely in keeping with the Leo profile – I have expensive taste and I am extravagant!

I wonder if it can be possible that each twelfth of the population will conform to a pre-destined pattern. If that is so, do all Pisceans love the salty caviar in Womanity? Do all those born under Sagittarius wear Caron’s Yatagan and other leathery perfumes to remind them of their equine alter ego? Does a Cancerian gravitate to the sandiness of Dior’s Dune?

What do you think – could our perfume choices be influenced by the stars? What perfume would you put with which sign of the zodiac? Inspired by my astrological musings, I think that tonight I shall wear the very appropriate Sun Moon Stars!

Tagged , ,

23 thoughts on “Perfume – It’s in the stars

  1. Ines says:

    I’m an Aquarius but I rarely go for what is “typically” ascribed to them. I think it’s more my ascendant and moon sign that influence my choices (Aries and Leo) – as I love spicy, warm perfumes. 🙂

  2. poodle says:

    My sign is Cancer and I don’t really like ocean scents. I’m an incense girl. I will admit that I’m rather moody and fickle and my favorite scent could change from day to day, hour to hour so I guess that’s a Cancer trait. I do enjoy a salty note in perfumes which might be a slight indication of being a water sign. Hubby is a Cancer too and his tastes definitely lean towards water. If its fresh and clean, he’s buying. Yeah, there are lots of blue bottles on his dresser unfortunately.

  3. jillie says:

    Hi, Poodle! Glad to know that you are as flirty with scents as I am. You and your husband must have a great home together as Cancerians are supposed to be kind and nurturing and very fond of home-making. I love incense too, particularly combined with rose and vanilla. What’s your favourite incense?

    • poodle says:

      I like the churchy ones like Avignon and Cardinal but I also like the Tauer incenses as well. Mitzah is wonderful. Honestly, I’m not sure if I’ve found an incense I don’t like. What’s a good vanilla/incense combo in your opinion?

      • jillie says:

        Avignon’s my favourite too! Sometimes I like to add a little vanilla (L’Artisan’s Vanilia – a tip from Katie Puckrick) to sweeten it up. For a soft treat, Kenzo’s Flower Essentielle is a rather nice rose/vanilla/incense frag – quite gentle and a good bedtime scent.

  4. Mary K says:

    I’m a Taurus, and I’m not sure what I’m supposed to like, according to the sign. I do like many different notes, but I would have to say that I wear a lot of spring and summer florals, like anything with linden, LOTV, rose and jasmine all year round. I also especially like vanilla, cinnamon,and ginger (foody notes, I guess – maybe that’s the Taurus coming out).

    • jillie says:

      Hello, Mary K! Yep, you’re right – Taureans love their food as I can attest from my brother-in-law’s great appetite! But then I know plenty of people born under different signs who are equally fond of food. Taureans are loyal and hardworking – very good friends to have. I can picture a beautiful white bull wearing a garland of your favourite flowers, and he smells gorgeous. I am looking for the perfect linden scent – can you recommend one?

  5. hajusuuri says:

    Great post, Jillie! I am a Pisces and I also have an aversion to marine / aquatic / calone perfume if it “reeks” of that. I am a perfume tart as well since my tastes are all over the place and for once being a tart is not a bad thing.

    • jillie says:

      So, Hajusuuri, you are a Piscean – apparently one of the nicest signs in the whole Zodiac! Easy going, calm, kind and very spiritual. You “go with the flow”, like the fish. I guess this might explain why you have such varied tastes, and you are absolutely right….. that is an excellent thing!

  6. Mary K says:

    The linden perfume that I like best is Tilleul by Parfums D’Orsay. If I double spray, it lasts all day and then some. I am always on the look-out for other linden scents because you just don’t see that many perfumes with linden as the predominant note, as it can be sort of light. Another perfume that I get a lot of linden from (not even sure if it’s listed as a note) is Eau de Polder by L’Essence de Mastenbroek. ,

    • jillie says:

      Thanks for the recommendations, Mary, and I will make sure to try them. Linden is a delicate scent, but it is magical – I love drinking linden tea just so that I can inhale the fragrant steam!

  7. Annina says:

    I’m a Pisces too! My tastes are all over the map. I don’t like aquatics tho. Fave notes: hyacinth, galbanum, iris, narcissus, heliotrope, and jasmine. I do love the salty and ambergris scents – Elixir de Merveille in particular.

  8. jillie says:

    Welcome to another Piscean, Annina! I am not surprised that you like ambergris, after all it has been washed up by the sea! Have you tried Vero Profumo’s Mito? It’s my favourite spring flower type perfume at the moment and I think you would love its hyacinth accord. I think you would like Parfums de Nicolai’s Le Temps d’une Fete too, but it is hard to get hold of now.

  9. anitathepianist says:

    I’m a Gemini, and like fragrances with a double personality. The magnolia flowers in my yard have a lemony smell at first, then morph into a white flower vibe. I like fragrances that are complex or unusual. At the moment I’m loving Field Notes From Paris and also Niki de Saint Phalle.

  10. jillie says:

    Anita, I am very fond of Niki de Saint Phalle too, it’s a lovely chypre. Interestingly, NStP brought out a beautiful line of Zodiac bottles, each one decorated with a different sign (usual juice inside) – I would have loved the Leo one. It sounds like the new Frederic Malle Eau de Magnolia was made for you, as it starts with lemony notes. Lucky you, having magnolia in your yard!

  11. I’m a Libra (Sept. 26), but I don’t know what that means in perfume terms. My tastes are kind of all over the place. I haven’t tried Parfum Sacre but I’ve meant to.

    • jillie says:

      Hello, Jennifer. I believe that we should wear what appeals to us! But if you were to be inspired by your sign of the Zodiac I don’t think you could go wrong with Parfum Sacre. Its gorgeous incense seems perfect for a Libran, as it would enhance your calm nature, and perhaps would make you more tranquil if you weren’t feeling very laid-back on a particularly stressful day. You’re an air sign, and I can image this fragrance making you feel as though you were walking on air!

  12. I never thought of this before, but it’s terrific food for thought. I’m a Virgo, and I do actually veer towards intellectual fragrances. But I don’t do “earthy,” whatever that might mean, and I definitely do not like clean fragrances. I will have to think more about this but it was a great to read everyone’s comments!

    • jillie says:

      It’s very nice to hear from you Baconbiscuit. My sister is a Virgo and most definitely does not like earthy notes either. Her favourites are Chanel No 5 and rose fragrances; perhaps these aren’t intellectual but she is only just beginning her perfume journey and has lots to discover. She is certainly thoughtful. And very organized!

Leave a Reply

