Hidden Imprint, Vero Profumo Rozy Voile d’Extrait

In the perfume world a niche line of Vero Profumo doesn’t need a special introduction. Compositions created by perfumer – Vero Kern, speak for themselves and they defend themselves pretty well. The uber original and vivid personality of the brand’s founder is clearly visible in each of her perfumes and that’s probably why people love those fragrances so much. Vero has brought a new quality to this business and her creating hallmark has been appreciated by many. It’s kind of like a niche in niche. The newest perfume from Vero Profumo is a tribute to Anna Magnani. The perfume is named ROZY and it was created in 3 Vero’s signature concentrations: extrait de parfum, eau de parfum & voile d’extrait.

ROZY Voile d’Extrait, the one that landed at my doorstep, starts on my skin with this almost medicinal and highly mentholated aroma of cassis. It is very bold and powerful, like a slap in your face. After a few minutes it loses its bad temper and becomes weaker but it doesn’t disappear completely. This aroma highly reminds me of the cassis chewing gum, as soon as you crack it in your mouth, the highly minty cassis aroma goes right up your sinuses.

15 minutes later the rose makes a huge entrance, it comes in like a diva in a long black cape. The rose accord in ROZY has a very oriental context in my opinion, though it also has some elements of the European perfumery style. The character of the orient probably comes from the spicy notes. I can only guess that there’s some cardamom and nutmeg. Ah, and probably some cinnamon? Or maybe it’s a clove… The composition is blended in such a way that none of the spicy notes is obvious to me. This perfume is heck of a riddle.

The European style of this perfume is visible to me mostly in the fact that while rose and spices dominate the composition of ROZY, they don’t really smell like they were used in overdose. There’s definitely no cloying sensation in the new Vero Kern scent. After a while a saturation of flowers goes up to the dangerous levels when tuberose appears. I have never been a fan of tuberose and in this perfume there’s something really animalic about this note and I don’t know what it is. At first I could smell the floral blend of rose and tuberose that was very intensive and big. Then one moment this animalic, kind of skanky vibe appeared out of no-where.

As I was writing this review, smelling my wrist every half a minute or even more often, I was trying to identify the source of the animalic qualities in ROZY Voile d’Extrait. The high concentration of jasmine with indole can bring such a feeling, but jasmine is not mentioned in the notes. Maybe it’s the signature of Vero Kern, the passionfruit? In Onda it brought a really dirty animalic qualities. There’s also a honey accord which could add a few impressions to the wilderness that I find in this perfume composition as it’s definitely not a luminous, sweet and sticky honey I know from a couple of other perfumes. The feeling of rose and the “animals” is very persistent and it lasts for many hours until it slowly weakens.

Many hours later the rose accord was still going pretty strong and the animalic elements in the composition were much harder to notice. The addition of sandalwood in the drydown was a perfect move from Vero Kern when she was creating ROZY. It feels like a bunch of roses lying on the woody base. The sandalwood chord is creamy and smooth with some occasional splinters found on the surface. Labdanum adds a beautiful smoky feeling that is deep, magical, mystical and it envelops you in a specific kind of comfort. A hint of spices is still playing in the background, warming up the blend. I’m not going to lie, this perfume is a challenge to me and I’m not sure I’m willing to take it.

Vero Profumo ROZY Voile d’Extrait is a perfume of an enormous sillage. While I was testing it, a single spray on my wrist managed to fill the room with the fragrance in a matter of minutes. My mum also noticed that I’m leaving a very intensive trail of perfume behind me. The longevity of ROZY is outstanding, 10 hours is the minimum that I got; I could even smell it after taking a shower. I very much appreciate this work of Vero Kern, who gave rose a new face in perfumery. We didn’t have such perfume so far. A very good job Mrs Kern.

My favourite part of ROZY was the drydown phase when rose was still intensive and velvety and it was combined with the refined beauty and substance of sandalwood and the smokiness of labdanum. The hardest part for me was the intensive animalic feeling, which sadly (to me) lasts for the longest part of this perfume’s life. As much as I appreciate the fragrance, I don’t think this is a scent for me. And I’m sorry for that. Voile d’Extrait concentration of this fragrance comes in 50 ml bottles. Eau de parfum is available in the same size. Extrait de parfum comes in 7,5 ml or 15 ml.

[note] pictures: my own, all rights reserved. The review was based on the ROZY Vd’E bottle I won in a Facebook contest organized by Vero Profumo and Freddie Albrighton (Smellythoughts).

Tagged , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Hidden Imprint, Vero Profumo Rozy Voile d’Extrait

  1. Anka says:

    Ha, a niche in niche, that’s so well put!
    I only recently discovered vero profumo and fell for Mito (edp) the most. (Actually I love it so much that I fear it’ll spoil the appreciation of some of my others…). Haven’t tried rozy voile d’extrait but the edp to me is stunning and dazzling, there you also have this mentholated aroma and I always thoght it’s geranium, glad to learn that it comes from cassis…And I like how you compare the European style of rozy with its oriental character.
    Have a nice week!

    • lucasai says:

      Those perfumes are quite demanding and they stand out from the regular niche.
      Was mito the intensively citric one? I liked that one when I tried it.
      I haven’t tried Rozy EdP and I was supposed to as Vero said she’ll be sending that one to me, but in the package I found Voile d’Extrait instrad. Good that you like the EdP of Rozy.

  2. What a lovely perfume to win in a contest. I have heard nothing but great things about Rozy and hope to get a chance to experience it myself soon. Great review.

  3. poodle says:

    Part of me wants to try this, part of me doesn’t. I know if I try it it will end up costing me money because I usually want Vero’s perfumes.

  4. jillie says:

    I’ve been so interested in reading about this as I love my Mito. I also love the bottles – they’re so gorgeous. It seems to be very intriguing and volatile (the comparison to Anna Magnani is inspired), and I think your description of it is inspired too. It is hard to tell whether I would fall in love with it or not, and like Poodle, I don’t want to have to buy more perfume! I must use what I have ……

    • lucasai says:

      Oh, so you have a bottle of Mito (the citrusy one). Great. Yes, I like the bottles (though I would prefer if the glass was transparent rather than yellow-ish).
      The inspiration of anna Magnani in the Rose Tattoo is nice as well.
      You don’t want to break the budget, do you?

  5. Tara says:

    I was sorry to read this was so animalic on you and the medicinal facet lingered. For me Rozy VdE wasn’t animalic at all and the menthol was only a brief minute or two at the opening.

    I agree the spices are very well blended with no single one standing out. I’d also describe it as an oriental and the drydown is heavenly. I found the honey wonderfully smoky. I love how potent it is.

    It’s such a special experience as much as a perfume. I envy you your whole bottle!

    • lucasai says:

      Unfortunately the animalic scent dominated on my skin, as well as the scent of mentholated cassis was also quite persistent. Good that al least on you it smelled great.

      The spices are really well blended and the honey was a bit smoky on me too.

      I’m not sure if I will ever use that bottle. The animalic pungency is quite a no-go for me.

  6. cookie queen says:

    Please feel free to send the bottle to me. I would be more than happy to use it for you!! 😉
    xxxxxxxxxx

  7. Mary K says:

    Haven’t sniffed this one yet, but it does sound interesting. When I do have the opportunity to test it, I will be careful to put just a small amount on, as it sounds like it really comes on strong.

  8. Ana says:

    I have some wee decants of both EDP and VdE coming my way,so can’t wait to discover them for myself.Just a little amendment :Rozy is not available as an extrait at the moment,only eau de parfum and voile d’extrait.

    • lucasai says:

      Hope that you’ll like at least one of the concentrations you’ll be getting.
      Regarding the extrait: on a card in my bottle box it says that extrait is available in 7,5 and 15ml. Maybe it just hasn’t been launched officially yet.

  9. hajusuuri says:

    Money saved.

    I have a tiny bit of Mito and I do like it. I’m afraid to try the rest and no, I will not miss them since there are so many other perfumes out there, perhaps not in the niche in niche sphere (love the label!) but more approachable for me.

  10. Natalie says:

    I enjoyed your review. After reading different people’s takes, I am really not sure what to expect from this one. It sounds like a perfume that (even more than usual) needs to be tried, because it seems to be fairly different on each person. I’m looking forward to testing it.

  11. rickyrebarco says:

    “Rozy” sounds so interesting. Ultimately, I think it would be too animalic for me but it definitely sounds worth testing. Ms. Kern’s creations are always fascinating. Which of the Vero Kern’s is your favorite? I have not explored this line at all, but have heard many good things about it.

    • lucasai says:

      For me it was way too animalic, at least in this concentration. Maybe EdP would be better for me.

      I don’t have a favourite one in VP range. They’re all not quite my style.

Leave a Reply

